Give It A Whirl

March 30, 2010 at 11:57 PM 10 comments

Hi again! Lucky for you, I can’t complain about a lot at the moment as I am blogging from my comfy bed [which now is bedded…after two days], with the soothing sounds of James Morrison. I enjoyed my Tuesday just like any other Tuesday Saturday. After my banana berry waffle, I was craving a Green Monster for lunch, so I pulled out the blender…and it stayed out the remainder of the day; I ended up using it a total of three times today!

Blender Round 1

074

Mmm…Dark Chocolate Milkshake. Fooled ya! That would be my delicious Green Monster a la: 1 banana, 1/2 cup frozen berries [raspberries, blueberries, strawberries & blackberries], 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 T ground flax, 1 humongous handful of fresh spinach, and ice.

I then got an intense craving for p.nut buttah:

082

Whole Wheat Toast a la PB & Raspberry Jam

After lunch and running a few errands via Green Monster energy, I came home and rinsed out the blender for round two.

Blender Round 2

041

After working for a hummus company [summer 2008] and being spoiled by both my mom and dad’s homemade hummus, I am never amazed by any tubs I bring home from the store. Today I decided to give making my own a go. I basically made the recipe up as I went, so it didn’t turn out to be blue ribbon quality [I’m thinking more tahini, more acidity, more zing!]…but it’s definitely edible : )

Healthy Hill’s Hummus

1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed & drained

2 T tahini [sesame paste]

1 T olive oil

1 T seasoned rice vinegar

4 T water

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/3 cup chopped parsley 

3-4 minced garlic cloves

salt to taste

I gave my hummus a taste test with half of a huge carrot for an afternoon snack and then I was off to the gym. Today’s time spent at the gym was a complete 180* spin from yesterday’s weak workout:

  • 1 hour spin class
  • indoor track run [1 mi.]
  • arms + stretching

2 x 12 lat pull downs @ 40 lbs.

2 x 12 seated row @ 40 lbs.

4 x 12 “weights to chin” w/ 12 lb. bar

4 x 12 bicep curls w/ 12 lb. bar

2 x 12 tricep extension w/ 12 lb. bar

Dinner was Sunday’s leftovers: stir-fried tofu, brown rice, broccoli & carrot + sesame seeds & sesame oil [sesame 3x in 1 day!].

050

052

Blender Round 3

067

That you might ask is banana soft serve! I know it doesn’t look like much, but holy yum! For those of you ice cream/fro yo lovers, like myself, you must try this ASAP.

To make: Freeze your overly ripe bananas – the longer the better – that didn’t get invited to your most recent oatmeal party. Place however many bananas into a blender – I’d say 1 per serving – and blend away! You don’t have to add a thing! I didn’t freeze the banana for long enough tonight, hence the runnier texture, but with a dollop of PB&Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams, I couldn’t find a spoon fast enough.

Talk about a healthy dessert. This soft serve would be delicious with an encyclopedia’s worth of toppings.

There ya have it…today’s blender excursion. I hope ya’ll will give these recipes a whirl in your blender! Well, my contacts are getting drier by each word I type. Must turn off my light. I’ve got classes a holiday to prepare for!

Night,

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Tuesday…Saturday Style! Silver Medal for Me

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lauralei  |  March 31, 2010 at 12:20 AM

    you make healthy food look so great – wish you delivered :)

    Reply
  • 2. mom  |  March 31, 2010 at 4:49 AM

    cute post and delicious looking eats – Oh, and loved the waffle from yesterday! I’m with Lauralei – wish you delivered! Also think I might need to invest in a blender :) Enjoy your ‘holiday’! I’m off to work…xo, mom

    Reply
  • 3. livelifeeatright  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:06 AM

    I had a two-part blender day yesterday…and then…IT EXPLODED! haha I was in shock when this happened…next time I plan to spend more money on something of quality.

    Reply
  • 4. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  March 31, 2010 at 7:16 AM

    i LOVE banana soft-serve!

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly  |  March 31, 2010 at 8:35 AM

    Totally agree…banana soft serve rock!

    Reply
  • 6. fromatopink  |  March 31, 2010 at 8:53 AM

    I definitely need to use my blender more! All of that looks so yummy. I just hate cleaning it… lazy, I know. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Shannon Simpson  |  March 31, 2010 at 9:10 AM

    We tried the banana soft serve idea and loved it! What a healthy treat!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Nicole  |  March 31, 2010 at 10:09 AM

    Thanks for visiting my blog. And I have to say I LOVE James Morrison… just makes me smile! Good luck with your degree!

    Reply
  • 9. Megan (from Happily Healthy)  |  April 2, 2010 at 5:36 AM

    Banana soft serve is to die for! I like mixing in frozen field berries or adding chocolate chips and chia seeds!

    Reply
  • 10. quarterlifewellness  |  April 3, 2010 at 9:44 AM

    Just found your blog and it’s adorable. I love love love James Morrison and using my food processor/blender :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



