Edamame –> Idamommy

April 14, 2010 at 9:17 PM 11 comments

Hey Yo! We made it over the hump of the week! I’m super happy that this week is zooming by; it’s just cruising downhill from here.

You can probably guess what was on my plate for breakfast today…yep, waffles it was! I went with an “open-faced sandwich” today – the more PB & banana, the better.

003

I normally don’t get to eat lunch home on Wednesdays, so it was a treat to have a break in my day to do so. I was dreaming of this lunch all morning.

007

Green Monster a la:

1/2 frozen banana

1/2 cup mixed berries [strawberries, raspberries, blueberries & blackberries]

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 cup fresh baby spinach 

010

Sandwich a la:

whole wheat toast

raspberry jam

extra sharp white cheddar

fresh baby spinach

…and because I always have something sweet to polish off a meal:

DSC08070

Remember the box of No Pudge Fudge Brownie Mix my mama gave me?

Mix together:

4 T mix

2 T 0% Vanilla Greek Yogurt

a few bittersweet chocolate chips

+ 1 minute in Mr. Micro = a guiltless decadent dessert.

After my last class, I rushed home to make an early dinner in lightening speed. I guess I should be on Iron Chef because this rushed salad was a victory!

It screamed Spring – fresh color, color, color!

DSC08082

Baby Arugula, Spinach & Lettuce Mix, Carrot, Edamame, Tomatoes, Sunflower Seeds, Feta, Olive Oil & Seasoned Rice Vinegar + Fresh Pepper

DSC08092

I also tested out a new item I picked up at TJ’s yesterday – edamame hummus – with a couple multigrain crackers. As if hummus couldn’t get any healthier, this was colorful too. Edamame makes green hummus – surprise, surprise.

I didn’t have a lot of time to savor my delicious & nutritious dinner because I had to rush out the door to go baby-sit. Edamame –> Idamommy…wow, I’m ridiculous. I wish I had had time to workout today, but making a little extra cash is always helpful. Plus, yesterday’s time at The Resort left my legs sore today:

1 mile indoor track run @ 8:10

strength [arms + legs]:

  • seated row: 20 @ 40 lbs.
  • bicep curls: 40 @ 10 lbs.
  • “weights-to-chin”: 20 @ 10 lbs.
  • bicep curl lunges: 20 @ 20 lbs.
  • glute press: 40 @ 40 lbs.
  • squats: 40 @ 20 lbs.

1/2 mile indoor track run @ 4:15

30-minute spin [11.2 mi.]

1/2 mile indoor track run @ 5:00

stretch

There are my eats for the day [minus a couple post-sittin’ snacks]. It felt good to take photos of my food again. It’s become part of me; the addiction is in my blood : )

How do you like to consume edamame?

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Today Was A Fairytale Ode to Oikos

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. courtney  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:29 PM

    I had edamame tonight too! So silly! You do like kids; it’s in your blood Mama Hill!

    Reply
  • 2. bakebikeblog  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:39 PM

    Edamame hummus??? YUM! I am going to have to try and make some at home!

    Reply
  • 3. Maria  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:44 PM

    I have jumped on the Waffle Wednesday bandwagon and have enjoyed the past three weeks of a little extra spark in my morning routine. It’s funny how planning a meal and waiting a week to have it makes it that much more exciting! Also thought you’d like to know a couple girls I work with a lot in the Interior Architecture program here at U of O love reading your blog and all your food ideas.

    Reply
    • 4. Hillary  |  April 14, 2010 at 9:53 PM

      I look forward to Waffle Wednesday, too : ) Thanks for sharing my blog, Maria!

      Reply
  • 5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  April 14, 2010 at 10:06 PM

    that sounds like a great work out! & omg the sandwich looks amazing – the cheese & jam sounds like a great combo

    xoxo

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  April 15, 2010 at 4:41 AM

    i love the cracker and hummus picture…makes me crave hummus now!!!

    Reply
  • 7. A Running Kentucky Filly  |  April 15, 2010 at 5:16 AM

    There are so many things I love in this post. I love the looks of that sandwich. I would have never thought to put all that together on bread! I also love No Pudge Brownies – best instant healthy brownie out there. And lastly, TJ’s edamame hummus is one of my absolute favorite flavors :)

    Reply
  • 8. kbwood  |  April 15, 2010 at 6:42 AM

    I LOVE EDAMAME!! soo yummayyy!! i like it with SALT! yum!

    Reply
  • 9. Nora@LiveLifeEatRight  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:41 AM

    All of this looks so fantastic. I’ve had edamame hummus before and it was DELICIOUS. For some reason I thought it was a bit …peppery? YUM!

    Reply
  • 10. fromatopink  |  April 15, 2010 at 11:40 AM

    LOVE No Pudge – perfect for chocolate cake cravings! And I definitely need to give the cheese/jam combo a shot; for some reason it weirds me out a little bit.

    Reply
  • 11. Tasha - The Clean Eating Mama  |  April 15, 2010 at 9:29 PM

    Mmmm that salad looks amazing! I love edamame in the pod. I think it’s fun to “work” for your food =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



