Third Time’s The Charm

March 12, 2010 at 10:58 PM 3 comments

After a 4.5-hour drive of fog, rain, ice, and SNOW…home has never felt so good! I mentioned yesterday that I was a bit anxious about the weather forecast for today and driving “over the hill(s) and through the woods”. I had the right to be anxious alright. Let’s just say it was one white-knuckled drive. I thought it was Spring Break, no? Well, I guess since it’s technically still Winter, it means that Mother Nature is allowed to SNOW! It honestly took me a minute or two to realize the sticky raindrops on my windshield were in fact snowflakes, as I can’t remember ever seeing snow fall [true story]. I know this can’t be entirely true because I have been in snowy weather various times – I’ve even been snowboarding – but I am a California girl…what can I say?

Of course now I wish I had stopped to take a few photos of my drive through Winter Wonderland, but at the time, all I could do was concentrate on keeping Little Blue on all fours.

I relaxed with an extra long, hot shower as soon as I got home before getting ready to go out to sushi with the ‘rents. Sushi, oh how I’ve missed you.

Press Rewind.

I woke up at the [butt] crack of dawn today – 6:00am – in order to get everything packed, top of my tank, grab a ‘Bucks, and get to O. Chem on time. Since Operation Empty Fridge was in effect, I decided to utilize every last bit of my $6 jar of PB by making OIAJ [Oats in a Jar]. I’ve claimed that I do not like nut butters in my oatmeal, but I just may have to take that back. I believe today was Trial #3 for OIAJ, and I think I hit the jackpot!

013

012

019

015

Humboldt Honey OIAJ

1 cup water

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 T ground flax

1/2 banana – cooked

PB&Co Bee’s Knees

splash of 1% milk

***

I’d love to stay and chat, but I have a long appointment with the pavement in the morning. Come back tomorrow for a RACE UPDATE…

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Life’s Unfair Itinerary Change of Scenery

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abby  |  March 13, 2010 at 5:09 AM

    I love that I’m not the only person who calls it the “butt crack of dawn”!!! :) I hate seeing dawn’s butt crack.

    Reply
  • 2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 13, 2010 at 9:17 AM

    yay california girls! i don’t really tolerate the snow well…you’re brave.

    Reply
  • 3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  March 13, 2010 at 11:03 AM

    yay glad you like pb and oats now – i think it is an amazing combo. i love how it gets all melty!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http:/findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



