No Pain No Gain

March 2, 2010 at 9:44 PM 17 comments

Hi Ya’ll!

Woo…it’s already 8:30pm and I’m just now finishing up my dinner and beginning to blog [it’s quite the process]. I must make it quick tonight though, as I have to study for my 1 exam & 2 quizzes that I have tomorrow [surprise surprise].

Breakfast, oh Breakfast…if only you knew how much I dearly love you.

A reader suggested I try mixing my regular rolled oats and oat bran, so that’s exactly what I did. Oh, and props to me for trying new combinations and going outside of my [food] box lately.

In the mix:

– 1 cup water

– 1/3 cup rolled oats

– 1/3 cup oat bran

– 1/2 T ground flax

– cinnamon

Toppings:

– 1/2 d’anjou pear

– 1 T walnuts

– drizzle of agave

– big splash of 1% milk

***

I was dreading today’s 3-hour organic chem lab – as we had our first lab exam + 2 labs to finish – but it wasn’t as horrific as I was anticipating, and I came out alive the full 3-hours later. I ate a late lunch after class, including half of a succulent orange and leftover mac & cheese. FYI, Annie’s + Avocado = A-mazing!

Then there was some time wasted before I headed to the gym to get my March move on! I had a fabulous workout:

40-minute spin [15.0 mi.]

20-minute treadmill run [10 minutes @ 6.0mph (incline 2.0), 6 minutes @ 6.6mph, 4 minutes @ 6.8mph]

– 2 x 20 lat pulldown @ 40 lbs.

– 20 side dips each side @ 10 lbs.

– 2 x 10 bicep curl lunges each leg @ 20 lbs.

– 2 x 10 squats @ 20 lbs.

– 2 x 10 “weights-to-chin” @ 20 lbs.

– 2 x 10 “toe-touches” @ 20 lbs.

I can’t believe I didn’t look at the treadmill to see how far I’d run – my guess is around 2.5 miles. I definitely pushed myself tonight, especially with the faster treadmill speed. I know I am strong, but rarely push myself to my maximum potential. They only way to get stronger is by exerting more effort. No pain, no gain!

Dinner: steamed TJ’s Vegetable Gyoza + broccolini with soy sauce, toasted sesame oil & seseame seeds.

You think a few potstickers are going to do it for me after burning all those calories? You’ve got to be kidding. Next was some 0% Greek & Humboldt Honey Granola. I think I could eat this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner : )

I’m outta here…

~ Hillary

Question: If you are a blogger and also a college student, as I am, how do you manage your time between studying and keeping up with the blog world? Where and how do you find the discipline to keep yourself away from the screen?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Move It in March Don’t Judge

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. frogsandmen  |  March 3, 2010 at 1:49 AM

    ha…food blogging is way too addictive for me to do as a student (also as a student i tend to live on cigarettes and hard boiled eggs, which makes for sad blogging).

    i miss trader joe’s so so so
    a bientot
    the Paris Food Blague

    Reply
  • 2. Anusce @ Ciao-Chow  |  March 3, 2010 at 4:04 AM

    Hi there, good question! I recently graduated from law school and as you can imagine, it was as tough as they tell you. I started my blog in my third year. At the beginning it was hard to stay away from it, but this is what I did. Like everything else in my life, I set aside time for it. I would only blog during the time allowed so that I could dedicate myself to it fully. Usually it would be at night time so that I could write a complete post! It worked for me…
    Good luck on your exam/quizzes!

    Reply
  • 3. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  March 3, 2010 at 5:07 AM

    What an awesome workout! You are so inspiring!
    Love mixing rolled oats and oat bran! Yumm
    Have a great Wednesday!

    Reply
  • 4. Karissa @ CardioFoodie  |  March 3, 2010 at 5:58 AM

    I get up REALLY early. I knock out blog reading/posting in the morning before my day starts. I have a bad habit of getting sucked in after classes though and eventually just close the laptop and move it away from me.

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  March 3, 2010 at 8:10 AM

    I just recently found your blog and wanted to say that I wish I ate as well as you do when I was in undergrad (I’ve recently cleaned up my diet while in grad school). I’m also so jealous that you grew up in Humboldt County…I love the Redwoods so much and although I love living in Seattle so so much I would love to live near the Redwoods. It is such an amazing area!

    Also…good luck with ochem! That class kicked my butt, but as long as you study hard you’ll survive!

    P.S. Not a blogger so no insight from me!

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:51 AM

    What a great idea…mixing oatbran with oats. Gonna try that! :)

    Reply
  • 7. feetinmotion  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:23 AM

    I read in the morning to catch up and then read before bed and after lunch. But I just read a few each time because like you said, I have my studies that are priority.

    Reply
  • 8. rollerkoesterrun  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:55 AM

    Just had to tell you that my mouth seriously watered when I saw the pic of your orange – WOW!!! YUM!

    ~Christie http://rollerkoesterrun.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 9. Simply Life  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:20 AM

    oh that is a great looking breakfast combo!

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa @ bakebikeblog  |  March 3, 2010 at 1:34 PM

    Great work on your workout!!! And what a yummy looking breakfast :)

    Reply
  • 11. soyaetchocolat  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:20 PM

    I just have one class for now but, with two jobs, training and yoga, my schedule is pretty crazy. I usually read blogs while I eat and write mine right after. I try to make it short on days that I don’t have a lot of time or pre-write some of the stuff the night before if I have to be at work really early (like at 6 o’clock). I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep writing 3 times a day when I’ll have 4 classes a week next September. I’m still waiting for my admission letter though, keep your fingers crossed for me!

    Reply
    • 12. Hillary  |  March 3, 2010 at 3:40 PM

      Thanks, Alexe.
      What are your 2 jobs? What are you studying? My fingers are crossed : )

      Reply
  • 13. Rachel  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    Hi Hillary! Again, I love your pictures, especially the oranges shot. Just curious, what kind of camera are you using for your food pics? Mmm, I love the pears in oatmeal idea…gotta try that one! And as far as blog balance, I am still working on that. I seem to go on extremes: one week I will be totally blog-less and then I’ll go crazy trying to catch up in one day. I’ve been trying to set limits and using my oven timer to remind me when it’s time to move on! Have a good week.

    Reply
  • 14. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  March 3, 2010 at 6:04 PM

    I keep myself away from the computer when I have a lot of studying to do (except for times like right now when i’m procrastinating, then the blogging world is excellent! lol)

    Reply
  • 15. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  March 3, 2010 at 7:52 PM

    i love gyoza so much! and your breakfast bowl is really pretty, love the color. i’m a college student…yet i have no tips on balancing blogging haha. if you find a good way, please let me know ;)

    Reply
  • 16. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  March 3, 2010 at 8:58 PM

    I love your breakfast and I love how you mix the oats and oat bran. & I KNOW – it is definitely so hard to get away from the computer as a college student when I know I should be studying. Sometimes I just simply have to put my laptop away/out of sight.

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 17. kbwood  |  March 3, 2010 at 9:26 PM

    girl it is DEF hard finding balance! sometimes i just gotta get my first priorities done. blogging can wait, school doesn’t wait on you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



