Work It Out

February 21, 2010 at 8:13 PM 11 comments

Hi Lovely Readers! I was happy to read that so many of you were excited about the little tale this morning. I got the melted jam idea from another blog, but now can’t remember which.

After finishing my morning post, I made myself a latte – or technically a cafe au lait (with 1% milk) – and a sprinkling of raw sugar…mmm. I’m going strong with my Coffee Challenge and have decided to extend my goal until this Friday (rather than Monday). I have a tough school week ahead of me, and thought if I can avoid buying coffee until Friday, then I can reward myself with a treat!

Foam a la Aerolatte

***

Lounging around in my pajamas all morning meant a late lunch…but when I got around to it, this is what it consisted of:

Frijoles Negros, Salsa y Avocado + Agua

Dos Kiwis

***

After studying up for my Elementary Foods exam, I got antsy to exercise. My muscles are still extremely sore from the past 4 days of exercise, but I wanted to work out some of the lactic acid build-up. Nothing hardcore:

Cardio

  • 1 mile track [alternate jog/walk every 2 laps]
  • 20 minutes: ARC Trainer
  • 1 mile track [alternate jog/walk every 2 laps]

Abs

  • 2 x 20 stability ball crunches
  • 2 x 20 reverse crunches
  • 2 x 10 side crunches
  • 2 x 10 stability ball “knee-to-chest rollers”

Stretch!

***

Dinner was rustic and E-Z!

– organic polenta (sauteed in olive oil), marinara, chevre & tear of fresh basil –

Alright…time to study my fruits and veggies for Wednesday’s Elementary Foods EXAM.

Enjoy your night,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

French Toast Tales It’s the little things…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  February 21, 2010 at 9:58 PM

    Hey girlie. I know the Vibrams seem and look ridiculous. I gave 2 of my friends THE hardest time ever [lots of joking] when they bought them. However, they raved and raved and then my husband read the book Born To Run, [his fav book ever] which gave a ton of info on barefoot running style. I did a boat-load of research and since switching to toe-running [used to be a heel striker] and wearing the Vibrams I have had NO knee pain, no shin splints [used to get them], I can breathe better + my legs feel lighter. It’s amazing! Ummm, sorry for the long comment, hehe. The cafe au lait looks delish…and I love the little avocado chunks! mmmm Take care!

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  February 22, 2010 at 5:01 AM

    Those longboard chips are addictive. =P

    Reply
  • 3. Bekah  |  February 22, 2010 at 5:23 AM

    Aaaagh I always love your fresh food pics. Avocado pictures are my weakness! :) Cubed perfectly and greeen too.

    Coffee challenge whaa? Obviously I missed that post, but it doesn’t sound very fun to me! hehe. LOVE the foam. Hope all is well Miss Hillary! xo

    Reply
  • 4. biz319  |  February 22, 2010 at 9:49 AM

    I’ll have to check out those chips next time I am at TJ’s – they look really good (as does your lunch!) :D

    I love kiwi – I read on someone else’s blog that they eat the skin, but I think that is gross!

    Reply
    • 5. Hillary  |  February 22, 2010 at 12:01 PM

      I have seen a handful of bloggers eat the skin too, but I get enough fiber as it is =]

      Reply
  • 6. Danielle  |  February 22, 2010 at 10:45 AM

    All your food is so colorful! Good luck with the exam :D

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:43 AM

    I totally agree with everyone above…your foods are always so vibrant! Love that!! :)

    Reply
  • 8. Lisa  |  February 22, 2010 at 2:39 PM

    oooh I love polenta! What a yummy looking dinner! Hope the study went well…

    Reply
  • 9. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  February 22, 2010 at 3:45 PM

    I’ve never seen polenta made like that, although I have never bought or made polenta. I’m a little scared of it. Hope your exam went well!

    Reply
  • 10. Dawn (HealthySDLiving)  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:11 AM

    Long Board chips? I’m going to look for those next time I’m at TJ — I need to find some good quality dipping chips! :)

    Reply
  • 11. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  February 23, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    Oh my god I love your lunch. The longboard chips look so great! And I’ve got some polenta that I’m hoping to use up soon! Have a wonderful Tuesday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



