Let The Countdown Begin

March 5, 2010 at 8:27 PM 15 comments

I think someone needs to splash some cold water in my face, and say, “Hello, Hillary…you do have a blog, ya know!” Sorry. I certainly have not been maintaining my blogging efforts the past few days. What can I say, the Nutrition Nut has been on the run. I feel as though I spend way too much of my time connected to the World Wide Web, and it is so refreshing to put away my camera, ignore the Internet, and live a life of normalcy – not capturing every move I make – like I did a mere five months ago.

I had a lovely and busy day yesterday away from the web. I slept in [I don’t have class ’til 12:30pm on Thursdays], made a creamy bowl of banana oats, and enjoyed having the house to myself for the morning. Sunshine was seeping through my windows, I had Grooveshark Popular playing, and before I knew it, I was shaking and twisting all around my room. Heck, I probably got a better workout than any 30-minute exercise DVD could give me ; )

After an afternoon of classes, I jetted over to the gym to squeeze in a workout before having to get ready to see Colbie! My roommate snatched the last bike for the 5:00pm spin class, so I was left to pedal alone.

  • 45-minute spin [16.2 mi.] — a little slow?
  • 1.5-mile run — I was cruising!

We rushed home to  scarf down a few bites of food and pretty up before heading back to campus for the concert. Although a small and casual concert, Colbie Caillat was 100% uh-mazing!

Isn’t she just gorgeous?

She sang all my favorite songs flawlessly. Her tour stopped in my hometown today, so my mom and her girlfriends are going to the show tonight. Speaking of home, I am really ready to go home for a week. One week from today, and that’s where I’ll be. Let the countdown to Spring Break begin!

Finally…today: I had a repeat of Tuesday’s delicious oat combo for breakfast before sitting through my final two lectures for the week.

Surprise surprise I went the gym this afternoon — it’s becoming my 2nd home, no? Every Friday I tell myself I am going to go to yoga, but then talk myself out of it. Well, today I made it happen! My body is a tad sore from this week’s previous workouts, so I figured I could use an hour of quality stretching and strengthening. I don’t know why I don’t talk myself into going to yoga more often. I left completely at peace; it was a blissful hour of exercise and wonderful way to end the week.

***

I ate a quick lunch before heading out to run errands, and consequently it missed the camera’s eye. My grocery bag was extra light today since I like to leave my fridge clean and empty upon leaving town.

I did buy a bag of my favorite chips and dug into them while my dinner was taking a turn in the oven.

Love these!

Tonight’s meal featured the last quarter of my free butternut squash. I told my professor that the squash was used to its full potential : )

Butternut Squash + Brown Sugar, Cinnamon & Real Butter

Organic Baby Spinach, Red Onion, Pepitas & Sweet ‘n’ Tangy Balsamic

Since dinner was so healthy and all, I thought a little Friday treat was in order. Insert Starbucks ice cream and gooey Trader Joe’s Chocolate Chippers – mmm! I don’t know what’s with me and boxed food lately – bad bad bad – but it was rather nice to be able to enjoy warm cookies right after dinner without making havoc in the kitchen.

You know I couldn’t resist a miniature Starbucks carton of ice cream. There’s just no way : )

Alright, friends…now that you have a rough outline of my life since Wednesday, I’m going to go catch up on what ya’ll have been up to.

Namaste,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Don’t Judge Tasty Saturday Eats

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kbwood  |  March 5, 2010 at 9:17 PM

    ooo love that ice cream!!! and your oat combo!
    i agree – sometimes i gotta unplug from the comp actually…it’s good for you!

    Reply
  • 2. caronae  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:14 PM

    I love yoga on Fridays. So relaxing! Have a stellar weekend!

    Reply
  • 3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 5, 2010 at 11:48 PM

    those chips look mighty good! OMG i love colbie caillat! i was just rocking out to “realize” on my itunes like 2 seconds ago. sigh. wish i had seen her!

    Reply
  • 4. abbynormally  |  March 6, 2010 at 5:38 AM

    The b-nut squash looks very good! Glad you had a fun time at the concert!!

    Reply
  • 5. Kelly  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:05 AM

    Have a GREAT weekend Hillary!!! :)

    Reply
  • 6. Shayna @ Cuts and Curves  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:24 AM

    I didn’t know Starbucks had ice cream! Oh my lanta. I love coffee flavored things. Your butternut squash looks amazing. I have one just sitting on my counter; I need to use it up! Your way looks perfect :)

    Reply
  • 7. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:43 AM

    I love love love Colbie!! I “met” her online before she became famous… on myspace… she was so cool, we used to chat and stuff and then all of a sudden I heard her song on the radio and poof she was famous!! Love it, she totally deserves it, she has such a fantastic voice!!

    So jealous you got to go to the concert!!!!!!!! One day! :)

    Reply
  • 8. Gabriela  |  March 6, 2010 at 9:52 AM

    Lovely eats!
    I went to Colbie Caillat´s concert in Rio two years ago – and I really loved it, too! She´s amazing!
    :D
    Have an amazing weekend, Hillary!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    Reply
  • 9. Haleigh  |  March 6, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    We all have those days when blogging feels like the last thing we want to do. I like to look at my blog as a hobby and something fun, on the side. I am happy to hear that you had a good yoga session! I always feel content after a good class.

    Reply
  • 10. Kelly  |  March 6, 2010 at 3:00 PM

    Oh well! Some weeks you blog a lot, others it’s busy and you can’t! No worries! :)

    Reply
  • 11. Julie  |  March 6, 2010 at 5:22 PM

    mmm starbucks ice cream!

    Reply
  • 12. tropicaleats  |  March 6, 2010 at 7:25 PM

    Jealous of your concert!!! She is so amazing :) That ice cream sounds soooooooooo good. Ahh frapps are the best!

    Reply
  • 13. livelifeeatright  |  March 6, 2010 at 7:37 PM

    Aw looks like so much fun! I know what you mean about having a blogger life haha I think I spend almost all day/make all of my decisions with my blog in mind.

    Reply
  • 14. Angelalovesfood  |  March 6, 2010 at 8:25 PM

    I love Colbie and especially that song… I forgot the name! “Maybe I should, keep this to myself…la la, I am trying not to tell you but I want to?”

    Reply
  • 15. cupcakesinparis  |  March 7, 2010 at 8:52 AM

    Wow! I’d love some Frappucino Ice cream… sounds delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



