Baking > Books

April 3, 2010 at 7:29 PM 7 comments

Hello hello!

Hope you had a lovely Saturday. I really shouldn’t complain, but why does tomorrow have to be Sunday already? I see a cram sesh in my future =[

I woke up a little later than I had planned – 8:30am on the nose – but I suppose that’s not too terrible for a Saturday morning. Breakfast was a bowl of cold cereal + an English muffin with raspberry jam for some pre-spinning fuel.

I was surprised when a different spin instructor walked into the studio today, but a great surprise it was. She taught the most challenging and FUN spin class this morning…plus the music was actually good [my style] for once! My roomie and I left with numb legs =]

After an hour at the gym, I did my weekly grocery shopping at TJ’s [I saved my trip for today since I am not of fan of running errands in the rain]. I was excited to see organic strawberries on the cheap – yay for the beginning of berry season!

004

007

I munched on a plate of raw veggies, a couple Wasa crackers and homemade hummus, showered and then headed to school. Again, I can’t complain since I had a mid-week “weekend”….but a 2-hour O.Chem lecture does not make Hillary a happy student. Baking to the rescue!

When I got home I threw together one of Tina’s speedy recipes: Peanut Buttery Bars. Side Note: I love that this girl whips up baked goods in the middle of the week. She is the queen of quick & healthy treats! You can literally count the minutes on your fingers that these take to make – so simple.

With only five ingredients, a 6-year-old could make these. In fact, they look like they were made by a first grader.

012

 P.Nut Buttah Bars

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup agave nectar

1 egg

chocolate chips [optional, but recommended!]

Combine all ingredients until smooth. Spread batter into a prepared pan and bake at 350* for ~15 minutes. In my case, I used a muffin pan with my favorite papers. I think this jeopardized their presentation, but I still got 12 chewy, nutty, chocolaty treats.

***

There wasn’t anything special about my dinner tonight, but it hit the spot: vegetarian comfort food.

Baked Beans + Tofu Dogs

Broccolini sautéed in Olive Oil & Garlic

021

Alrighty, I must close my laptop and open my book now. I hope ya’ll enjoy some time with family and friends tomorrow. Wish I could say the same. Instead, I’ll be relieving my stress with the box of Spring See’s chocolates someone sent me in the mail – thanks G.ma & G.pa!

Until we meet again,

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Jamie To The Rescue! Don’t Miss The Caboose

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. feetinmotion  |  April 4, 2010 at 5:41 AM

    mmmm those peanut butter not so much bars look yum!!

    Reply
  • 2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  April 4, 2010 at 5:49 AM

    i must agree – baking is better than studying haha but good luck with it and happy easter!

    i agree that shopping in the rain is annoying.

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. Donna Parker  |  April 4, 2010 at 6:59 AM

    and I can’t help but notice that your photos are floating and shadowed…will we see more of this with the new blog theme?

    Reply
    • 4. Hillary  |  April 4, 2010 at 11:40 AM

      I’m surprised you’re just now noticing. I’ve been using Windows Live Writer for a few weeks now. Yes, I still plan to use the program with the new changes : )

      Reply
  • 5. Katherine: What About Summer?  |  April 4, 2010 at 6:02 PM

    I love making smaller-sized portions in muffin cups – cute!

    Katherine

    Reply
  • 6. kbwood  |  April 4, 2010 at 7:21 PM

    mmmmmm delish looking eats girl! baking OWNS studying!

    Reply
  • 7. tropicaleats  |  April 4, 2010 at 7:39 PM

    that is an awesome recipe! I’m bookmarking it right now :) woooooot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



