Life’s Unfair Itinerary

March 11, 2010 at 9:32 PM 16 comments

Hey. I really should not be spending the time to blog write now, but I’m hoping that a little writing will help with my angry, sad, anxious and stressed emotions. Today started out well; I love having Thursday mornings to hang around the house. I began my day by scraping the container of my 0% Greek + 1/4 cup Raisin Bran, 1/4 cup Humboldt Honey Granola & 1/2 banana.

011

Love the stats! Ya’ll know that Greek has 2x the protein, fewer carbs & less sugar than regular yogurt, right?

014

Lunch was another oldie, but goodie: Low-Fat Cottage Cheese & Raw Veggies. Operation Empty Fridge is almost complete!

020

Blog 269 020

It was nice to have the sun peaking out again today, but I don’t understand why it can’t stick around for just 1 day longer! It is supposed to dump buckets tomorrow – the day I’ve been planning to drive home for Winter Spring Break. My 4-hour drive is not exactly an easy one either; therefore, creating the anxiousness.

image 

***

Just before leaving for The Resort for my final gym workout before Break, I got a call from my mama. I love talking to my mom, but tonight she didn’t have good news…awful news actually. She called to tell me that our really close family friend passed away this morning from cancer. Although I was not surprised by the news, I was enraged. I just do not get why life has to take away the most innocent, kind, good-hearted people. I just don’t get it! My heart is aching for her 12, 16, and 22-year-old kids, and loving husband : (

The memorial is scheduled for Sunday at this point…the day of my race. Life’s itinerary is just not in sync right now. I’ve been really looking forward to my 10-mile run on Sunday, but now I may only be running the 4-mile course in order to make it to the service.

Just in case I end up running the 10-miler (cross my fingers), I got in some quality running. The atmosphere of the gym was totally dead tonight (everyone’s checked outta here!), but I didn’t need any more distractions during my “therapy” run.

  • 1.5-mile indoor track run
  • 3.25-mile treadmill run – 5 minutes ea. @ 6.0, 6.2, 6.4, 6.6, 6.8, 7.0mph
  • 1.5-mile indoor track run

“Running is sanity in an insane world.”

I apologize for such a downer post. I’ve got a lot tumbling around in my mind and so much to do before I leave town – which I’m hoping is tomorrow.

Have a good weekend. I’ll be in touch!

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Whatcha say? It’s Wednesday! Third Time’s The Charm

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    Hey Hillary,
    So sorry to hear about your friend’s passing. Never easy :( Especially when such great people are taken away.

    Sending you lots of love tonight,
    Jessica

    Reply
  • 2. Allie Mak  |  March 11, 2010 at 10:37 PM

    We lost a family friend about a year ago from breast cancer. She had a heart of gold and I miss her to this very day. She had a 10 year old son too :(

    Trust that your friend is in a better place now.

    Great run–I always have the best runs when I am on the brink of a meltdown/cryfest. Don’t get too worried about logistics and what not…I really shouldn’t be talking but it always does work out in the end regardless of how much time you waste worrying you know?

    Reply
    • 3. Hillary  |  March 11, 2010 at 11:06 PM

      Thanks, Allie : )

      Reply
  • 4. Donna Parker  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:12 AM

    <3 drive safely

    Reply
  • 5. Karissa @ CardioFoodie  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:21 AM

    My thoughts are with you and your family. I was dealing with some issues and worrying about missing a race myself, and my husband reminded “there will be more races.” For some reason, it made me feel better to hear that.

    Drive safely!

    Reply
  • 6. Heather  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:43 AM

    i’m so sorry for your loss…unfortunately there’s not an answer for why those things happen, but you can bet that her incredible family and friends were touched indefinitely by her life. you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers!

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:39 AM

    I am sorry for your loss Hillary…hang in there.

    Reply
  • 8. Abby  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:25 AM

    I love that running quote! I think I should get that on a t-shirt…

    And Greek yogurt is amazing. I live off of it. Ok, maybe not, but I do eat it A LOT. At least once a day :)

    Reply
    • 9. Hillary  |  March 12, 2010 at 4:31 PM

      Funny you say that…this is a quote from the founder of my college running club and we have it printed on all of our t-shirts. I thought it was appropriate to wear yesterday : )

      Reply
  • 10. Lindsay @ The Ketchup Diaries  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:44 AM

    So sorry to hear about this. Thinking of you.

    Reply
  • 11. COURT  |  March 12, 2010 at 12:20 PM

    Always here for you, I know how bad it hurts. Hang in there love, and drive safe!

    Reply
  • 12. COURT  |  March 12, 2010 at 12:20 PM

    P.S. Props to Josh on that amazing quote! It sums up life…in a runner’s world!

    Reply
  • 13. Naomi (onefitfoodie)  |  March 12, 2010 at 3:32 PM

    i am so sorry to hear about your family friend. i am sure she fought a hard battle and know that she is in a better place. hang in there :)

    love tj’s yog! it is so thick and creamy!

    Reply
  • 14. Gabriela  |  March 12, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    Aww, Hillary…
    I´m so sorry about your friend.
    I´ll pray for her and her family!
    :/
    Have a great weekend, girl!

    Reply
  • 15. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:52 PM

    the world can be so cruel. i’m so sorry to hear about your family friend…i’m thinking of her kids!

    Reply
  • 16. caronae  |  March 12, 2010 at 8:47 PM

    Don’t apologize :) Getting thoughts out is always a good thing. Sorry to hear about the friend, that’s awful! Hopefully running therapy will help you get through, it always seems to help me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



