Oatmeal Observations

February 28, 2010 at 10:36 AM 14 comments

Don’t you just love how making one thing in the kitchen can lead to creating another thing, and another…? I do! Well, case in point, yesterday’s successful batch of Cappuccino Chip Muffins got my mind in a coffee-chocolate fix. What else could I concoct with my favorite flavors? Yep…oatmeal! In my mind, oatmeal is a blank canvas – there are endless possibilities…except, I think I’ll stay away from the savory side.

Besides adding espresso and chocolate to my oats today, I also wanted to add another variable to my Sunday science experiment. My dad suggested that I try rinsing my rolled oats before cooking them. Alright, sure…that’s not too difficult. So, I rinsed my 2/3 cup of rolled oats and then cooked them per usual in 1 cup of water.

Oatmeal Observations: The oats did not absorb the water as quickly, resulting in a little bit longer cooking time, and a creamier result. I tend to like my oatmeal thicker than not, but today it just worked.

Experiment:

1 cup water

2/3 cup rolled oats, rinsed

1/2 T ground flax

1/2 T instant espresso powder

1 tsp. pure vanilla

1 T mini chocolate chips

1 T chopped walnuts

+ 1/4 cup 1% milk

Results: A very satisfied scientist with a full belly and espresso buzzzz!

***

Today’s Agenda: MORE studying, LESS blogging! I’m even bribing myself with coffee by studying at Starbucks this afternoon. Whatever works : ) I hope you have a fabulous Sunday!

Always,

~ The Nutrition Nut

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Real Food Reigns Supreme Move It in March

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  February 28, 2010 at 1:23 PM

    that’s an interesting observation…i don’t know if it would make a big enough difference for me, but it’s a really cool idea!

    Reply
  • 2. Gabriela  |  February 28, 2010 at 3:18 PM

    Hahaha, I´m sure this oatmeal version tasted amazing ;)
    Have a great week, Hillary!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa @ bakebikeblog  |  February 28, 2010 at 3:47 PM

    Great looking oats! And good luck with the study :)

    Reply
  • 4. Rebecca  |  February 28, 2010 at 5:53 PM

    Sounds great!
    I came across a new twist to oats on some body builder’s blog.
    Oatmeal Applesauce Egg White Pancakes
    Sounds gross, tastes great!
    1/2 c ground oats (stick quick cooking oats in the food processor)
    1/2 c egg whites (3 egg whites)
    1/4 c applesauce
    1/4 c pureed bananas (can substitute baby food bananas)
    a dash of cinnamon
    a dash of vanilla
    Stir together and pour on olive oiled pan.
    Burn easy, so flip often, cook a little longer than average pancake.

    Reply
  • 5. Rebecca  |  February 28, 2010 at 5:55 PM

    forgot to add that you should top it with natural nut butter and some maple syrup, honey, or agave. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Laura  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:17 PM

    This sounds sooo yummy. I agree, oatmeal is a blank canvas.

    Enjoy your Starbucks.

    Reply
  • 7. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  February 28, 2010 at 7:56 PM

    oh boy, more studying and less blogging was on my agenda for the day as well. from this comment, you can tell that i did not succeed :). yum oats! i actually like mine on the thinner side so those sound great.

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly (Local Foodie Fight)  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:12 PM

    Same here, about less blogging, more studying/writing for school! Every day I want to blog I have no inspiration, every day I don’t have time, all I want to do is blog!

    love the oatmeal idea about rinsing, may try that. and love the pics!

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly (Local Foodie Fight)  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:14 PM

    PS. I don’t remember if I have commented on your blog before, but I love it. I read your E.coli experience, and it was especially moving. I work at Food and Water Watch and so have been doing lots of research lately on all these food safety issues, it’s interesting to see more of a personal take on it.

    Reply
  • 10. kbwood  |  March 1, 2010 at 6:08 AM

    Hey girl!!
    WOW that looks soo great! i love cooking my oats in coffee!! same for me – GOTTA buckle down in school the next 2 weeks before spring break!

    Reply
  • 11. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 1, 2010 at 7:45 AM

    Espresso powder! I must try it! I love experimenting with my oatmeal… and get plenty of chances to do it since it seems to be a mainstay in my breakfast routine… I apparently have issues with change? ;)

    Reply
  • 12. kalli@fitandfortysomething  |  March 1, 2010 at 1:46 PM

    I like the addition of the espresso powder! Great idea…
    I know blogging can be very addicting…I am supposed to be working now!

    Reply
  • 13. Katie  |  March 1, 2010 at 5:43 PM

    Just found your blog linked through another…

    Your oatmeal immediately caught my eye. I love love LOVE new oatmeal recipes! I made up a peanut butter and jelly one the other day… I should share it on my blog soon.

    Speaking of which… I just got my blog up and running but have no readers yet… if you check it out, I’d love to hear your comments :)

    Reply
  • 14. TheKetchupDiaries  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:52 PM

    These oats sound like a bowl of heaven. I am always looking for new flavors in my oats and I think I may have just found a new combo. Thanks, Hillary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



