SUNdays Are For Running

March 7, 2010 at 9:42 PM 15 comments

I’ve been sitting here for far too long pondering about something profound to say – some interesting fact to enlighten you with, or topic to spark a conversation – yet, the thoughts aren’t flowing tonight. I’ve got writer’s block. I’m not inclined to write a sequential story of my day because if the idea of that is snore-inducing to me, than it most likely is to you too.

How about a recipe for perfect pumpkin pancakes then? I’ve been needing to use up the 30-oz. can of pumpkin I planned to use for pumpkin yogurt, so today I decided I would test out my roommate’s new waffle maker and make waffles for her + one other =] I easily found a simple recipe online, made a couple of adjustments, and voila…fluffy and moist Belgian pumpkin waffles.

I topped my waffle with 1/2 of a banana, walnuts and real maple syrup…although, a dollop of Greek yogurt and toasted pecans sound like another equally delicious accompaniment.

While my waffles digested, I finished up my Statistics assignments for the upcoming week, and then got on my gear for a run in the sun. My race is 1 week from today, so I made a longer run a high priority for the day. With blue, cloudless skies this wasn’t hard cross off my list. I felt a little sluggish for the first 20 minutes or so – perhaps it was Friday’s ice cream and cookies, Saturday’s 10 lb. Chipotle Burrito Bowl, and/or today’s initial meal of simple carbohydrates  – but I kept turning my iPod louder and louder, and finally got in the groove.

I ran for 62-minutes around the south part of town, near my complex. It isn’t the most scenic area, so a solo 62-minute run takes some true self-motivation. Not once did my legs hint at me that they were tired throughout my run. I felt like the Energizer Bunny, as if I could just run…and run…and run. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to enjoy the rest of the afternoon sun. I had to get home to cram for my chemistry exam =[ I’m bummed…I even missed the Oscar entertainment tonight. Chemical reactions are clearly miniscule in life compared to which actress struts the best accessories, but life’s events aren’t always on the same schedule.

Hope you had a beautiful weekend wherever you are!

The Nutrition Nut — always running, or on the run.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Tasty Saturday Eats Forever Full

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 7, 2010 at 10:31 PM

    oh that waffle looks so good! i’m a huge fan of pumpkin anything, almost every sunday i eat pumpkin pancakes, although today i just had regular ones!

    Reply
  • 2. Anusce @ Ciao-Chow  |  March 8, 2010 at 3:43 AM

    Question: I have been looking to get a HRM watch that gives me also the calories count. Which one do you use? Thanks and Happy Monday!

    Reply
  • 3. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 8, 2010 at 6:41 AM

    Those waffles look incredible! That’s my favorite way to eat waffles, plus a little natural PB.

    YUM.

    Reply
  • 4. Heather  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:19 AM

    that run sounds like it was great…i would much rather do a 62 minute solo run where my legs feel great than a group run with heavy legs… :)

    Reply
  • 5. courtney  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:18 PM

    mm yumm those waffles look yum, good job with the run – get ready to rock the nike women’s =)

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa @ bakebikeblog  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    Congrats on what sounds like a brilliant run! I love those :)
    And great looking waffles :)

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly  |  March 8, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    Great run! Awesome Hilllary!

    Reply
  • 8. janetha  |  March 8, 2010 at 2:28 PM

    nice run, lady! and that waffle looks heavenly. gourmet, for sure. xoxo missed you mucho!

    Reply
  • 9. Danielle  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:03 PM

    Congrats on the run! I like that you measure it in terms of minutes and not miles. It makes it seem a lot more manageable :)

    Reply
  • 10. Gabriela  |  March 8, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    Amazing run, Hillary!
    Those waffles looked truly divine ;)
    Have an amazing Tuesday, girl!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    Reply
  • 11. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:07 PM

    i get writer’s block too sometimes! hate it…and yay for an amazing run :) those waffles look fabulous.
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 12. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  March 9, 2010 at 11:03 AM

    gorgeous lookin’ waffles :)

    Reply
  • 13. Sammi  |  March 9, 2010 at 1:28 PM

    I hate blogger’s writing block! It normally gets to me most when it comes to creating titles for my posts :(
    That waffle looks freaking amazing!

    Good luck on your race!

    Reply
  • 14. Jordan  |  March 11, 2010 at 4:58 PM

    The waffles were amazing almost as amazing and beautiful as you Hillary!!!…although i used the unhealthy eggo buttery syrup it was still a semi-healthy meal…

    Reply
  • 15. Jordan  |  March 11, 2010 at 5:25 PM

    p.s. you have very cute arm hair and freckles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



