Silver Medal for Me

March 31, 2010 at 10:30 PM 8 comments

Hey there!

Wow, I can’t believe there are just a few more minutes until we can turn the calendar to April 2010. This year isn’t taking it’s time…that’s for sure. Have any tricks up your sleeve for tomorrow? =]

Today California honored Cesar Chavez with a holiday. No school para me. I slept in way past my scheduled alarm, and then made a bowl of latte oatmeal:

013

1 1/4 cup water

2/3 cup rolled oats

1/2 T instant espresso powder

1 /2 T ground flax

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla

bittersweet chocolate chips, almonds & a splash of 1% milk

It gave me that little buzz I needed to get pumped up about my final workout of my Move It in March Challenge. My roommates and I decided on a spin class to take together. Usually we have to leave extra early in order to get a bike…but that wasn’t the case this afternoon. It seems as though everyone else was taking a vacation from exercise.

We warmed up by running 1/2 mile together around the track before the 30-minute class. Then I ran on the treadmill for another 20 afterwards [2.2 mi.] + 1/2 mile cool down around the track.

Move It In March Results

Days of Exercise: 24/31

Run: 14.0 hrs. [~91 miles]

Spin: 5.0 hrs.

Other: 4.25 hrs.

Looking at the results, I am pretty pleased with how much I moved. I am a little disappointed about the 7 rest days [1 entire week], but think that I worked pretty hard during the three weeks I did exercise. My goal was to move more during the month of March. I didn’t have anything to measure my results against, so that would be something I would change if I do such a challenge again. I am proud of myself for pushing myself to run faster, as that is something I haven’t concentrated on in the past; I have certainly witnessed my strength – especially in regards to speed – increase this past month. 

Are you working on any fitness goals currently?

***

An hour later, after picking up paperwork for a prospective new condo, I came home starving. Enter lunch:

016

Wrap a la Homemade Hummus, Cucumber, Tomato & Baby Spinach 

032

0% Greek a la Homemade Granola & Strawberries

034036

 

…and cookies [x2].

Have you had Lu European Biscuits? They are a favorite of my family. We prefer the darkest of the dark, of course =]

After my late lunch, I got ready and joined the masses in the streets downtown “celebrating Cesar”. It felt odd lettin’ loose on a Wednesday afternoon, but what the heck. The rest was history…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Give It A Whirl Dear Diary

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  April 1, 2010 at 4:30 AM

    ooohhh yum! that oatmeal looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 2. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  April 1, 2010 at 5:30 AM

    Ah I just love your latte oatmeal! The espresso powder is such a unique and delicious addition! I’ll have to give it a try.

    I also love your yogurt parfait!

    I’m working on being more consistent with strength training! Sounds like your fitness goals are going really really well!

    Reply
  • 3. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  April 1, 2010 at 5:46 AM

    oh man, I LOVE the Lu European Biscuits. I rarely buy them because they are gone in less than 24 hours once they enter my house. Usually I open them in the car on the way home from the store… :)

    Reply
  • 4. feetinmotion  |  April 1, 2010 at 6:50 AM

    mmmm your eats look good!

    Reply
  • 5. livelifeeatright  |  April 1, 2010 at 10:23 AM

    SO jealous you went condo shopping! I still have to figure out my post-graduation living situation…SCARY!

    Reply
  • 6. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble  |  April 1, 2010 at 11:38 AM

    Latte oatmeal sounds awesome! I’ll have to try that! I think you did great with your get moving in March! You definitely got more than the recommended 30 minutes per day! :-)

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly  |  April 1, 2010 at 12:41 PM

    Awesome on your April workout stats! :)

    Reply
  • 8. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  April 1, 2010 at 8:12 PM

    Disappointed about the 7 rest days!? No way! I was actually really proud that you took 7 days off. Sometimes it’s hard to take a day off when you are so used to an active lifestyle. I am proud that you gave your body the time off to recover.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



