Forever Full

March 9, 2010 at 3:08 PM 7 comments

Hey Guys! I’m really excited to be able to have time this afternoon to write a post…but even more excited about Spring Break when I will have all the time in the world to blog, blog, blog! Hope you’re ready for some ch-ch-changes around here, because Nutrition Nut on the Run will be getting a face lift!

Until then…let’s talk food.

I made the BIGGEST bowl of oats today! Seriously, folks…it was enormous. The pictures don’t do it justice. It wasn’t on purpose that I made oats for army – I didn’t even wake up hungry, stoked about breakfast, like I usually do – it just happened.

009

Oatmeal Overload

In the mix:

1 1/4 cup water

1/3 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup oat bran

1/4 cup pumpkin

1/2 T ground flax

cinnamon

Top with:

1/2 banana

1 T walnuts

brown sugar & cinnamon

Although my normal ratio of oats to water is 2/3 cup: 1 cup, oat bran expands a lot more than whole oats and pumps up the volume! In the future, I plan to reduce the portions to 1/4 cup.

With a barrel of oatmeal in my stomach I was ready to head to campus and not have to worry about any hunger attacks. When I got home around 1:30pm, the oats still hadn’t thoroughly digested. I know I didn’t need any more food energy [calories], but I ate a light lunch anyway.

Mini GM: 1/2 Frozen Banana + 1/2 cup Almond Milk + 1 Huge Handful of Fresh Spinach

Low-Fat Cottage Cheese + Avocado, Cucumber & Tomato

TJ’s Chocolate Chunk Cookie [times two]

One of my least favorite feelings is that of continuously feeling full. I’m certain my calorie intake was way more than necessary this weekend and am feeling the lasting effects. The late night snacks aren’t helping either. I like going to bed and waking up “comfortably hungry”. I’d ask if you have any advice, but I’m pretty sure the answer is simple: don’t eat as much! Easier said than done, right?

Well, if you’re a reader of Skinny Runner, you know today’s Running Tuesday! I’m hoping a heart-pumping run/spin sesh will sweat out some of my excessive sugary treats [a.k.a. box of TJ’s cookies]. Then I am hopping on over to my bi-monthly Nutrition & Food Association meeting.

Are you participating in Running Tuesday today? If so, share!

Later,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

SUNdays Are For Running Test Test Testing

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angelalovesfood  |  March 9, 2010 at 4:46 PM

    mmm your oats look lovely! Everything looks good. I baked cookies yesterday, and usually when it comes to junk, the feeling of being continuously full sets in, and I hate it too. I’d rather be full with nutritious food, rather than junk.

    Reply
  • 2. healthnuttxo  |  March 9, 2010 at 6:51 PM

    omg those oats look REDIC amazing
    i agree with you
    i eat WAY too much b4 bed, so not my fault tho – i just don’t have an appetite until like 4pm and then it’s RAGING by 9.
    and then.
    i go to bed kinda full, wake up not hungry, same ol same ol.
    but i can make some room if you wanna cook me up some of those DELISH looking oats!
    the cin/sugar on the bananas looks so amazing! :)

    Reply
  • 3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 9, 2010 at 9:38 PM

    i like waking up comfortably hungry too, though there is a fine line between that and being RAVENOUS and needing to cook oats at lightning speed to avoid passing out from low blood sugar lol. your oats look mighty fine, i love giant bowls of yumminess!

    Reply
  • 4. lauralei  |  March 9, 2010 at 10:03 PM

    i just downloaded windows live to try it out, but can you not comment? i see on the post above there is no place to comment.

    Reply
    • 5. Hillary  |  March 9, 2010 at 10:59 PM

      I figured out the comment issue. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

      Reply
  • 6. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  March 10, 2010 at 8:45 AM

    mmm…your oatmeal looks divine! I haven’t had brown sugar on mine for too long. I think I’ll bring it back into the mix tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 7. kbwood  |  March 10, 2010 at 8:01 PM

    girl your oats look aweesome! i tried brown sugar once and it didn’t work at all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



