Spring & Smiles in Sonoma

April 10, 2010 at 3:35 PM 9 comments

Hi! Happy Weekend, ya’ll! I am have a wonderful time in Sonoma County; I’ve sure missed my “second home”. Before leaving my apartment yesterday, I packed a few snacks to bring along:

002

  • Carrots & Cucumber
  • ~1/3 Chocolove Bar
  • Almond Butter
  • 2 AllieBars
  • Green Tea
  • Oats + Oat Bran + Cinnamon
  • Travel Tip: Pack your own hot cereal for a cheap, easy & healthy breakfast.

My 3-hour drive was easy and beautiful. When I got into town, I decided to stretch my legs by taking a stroll around my old college campus while getting a little Vitamin D on my cheeks. It’s Spring Break for the university, so it was awkwardly quiet – there wasn’t a sole in sight.

My old stomping pad: Beaujolais Village [we are in wine country, after all].

008

The newest student housing – Tuscany Village – is  very plush.

011

023

Spring is blooming!

021

For diner, two of my original roommates [from freshman year] and I went out to eat at Monti’s Rotisserie & Bar. I had the Baby Beet Salad with Spice Hazelnuts & Humboldt Fog [yay, home!] Goat Cheese. I’m a fan of beets!

025

024

Goal #1: Smile more : )   

IMG_1336

Afterwards, Tasha [left] took us to an adorable fro yo shop – Ghirardelli chocolate with almonds for me please.

IMG_1342

There was a lot of much-needed laughing last night. I’ve missed my gals!

***

After sleeping in this morning, I went for a short 36 minute run and then made breakfast with my oats [above]. I picked up a banana at the store when I got into town, and T had ground flax & soy milk – perfect!

002

Oats + Oat Bran + 1/2 Banana [cooked] + Cinnamon & Flax + Almond Butter & Soy Milk

We picked up hot soy lattes at Starbucks [1 star to go before I’m a Gold Member!] before hitting up a few stores: Target, REI & Cost Plus.

007

Although I should really be studying for my Monday exam, my mind is in “vacation mode”. I am headed to my aunt and uncle’s in a bit for Sunday Saturday family dinner. I’m looking forward to meeting their Swedish exchange student and having a home cooked meal…I wonder what the theme is is tonight : ) While going to school in Sonoma, I would go to Family Dinner every Sunday. It was a blessing to have the comfort of family just a few minutes away. I definitely miss that.

Enjoy your evening!

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Weekend is Calling Today Was A Fairytale

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nora@LiveLifeEatRight  |  April 10, 2010 at 4:54 PM

    OMG OMG!!! HUMBOLDT FOG = FAVORITE! I worked in our cheese shop and seriously couldn’t believe this stuff. Beets are amazing. I saw golden beets today and may have to make a big old beet, nut and goat cheese salad for dinner tomorrow. HAVE FUN!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Donna Parker  |  April 10, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    Boy! I love seeing pictures of you and your friends…helps to put a face to all your great writing.

    Reply
  • 3. kbwood  |  April 10, 2010 at 8:22 PM

    aww how FUN!
    you are BEAUTIFUL! love the pics too – that place is super pretty! and what a FAB meal! gah i should have studied more today too.

    Reply
  • 4. Sarah  |  April 11, 2010 at 4:43 AM

    cute weekend pics!

    Reply
  • 5. Simply Life  |  April 11, 2010 at 5:17 AM

    oh that frozen yogurt sounds delicious!

    Reply
  • 6. caronae  |  April 11, 2010 at 7:09 AM

    Sounds like a happy reunion. And fro yo always makes me smile :) I used to have Sunday dinner with my mom, dad, and sister when I was in HS. I go to school far away now though so no Sunday dinners, but I do have a Friday night yoga date with my cousin who lives here.

    Happy Sunday :)

    Reply
  • 7. Gabriela  |  April 11, 2010 at 12:42 PM

    Awww – looks like you´re having an amazing time, Hillary!
    I´m sure you´ll do great on your Monday exam, anyway :)
    Have a fabulous night!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    Reply
  • 8. Anusce@ Ciao-Chow  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:13 AM

    The frozen yogurt looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 9. coffeeismycarrot  |  April 12, 2010 at 2:43 PM

    I always take my own oats to hotels. Easy to make with hot water from the coffee maker and starts the day off right when there is typically lots of vacay treats ahead in the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



