Cookie Crumbs & Carrying On

April 16, 2010 at 9:36 PM 7 comments

Hellooo and hooray for the weekend! I hope ya’ll have something exciting and/or enjoyable planned. Whatever you do, don’t forget to enter my Greek GIVEAWAY by Sunday @ 12:00pm. You’ve got three chances to win! …and speaking of Greek, I had my free honey Oikos for breakfast today with the last of my homemade granola and half of a crunchy pear. This was too sweet for my a.m. taste buds. It seems as though most of you prefer Plain Jane style when in comes to Greek, too.

007

After class this afternoon, I attempted to run outside. Key word: afternoon. I should have known…exercise in the middle of day is rarely a success for me. I gave it another shot though, and ran for 20 minutes around campus and our track until I finally listened to the throbbing pain in my upper back and gave in to walking. I added another 10 minutes to my watch as I made my way back to the gym where I did a thorough stretch. My legs are still unusually sore from Tuesday – what the heck! Hello, off week. You’re excused to leave now.

Lunch was an exact repeat of Wednesday’s eats, because 1) today was a lazy day, and 2) why wouldn’t I want a very berry Green Monster & jam-cheddar sandwich again?

Then I turned on Food Network – which I haven’t watched in ages! – while I winded down from the week with cookie baking. I think many of you would agree that the kitchen can often be a place to destress [ahem, Allie & Jenna]. So, I got to making Pioneer Woman’s “Good Ol’ Basic Chocolate Chip Cookies”. [Before you read on, go check out this amazing blog!]

012 I made a couple tweaks to the original recipe:

1 cup real butter

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp. pure vanilla

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour & 1 cup + 2 T whole wheat flour

1 tsp. instant coffee granules

1/2 T baking powder

1/2 T salt

2 T ground flax

~2/3 bag Guittard semisweet chocolate chips

009

Note to self: Do not make cookies while home alone, and there isn’t anyone with whom to share 3 dozen cookies. I ended up eating more cookies than I deserved, but then I thought about Allie and Tina who have admitted to eating 4 1/2 granola bars or half a dozen cookies themselves; then I didn’t feel so bad. How do you handle food guilt?

***

I was surprised that I never got hungry for dinner, but when 8 o’clock rolled around I finally decided to eat something. I threw together a salad [basically a repeat from last night plus a bit a creamy chevre]. I made a smart choice in eating dinner [like I would miss a meal!] because it was nothing short of scrumptious!

DSC08143

I have a quiet, yet BUSY weekend planned. I’m hoping to tackle a few lingering items on my to-do list, fit in a couple worthwhile workouts, and pick up the slack with my studies.

“See you” soon!

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Everything Edible + Greek GIVEAWAY Scratch That

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie Mak  |  April 17, 2010 at 5:35 AM

    Don’t say you didn’t ‘deserve’ them! You deserve everything and anything because you’re wonderful. I avoid saying/writing/thinking that word because it means we are not good enough.

    And yes, baking soothes the soul. And yes, I go to town on baked goods :) TO TOWN. I feel like because we work out regularly though, it’s our bodies way of telling us we need grains and sugar, ya know?

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  April 17, 2010 at 6:14 AM

    love your pics, love your writing, LOVE YOU!!!
    off to bake Amazon Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes for my rowing team’s bake sale :) (love any excuse to bake!)

    Reply
  • 3. runnerforever  |  April 17, 2010 at 7:17 AM

    Sounds like my weekend. Should be busy if I get my work done, but I probably will procrastinate :-)

    Reply
  • 4. Tina  |  April 17, 2010 at 8:07 AM

    I love baking to destress and relax. Usually, I don’t even want to eat what I bake. Weird, I know. I just enjoy the process! But the way I handle food guilt is just to move on and make better choices next time. I love to just eat a big plate of vegetables after too much “indulgence”.

    Reply
  • 5. gateauxbellehelene  |  April 17, 2010 at 10:40 AM

    Of course you deserve your cookies! I know what you mean though, as I often struggle with eating ‘bad’ food. But as they say, everything in moderation.

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  April 17, 2010 at 12:19 PM

    I usually only make treats when I know my husband is going to be around…that man can eat his weight in some sweet treats (and never gain an ounce), but if he is going to be out of town for the weekend…NO WAY…because I will eat it all! haha!

    Reply
  • 7. rebekah (clarity in creation)  |  April 18, 2010 at 4:50 PM

    girl… food is not something that is “earned”.
    it’s not about how good or bad you are. food is food! it’s fuel for our bodies. it’s not our friend, it’s not our enemy, it’s not our comfort.
    it gives us life!

    and as someone who is so healthy and motivated, don’t ever let your body-image demon tell you otherwise. you are amazing!
    -r

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



