Change of Scenery

March 13, 2010 at 10:53 AM 6 comments

GOOD morning! I am having an absolute glorious start to my Saturday…and hope you are too : ) I mentioned late last night that I had a long appointment with the pavement in the morning [a.k.a. a long run]. You also may know that I’ve been planning to run a 10-mile race tomorrow. It wouldn’t make much sense to go for a long run before a race, would it? So here’s the update: Due to the unfortunate circumstance of losing our family friend this past Thursday, I decided to forgo this one race in order to attend her service. With the race at 2:00pm and the service at 3:00pm – 45 minutes away from each other – there was no logistical way I could do both. There will always be more races.

That being said, I talked my regular Humboldt running gals into running 10-miles with me today! Spontaneity is not my specialty, but I thought if I was supposed to be able to run 10 tomorrow, why not today! We met up at the early hour of 7:30am, but I had no problem hopping out of bed, as the brightness of the blue skies was streaming into my bedroom.

Because I do not have a fancy shmancy Garmin Forerunner to track my mileage, I would be lying if I said I ran exactly 10.0 miles; yet, I ran for 92 minutes which – give or take – is 10 miles at my average pace.

It is really refreshing to have a change of scenery for exercising and eating. I plan to soak up as much of Humboldt’s finest as I can this week…including big bowls of thick oats. I had a simple, yet satisfying breakfast of banana walnut cinnamon oatmeal after my run + a steaming cup of Japanese Green Tea [inspired by Angela’s awesome post].

006

009

Going to pick up my race packet [gotta get my t-shirt, after all] and probably spend some time with the ‘rents today since they aren’t working.

Enjoy your day!

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Third Time’s The Charm Smart Move

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 13, 2010 at 2:45 PM

    you made the right choice, and it’s true, there will always be more races!

    Reply
  • 2. lauralei  |  March 13, 2010 at 4:17 PM

    You made the right decision – the walnuts look scrumptious!

    Reply
  • 3. kbwood  |  March 13, 2010 at 7:48 PM

    you seriously did the right thing girl – proud of you. you will OWN any race next time…and it will be so much sweeter!

    Reply
  • 4. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  March 14, 2010 at 8:07 AM

    Mmmmm I love green tea!

    & there will always be other races that you will ROCK at, sometimes other unfortunate things just have a higher priority

    Reply
  • 5. Sammi  |  March 14, 2010 at 8:19 AM

    I’m so sorry about your friend :( You’re right though, there will always be more races.

    I wanted to thank you for getting Windows Live Writer! After reading that post, I decided to try it out too and I LOVE it! :)

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa @ bakebikeblog  |  March 14, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    Great work on your run! I think you made the right decision about the race though. So sorry to hear about your friend :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



