No Dairy. No Produce. No Chocolate!

February 25, 2010 at 9:32 PM 3 comments

Howdy ho, neighbor!

I really don’t have anything exciting to talk about tonight [no news is good news, right?], but I thought I would pop in for a quick hello.

I think my Statistics exam went swimmingly today. I’ll have to wait to find out if that’s really true. Food Lab…not much to say about that either. Today’s topic of study was food preservation, so we made jams and pressure-processed carrots, etc. I did come home with a butternut squash in my backpack. Haha, gotta love free veggies!

On another random note, today’s eats were scattered across the flavor map. My grocery stash is so low, it’s ridiculous. Ya’ll know I go grocery shopping weekly, so I guess I had an extra-large appetite this week. I swear I’ve got nothing: no dairy, no produce, no chocolate! Tomorrow = Friday = Grocery Shopping Day! I think my cart is going to overflow =]

Example #1 of my fridge scrounging:

Whole Wheat Toast with Chevre, Fresh Basil & Tomato

Example #2:

Apricot Almond Element Bar

I’ve only got 3 left! I ate this after my exam around 1:00pm and it held me over through my workout until 7:30pm! That’s a substantial snack!

I was really energized after class (thanks, Element Bar), and excited to put on my new Nike Dri-Fit top and get spinning!

Heart-Pumping Cardio

  • 18-mile ride [48 minutes spinning]
  • erg [12 minutes rowing]

Arms

  • 2 x 12 lat pull-down @ 40 lbs.
  • 2 x 12 seated row @ 40 lbs.
  • 2 x 12 tricep extension @ 10 lbs.

Abs

  • 3 x 12 side dips @ 10 lbs. [each side]
  • 3 x 20 stability ball crunches
  • 2 x 10 “knee-to-chest rollers”
  • + 20 squats @ 10 lbs.

Alright, I must shut up now and get crackin’ on the chem homework!

Night,

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

I’m In Love 5 & [Barely] Alive

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 26, 2010 at 6:16 AM

    I wish my classes gave me free veggies! (All I seem to get is more reading assigned…hah)

    What’s your workout schedule like? Do you plan it out or just do whatever you feel like doing that particular day?

    Reply
  • 2. Kelly  |  February 26, 2010 at 6:58 AM

    Oh…Element Bars…I want to make my own but ugh…don’t want to pay shipping!

    Reply
  • 3. fromatopink  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:57 AM

    That’s an impressive bar! I’ll have to scout one out – I’m always looking for a good pre-workout snack.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



