A for Effort

March 23, 2010 at 9:34 PM 16 comments

Hey Guys! I’ve got a little gift for you tonight: pictures! I know I’ve been a slacker lately – the photos I have taken are barely passing quality – but I think I deserve an A for effort today : )

Breakfast #1

003 3/4 cup Raisin Bran, 1/4 cup Cheery Cherry Almond Granola, 1/2 Banana & 3/4 cup Almond Milk

Breakfast #2

006 Whole Wheat Toast + PB + [other] 1/2 Banana

Snacks

I packed a couple snacks to eat after my 3 hour lab. I didn’t pack a whole lot since I planned to exercise post-class.

010012

Back to Nature Multigrain Flax Seeded Flatbread Crackers [that’s a mouthful] + my daddy’s homemade hummus & a carrot

Dried Apricots + Dark Chocolate Almonds [6 ea.]

After 3 painful hours of Infrared Spectroscopy – don’t even ask me what that is – I sat outside in the sunshine and savored my snacks. I still had quite a bit of steam to burn off from my overwhelming class, so I threw my books into a locker at the gym and kicked up my heals. I didn’t run for very long [appox. 36 minutes], but I started to feel like my freckly face was getting pink from the radiant rays. It was just enough time to sweat out some of my stress. Running cures all. I finished up with a little conditioning…but should have done more.

While I waited for the bus, I grabbed a smoothie from Jamba. I tried one of their new all-fruit creations: the Five Fruit Frenzy. It was tasty, but nothing I’m anxious to have again. I’d much rather make my own mix…with spinach!

015

Appetizer

032Buttery Smooth Heart-Healthy Monounsaturated Fat [a.k.a. 1/2 Avocado]

Dinner

I traded in my boring plain penne rigate for a more exciting option:

041

The garlic and basil flavors add a lot to a simple dish. I sautéed a few cherry tomatoes in olive oil with garlic and red onion, tossed the al dente pasta in the skillet with the tomatoes, sprinkled in a little chevre & parm, and poured all that over fresh baby spinach – voila…dinner.

027

Dessert

043

…fooled ya! I actually did not eat any Chocolove today, but wanted to show you my new finds:

1. Coffee Crunch! My mom brought their new flavor to my attention as she knows coffee/espresso & dark chocolate sits high on my totem pole of favorite flavors – yummm.

2. MINI Chocolove Bars! How cute, right?

***

There ya have it…I finally managed to show you a day of all my eats…well, 90% of them. What can I say, this girl can eat! I have my very important ServSafe Certification Exam tomorrow. I am actually being recertified. I will be disappointed if I receive a lower score the second time around. [I dominated the test in 2007 with a 95%]. The pressure is on!

047

Hope you have a happy Hump Day tomorrow!

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Pudge for the Pitiful Today, Tomorrow & Yesterday

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kerry  |  March 24, 2010 at 12:07 AM

    2 breakfasts? love it! haha!

    Reply
  • 2. gateauxbellehelene  |  March 24, 2010 at 3:37 AM

    That chocolate looks so nice, I hope they have it here in the UK….plus your breakfast looks great, so healthy yet filling as well.

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  March 24, 2010 at 5:56 AM

    oh man, the servsafe test is pretty much straight out of the book. call me crazy, but i really loved learning about all of the viruses and gross stuff in food!

    Reply
  • 4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:08 AM

    looove your eats!! the dinner looks so good and pb toast is always amaazing. those flavors of chocolate sound awesome too :) hope you have a good day!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 5. fromatopink  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:31 AM

    That pasta looks phenomenal! So fresh and summery.

    Reply
  • 6. eatspinlive  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:42 AM

    I absolutely love avocados and those chocolate bars sounds really tasty as well :)

    Reply
  • 7. Donna Parker  |  March 24, 2010 at 6:44 AM

    not a competitive bone in your body, huh?

    Reply
  • 8. lucieishealthy  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:10 AM

    the avocado looks yummy. i’m craving some right now!

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:20 AM

    WOW…your pictures are beautiful!

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa Beach  |  March 24, 2010 at 7:47 AM

    Love the new layout!

    Reply
    • 11. Hillary  |  March 24, 2010 at 11:22 AM

      New layout?

      Reply
  • 12. feetinmotion  |  March 24, 2010 at 9:57 AM

    Your breakfast is in a really pretty bowl! Running definitely cures all. I love it so much. MMM smoothie and linguine look so yummy. Good luck on your exam!

    Reply
  • 13. feetinmotion  |  March 24, 2010 at 11:30 AM

    Thank you!! It was a workout day so I had to go fast :( hah don’t worry, my runs aren’t all like that!!

    Reply
  • 14. kbwood  |  March 24, 2010 at 3:28 PM

    WOW!! what delish meals girl!! your pasta looks AWESOME!! i love pasta!

    Reply
  • 15. frogsandmen  |  March 25, 2010 at 12:49 AM

    those tomatoes look so delicious! as does the avocado! hope you enjoy!

    à bientôt
    the paris food blague

    Reply
  • 16. Lisa @ Early Morning Run  |  March 28, 2010 at 2:38 PM

    I love Chocolove chocolate bars – especially the dark chocolate with cherries. Oh, I haven’t had that for so long. It’s fantastic though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



