It’s the little things…

February 23, 2010 at 2:54 PM 12 comments

Afternoon, friends!  Tuesdays are officially the worst day of the week [in my book], but so far, so good…

I finally got out of bed around 8:15 – an hour later than I had wanted – but I must have needed the extra hour because I was still tired and moody (?) upon waking. I was in the kitchen making my breakfast when my roommate strolls in wearing her pajamas, pours a bowl of cereal, and asks, “Don’t you not have class until 11:00?”. She was right. As I’ve said before, I l.o.v.e. my mornings! I had already showered, gotten dressed and had a pot of oat bran simmering away before she had woken up…and she had class at 9:30! I hate having to rush my morning routine : )

Anywho…my bowl of oat bran today was double delicious! I like oatmeal 12x better than oat bran, but it’s nice to switch it up occasionally. I learned that the key to making a successful bowl of bran is cooking it on LOW heat, and making sure to not overcook it.

1 1/4 cup water

1/2 cup oat bran

1/2 T ground flax

~ 1/4 cup blueberries

~ 1 T chopped walnuts

[TJ’s “baking” walnuts are so convenient!]

~ 1 tsp. agave

splash of 1% milk

A cup of [caffeinated] green tea is becoming a part of my morning routine.

***

Thankfully, we finished our chemistry lab early today, so I was able to come home to enjoy a hot lunch on this rainy, cold day [bipolar weather, I think so].

brown rice & stir-fried Soyaki tofu + slightly steamed broccolini, carrot & sesame seeds

The brown rice & tofu were left over from last night’s dinner, so I was able to just reheat them and enjoy within minutes. I honestly liked today’s lunch better than yesterday’s dinner – mmm…healthy & delicious!

***

It’s the little things in life that seem to be bringing me the most happiness right now: a creamy bowl of oats, a hot cup of tea, natural lighting and bright photographs, my reader’s sweet comments, a sweaty workout, a new magazine…

When life get’s tough, what makes you happy?

My muscles are soreness-free, so I’ll be hitting up the gym before my Nutrition & Food Science Association meeting tonight. Elementary Foods exam tomorrow. Statistics exam Thursday. Here we go…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Work It Out I’m In Love

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. feetinmotion  |  February 23, 2010 at 3:40 PM

    HAH my roommate says the same thing! She always says “why are you waking up so early?” What can I say, I love my FULL day!

    Reply
  • 2. annecalista  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    I love mornings too! My routine is drinking coffee and reading the news and some blogs :-)
    When I’m having a tough day I try to remind myself of how many amazing blessings I have in my life… health, safety, fresh air, loving family and friends.

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  February 23, 2010 at 7:14 PM

    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR EXAMS!!
    And mornings are my favourite time of the day too :)

    Reply
  • 4. courtscorner  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:54 PM

    A delicious SOY STARBUCKS LATTER makes me happy…also a dang good RUN with a good sweat!

    Reply
    • 5. Hillary  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:09 PM

      These also make me very happy…especially when I’m able to do them with you!

      Reply
  • 6. Maria  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:57 PM

    I try and get up two hours early for class so I can make a nice breakfast and enjoy some pleasure reading, it seem that in college the reading for fun quickly goes out the window and I don’t appreciate that!

    Reply
  • 7. gateauxbellehelene  |  February 24, 2010 at 7:36 AM

    I always used to get up early when I was at uni and my housemates, who got up about half an hour before lectures, were always amazed that they didn’t have time in the morning to do anything! I love mornings too. I love getting up and pottering around, enjoying a slow start before the manicness starts! Helen x

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly  |  February 24, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    When life gets tough the things that make me happy are:

    running
    sunshine
    my husband

    Reply
  • 9. Rachel  |  February 24, 2010 at 12:59 PM

    Hillary, your pictures for this post are beautiful! love the quilted background and bowl in the first one. and the sesame seeds add the perfect touch – I need to start sprinkling them on my veggies too! best of luck on exams. hmm, and when life gets tough… I have a couple Bible verses that really pull me through and put things in perspective. take care!

    Reply
  • 10. Ashley  |  February 24, 2010 at 6:25 PM

    Have you ever mixed 1/2 oats 1/2 oatbran?? It’s awesome…still get the good oatmeal texture but creamier from the bran! mmmm

    Reply
  • 11. Anusce @ Ciao-Chow  |  February 25, 2010 at 12:42 PM

    Mint Tea is so so so delish!
    If you have a Trader Joe’s close by you should try their brand of peppermint tea! So so refreshing and yes, it is caffeinated!

    Reply
  • 12. Bekah  |  February 28, 2010 at 6:48 AM

    Love the two pictures in this one! So pretty and perfect and fresh.

    Good luck with your exams! You inspire me, because you’re doing something I would love to do as well.

    What makes me happy? Emails, comments, good pictures, good working internet, phone calls from friends from home, tweets that are directed towards me, and reading blogs! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



