Real Food Reigns Supreme

February 27, 2010 at 8:01 PM 12 comments

Evening Readers!

Hope you had a refreshing Saturday. I sure did. I whizzed through my to-do list, and somehow skimmed over my homework ; ) After our last “chat”, I got to baking — my favorite way to procrastinate. I asked my mom to send me her recipe for Cappuccino Chip Muffins that I’ve grown up on. She started making these in 1992! This is the first time I’ve actually made them; they are super simple and definitely a crowd pleaser.

espresso

semisweet chocolate morsels

a hint of cinnamon

I most certainly ate not one, but two warm muffins & a homemade iced latte for an afternoon snack…you betcha! Not long after, I was back in the kitchen attacking the monster of a butternut squash that I brought home in my backpack Thursday. This is what it turned into:

Not bad, eh? It was scrumptious with a capital S.

I roasted the squash with olive oil, real maple syrup, cinnamon, and salt & pepper at 400* for approximately 30 minutes, until the edges were caramelized and the house was saturated with sweet air. Then baby spinach was washed, creamy avocado was chopped, chevre was crumbled, and pepitas were sprinkled on top…a drizzle of balsamic was the finishing touch. I definitely need to thank my teacher for this one.

Overall, I had a very scrumptious Saturday! I am so thankful to be able to fill my belly with nutritious and delicious eats. I really, really am.

Check It Out: My Green Monster recipe is featured on Green Monster Movement. Thanks, Angela!

Take it easy,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

I Like It Green Oatmeal Observations

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rollerkoesterrun  |  February 27, 2010 at 9:02 PM

    Those muffins sound UH-mazing! Am definitely going to try those out!

    Thanks for another great recipe idea :)

    ~Christie (http://rollerkoesterrun.wordpress.com/)

    Reply
  • 2. laura ludwig  |  February 27, 2010 at 11:34 PM

    the muffins look great – i don’t like coffee – so i would lose that part and add extra chocolate :)

    Reply
  • 3. Gabriela  |  February 28, 2010 at 5:34 AM

    Holy Moly!
    *-*
    Everything looks sooo good!
    ;)
    You´re talented, girl.
    :D
    Have a great Sunday!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    Reply
  • 4. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 28, 2010 at 5:35 AM

    I think I’ll be making those muffins soon. :)

    Congrats on the green monster shout-out!

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:04 AM

    I’ve never had squash in my life, but that roasted pan of veggies looked wonderful! I’ll have to give it a try sometime. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 6. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:41 AM

    Oh my goodness I’m in love with those muffins!! So moist, fluffy and delicious!!
    And there is nothing better than roasted squash with maple syrup!! Excellent eats!

    Reply
  • 7. Amanda (Two Boos Who Eat)  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:21 AM

    Seriously those muffins look absolutely delicious! Especially with an iced latte. YUM!

    Reply
  • 8. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  February 28, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    i almost licked the screen looking at those muffins, wow! they came out perfectly! and your dinner = awesome. love maple syrup, i rarely use it in savory dishes, but i should start!

    Reply
  • 9. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 28, 2010 at 10:54 AM

    Yum those muffins sound amazing, I’m a sucker for anything with espresso in it :)

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa @ bakebikeblog  |  February 28, 2010 at 1:33 PM

    Great looking eats! That salad looks so yummy :)

    Reply
  • 11. annecalista  |  February 28, 2010 at 7:04 PM

    your salad looks delicious and so do those muffins! I think I need new muffin tins bc my muffins come out tiny ;-) I end up eating 2 at a time.

    Reply
  • 12. Lauren  |  March 1, 2010 at 6:54 AM

    I absolutely love roasted vegetables, especially winter squash and sweet potatoes. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



