I’m In Love

February 24, 2010 at 8:13 PM 18 comments

…with spinning!

I had a kick-butt workout last night!

  • 1.5-mile run [indoor track]
  • 12-mile ride [spinning for 32 min.]
  • 1.5-mile run, including sprint intervals [indoor track]
  • + 4 x 15 “knee-to-chest step raises”

The new spinning bikes at the gym are awesome. I finally found something to push me to that next “level”…and it’s such a fun way to cross-train. As much as I would love to just run, and run, and run…I know that is not what’s best for my body. Drenched in sweat and high off endorphines, I hurried across campus to my bi-monthly Nutrition and Food Science Association meeting. I scored a sweet tee:

Only the cool kids wear I <3 Fruits & Veggies shirts =]

At home and out of the rain, I scarfed down a huge piece of leftover pizza while catching up with a friend on the phone. Then it was time to study my fruits & veggies for my Elementary Foods exam.

***

Today has been one of the longest Wednesdays to date. I was at school from 10:00am – 6:30pm! I was really hoping to post this morning before I left home, but clearly that did not happen. I inhaled a yogurt mess of 2% Greek, 1/4 cup Raisin Bran, 1/4 cup Humboldt Honey Granola & 1/2 banana, tossed my lunch into my backpack, and was out the door.

PB&Co Bee’s Knees & Banana Sandwich on Whole Wheat

Carrot, Cucumber & Tomato

2 TJ’s Truffle Hearts [from my valentine]

After my Elementary Foods exam [which went well, or so I feel], I had an hour and half to kill before my last class, so I decided to search for something to satisfy my already empty tummy. What is better than a hot latte in the middle of a long [wet & cold] day? I fought and fought the temptation, but at last…I caved and lost the Coffee Challenge. It was definitely worth it though. After a week and half of being espresso-free, my grande decaf latte with raw sugar was tastier than ever. However, this means no Friday Starbucks treat for me.

Warning: repeat photo…oopsie!

I was famished by the time I finally got home, so I whipped up my favorite 3-minute-meal:

Dr. Praeger’s California Love Veggie Burger + Mashed Avocado & Salsa

…with a side of black beans

I’m glad I made it through the day in one piece. It’s been one heck of a Hump Day! I’m feeling pretty prepared for my Statistics exam after tonight’s review session, and am looking forward to getting on the bike again tomorrow. Spinning = love.

Hope you are having a nice night,

~ Hillary

***

Just a reminder, I TWEET @ HILLontherun =]

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

It’s the little things… No Dairy. No Produce. No Chocolate!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  February 25, 2010 at 3:43 AM

    I’ve never tried spinning, but I really want to! Maybe one of these days I will attend one of the classes at my gym. I guess I am just sort of scared that I will be horrible, or it will be killer! Haha

    Reply
  • 2. Nicole  |  February 25, 2010 at 5:30 AM

    Spinning is AMAZING!!! That’s definitely what we stressed last year in WJR…It’s really good for your body to do cross training…You should give swimming a try! It is also AMAZING!!! :-)

    Reply
  • 3. kbwood  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:01 AM

    ahh i LOVE spinning! isnt it such a great workout? such an awesome alternative to running! I WANT THAT T SHIRT! that is sooo cute!

    Reply
  • 4. RahRigby  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:03 AM

    I did a spinning class about 2 weeks ago now, I felt like I was off the seat due to not reaching the pedals well. I am only 5 feet tall and swear the spinners are meant for 5’2″+ because the seat was fully down and I could barely reach. It was quite a sight! However – step, combat and now pump classes do = love. That workout you did sounds amazing, and I agree if I could run forever I would. Also, I really LOVE your T-shirt, it is fantastic!

    Reply
  • 5. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 25, 2010 at 7:04 AM

    Amazing T-shirt!

    Spinning is fun and a great workout, and yet I rarely go. I need to hit up some spinning classes soon!

    Reply
  • 6. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:36 AM

    Love your t-shirt. :)

    I have a box of Dr. Praeger’s veggie burgers in my freezer. I hated them the first few times I ate them. Maybe I need to give them another shot.

    Reply
  • 7. Donna Parker  |  February 25, 2010 at 8:39 AM

    Off subject, but here’s a question for you: yogurt varieties. I know that you love “Greek” yogurt, and who could not love its creamy thickness? I do not have a Greek yogurt container in the house, so can you tell me how the calories compare between Greek yogurt and let’s say “Nancy’s organic non-fat yogurt” (which would probably be considered “European style”). I ask, because in doing a little internet research I see that Greek yogurt is “strained”…the straining drains out some of the whey (the watery stuff that we all tend to pour out of our used containers). When straining yogurt, the water goes away, and the yogurt is thicker, eventually becoming cheese-like. So, I have strained my Nancy’s yogurt and now I have a cup of very thick stuff…and it certainly should be more dense calorie-wise because I have removed the water. PERHAPS this is why the Greek yogurt is also more expensive…another step in the process (straining) and less of the whey that gets in the way of creamy-goodness. Today’s work lunch is that cup of creamy, dense yogurt and a cup of blueberries…I bet it is a more enjoyable cup of yogurt.

    Reply
    • 8. Hillary  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:22 AM

      Surprisingly, I don’t have yogurt of any kind in my fridge right now, but I did some research for you:
      In 6 oz. of Nancy’s Organic Non-Fat Yogurt: 90 cal, 13g carbs, 9g protein.
      In 5.3 oz. of Oikos Organic Greek Yogurt: 80 cal, 6g carbs, 15g protein.

      I don’t see much difference calorie wise, but fewer carbs & more protein is better in my book =]

      Reply
      • 9. Hillary  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:55 AM

        Oh, and I do agree that straining Nancy’s Yogurt creates a Greek-like consistency, but I don’t think this reduces the carbohydrates, or increases the amount of protein…nor does it increase the calories. I’m curious, too, how the process of making Greek yogurt yields such different nutritional values.

      • 10. Donna Parker  |  February 25, 2010 at 6:13 PM

        WOW…just the research I was looking for…I guess I could have googled all that too, and I am embarrassed to say that I didn’t. (my son always reminds me: google first, then ask…) yes, the oikos does seem to be the way to go, BUT HOW DO THEY DO THAT? I hear science project in the offing.

        My drained Nancy’s yogurt was like a bowl of sour cream at lunch time. Rich, thick, and it took me longer to eat. I am going to do a test of some sort…before and after weights and measures…you will have to do the testing of carbs and proteins, please. I’ll report back in the morning after I weigh and drain :)

  • 11. Kelly  |  February 25, 2010 at 9:34 AM

    Cute shirt!! I would totally sport that!! :)

    Reply
  • 12. Heather  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:13 AM

    i so wish that we had time/could afford to join a gym! i LOVE spinning too, and it’s definitely a great workout for those of us with knee issues that can’t run anymore!

    Reply
  • 13. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:53 AM

    so glad you love spinning – i went through i phase where i did too!!

    and omg thank you SOOOOOO much for the giveaway!! i am using the water bottle as we speak and the chocolate is going to be dug into soon. Oh, and of course that bag is adorable!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 14. melodie  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:05 PM

    Just want to say how much I enjoy reading your blog! I always love looking at your pictures, too! Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 15. Lisa @ bakebikeblog  |  February 25, 2010 at 1:42 PM

    I LOVE spinning too – such a great workout!
    Glad to hear that your exams went well :)

    Reply
  • 16. Naomi(onefitfoodie)  |  February 25, 2010 at 4:48 PM

    LOVE that shirt! i want one!!! and love that you love spinning! i teach so i am THRILLED that you love it! it’s amazing isn’t it? i absolutely love teaching it and motivating the class. it’s the best!!

    Reply
  • 17. Tasha - The Clean Eating Mama  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:10 PM

    Ahhhhhh cute shirt!

    Reply
  • 18. Bekah  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:49 AM

    Love the two pictures in this one! So pretty and perfect and fresh.

    Good luck with your exams! You inspire me, because you’re doing something I would love to do as well.

    What makes me happy? Emails, comments, good pictures, good working internet, phone calls from friends from home, tweets that are directed towards me, and reading blogs! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



