I Like It Green

February 27, 2010 at 1:10 PM 9 comments

Hello, how goes it? I got up nice and early this morning and have been crossing things off my to-do list right and left.

First thing first…breakfast! Today’s inspiration came from Miss Caitlin. She is sort of famous for her pumpkin yogurt, and even though it’s no longer “pumpkin season”, she still enjoys her orange yogurt bowls on a regular basis. I love pumpkin, so yesterday while on my grocery quest, I bought a huge 30 oz. can of pumpkin. I was really excited adding another item to my breakfast possibilities list, but was so disappointed when I did not like it [icky texture]. I maybe ate half of what is pictured, and then resorted to a piece of toast. Dang it! Now I’ve got a life-supply of canned pumpkin that I need to figure out what to do with. Ideas?

1/3 cup Pumpkin, 1/3 cup 0%  Plain Greek, 1/3 cup Humboldt Honey Granola + a few raisins & drizzle of agave

Whole Wheat Toast with Real Butter, Cinnamon & Sugar

…sometimes you just need the real deal.

Next on my list: SPIN! I went to my usual 10:00am class at The Resort and left an hour later after a rockin’ ride. I think that makes three hard rides for the week – yippee!

After running a couple errands, I refueled with a Green Monster. Oh, how I missed these. It’s been far too long.

In the mix:

1 banana

1 cup almond milk

1/4 cup rolled oats

1 T ground flax

1 cup fresh spinach

Ice

…polished off with of hunk of 73% dark chocolate, of course!

I am hoping the addition of the oats to my smoothie will make it stick to my ribs a little longer than normal, so I can keep moving on down my Saturday “chore” list.

What are ya’ll up to today? Anyone have a kick-butt workout to share?

Peace Out,

~ Hillary

***

Your Questions Answered

What’s your workout schedule like? Do you plan it out or just do whatever you feel like doing that particular day?

My workout schedule is fairly random. It changes depending on whether or not I am at school [where I have a “free” gym], or at home where I do not belong to a gym, but have friends to run with/make me run a million miles =] I currently exercise an average of 5 days per week. I would probably prefer 6, but my school schedule makes that difficult. With the luxurious recreation center on campus [a.k.a. The Resort], I am able to switch up my workouts…as there are numerous types of cardio machines and fun classes, such as Zumba. The majority of my gym workouts usually include some sort of strength training as well. While at home, my workouts consist of running and DanceFit classes [run 3-4 days a week & dance 3 days].

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

5 & [Barely] Alive Real Food Reigns Supreme

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  February 27, 2010 at 1:57 PM

    Hey girl! Maybe you were supposed to add the sweetened/spiced canned pumpkin instead of plain. I’m not sure if the recipe specified what type of pumpkin. I know around Thanksgiving/Christmas the stores carry the sweetened/spiced kind because that is what you use to make pumpkin pie etc., but not sure if the stores carry it now. It probably would have tasted better with that instead of plain for sure! :-)

    Reply
    • 2. Hillary  |  February 27, 2010 at 2:00 PM

      Good point. I did add a drizzle of agave for sweetness, but the texture was still off.

      Reply
  • 3. Megan  |  February 27, 2010 at 4:12 PM

    Hi Hillary! I blogged some pumpkin pancakes a few weeks ago, and they were lip-smackin’ delicious, so feel free to try those out! Or you could make muffins – pumpkin would be great to keep them nice and moist.

    Quick question – Do you use baby spinach or regular spinach in your green monsters? I am *this close* to trying my first ever green monster, and didn’t know if I should go out and get baby spinach, or if I can just use the regular spinach in my fridge. THANKS! :)

    Reply
    • 4. Hillary  |  February 27, 2010 at 4:45 PM

      Pumpkin pancakes are delicious…topped with toasted pecans – mmm! My mom has a no-fail pumpkin muffin recipe, so I may be making those.

      I’ve always used baby spinach in my GMs, but think regular spinach would be just fine : ) Give it a try!

      Reply
  • 5. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 27, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    I’ve tried making pumpkin yogurt too and was also disappointed :(

    That toast looks like it was tasty, though! :)

    Reply
  • 6. lisa  |  February 27, 2010 at 6:45 PM

    hey!
    i heard you can put canned pumpkin in with chocolate cake mix instead of using eggs and oil. maybe you can whip up some yummy chocolate cupcakes?
    i’m with you – i like pumpkin, but CANNOT have too much of it. get sick of it easily. it’s a very rich food.
    but pumpkin granola bars by kashi ROCK! (crunchy pumpkin spice and fruit & grain pumpkin pie. soooo good.)

    Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  February 27, 2010 at 7:22 PM

    what a bummer you didn’t like the yogurt…i love that fiber-y texture and the creaminess! pumpkin is great in oats too, though, and with some peanut butter you can’t even taste the pumpkin (if you wanted a different flavor…)

    Reply
  • 8. Emilyeatsclean  |  February 27, 2010 at 7:26 PM

    Love, love, love my canned pumpkin!!!

    -emily http://www.emilyeatsclean.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 9. Bekah  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:50 AM

    I tried my first Zumba class last Monday and it was awesome! So much fun. My routine is always switching too though, I completely understand. Love the pumpkin bowl! Itself and the actual picture. Both are calling my name… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



