Blogger Blues

February 19, 2010 at 8:37 PM 11 comments

Hey. Sorry for the lack of commitment to my blog lately. The groceries get slim at the end of the week and I tend to lose my motivation to capture my repetitive eats. A bowl of cereal can only be so exciting, ya know? The “spring” sunshine this week was totally a tease. It’s back to grey weather here, with a chance of rain. School is getting more difficult each and every week, and the stress levels are rising. Clearly, I’m having one of those funky Fridays. Reading through my daily blogroll today, I got the sense that stress is in the air. It seems as though a lot of us bloggers have had a rough week. I guess I’ve got the blogger blues =/

On a more positive note…I am really glad I’m feeling better physically and have been able to exercise the past 3 days! I went to the gym last night and did the most random workout. Switching up your routine is the key because I was sweaty, beet red, and woke up with sore muscles this morning – success!

Run – 1 mile

Arms:

  • 2 x 10 tricep dips
  • 2 x 10 lat pulldowns @ 40 lbs.
  • 2 x 10 seated rows @ 40 lbs.
  • 4 x 10 bicep curls @ 10 lbs.
  • 2 x 10 overhead presses @ 10 lbs.

Run – 1/2 mile

Cardio Burst:

  • 100 jumping jacks
  • 2 x 10 push-ups
  • 40 squats
  • 8 x 10 “block knee-chest raises”

Run – 1/2 mile

Abs:

  • 3 x 20 stability ball crunches
  • 10 stability ball “plank knee-to-chest rollers”
  • 10 side crunches each side

[repeat 2 + 3]

  • 20 side dips each side @ 10 lbs.

Stretch!

After class today, I met my roommate at the gym for another workout session:

  • 1.5 miles – Run
  • 30 minutes – Butts ‘n’ Gutts class
  • 15 minutes – Spin …on the coolest spin bike ever! I’m not kidding, I am in love. I was able to hook up my iPod and view my playlists, etc. on the huge screen. There is a TV option, of course, and it has a personal fan. It’s quite the machine!

Speaking of exercise, when I was talking to my mom on the phone last night, she mentioned the Foggy Bottom Milk Run, a local race near my hometown. It just so happens that it is conveniently during Spring Break this year. I don’t think I’ve done the race since 2006, so I was stoked. I went online and signed myself right up, making the early registration date by 1 day! I’ve only run the 4.1-mile distance before, but I decided to go all out and register for the 10-miler — why not? Guess I better start running…

***

I had pizza for dinner tonight. For most college students that means calling up Pizza Hut to deliver an extra-large meaty combo (with a side of bread sticks – ick), but for the Nutrition Nut it means:

wheat crust – $1.29 @ TJ’s

pesto

tomatoes

red onion

broccolini

chevre

…and a chiffonade of fresh basil

Overall: The dough took longer to cook…therefore turning the chiffonade of fresh basil into crispy basil…and it lacked in the flavor department, but I enjoyed making it – that counts as something, right? FYI, I took 38 pictures of my dang pizza and wasn’t pleased with any of them. Ugh, picture perfectionist. This is the best I can do tonight, folks.

I just took out my frustrations on the chocolate chip bag. I must ban chocolate chips from kitchen – seriously.

***

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DAD!

Love,

Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

A Winning Wednesday Spinning Right Round…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. caronae  |  February 19, 2010 at 8:46 PM

    I definitely feel ya on the end of the week blogger blues. Ugh. But it sounds like you got some great workouts in, and the pizza at least looks delicious!
    Have a good weekend!

    Reply
  • 2. Donna Parker  |  February 19, 2010 at 8:46 PM

    Happy Birthday Davey! I think we ate appropriately!

    Reply
  • 3. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  February 19, 2010 at 11:39 PM

    happy birthday to your daddy! and good luck with training for the 10 miler. honestly, i am so stressed too, we all understand :)

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 4. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  February 20, 2010 at 4:44 AM

    We all get the blogger blues – I haven’t posted since Wednesday! Your workouts are tough, that’s credit right there. Great job signing up for the 10-miler; the only way to motivate yourself and stick with training is by committing and you did that! Can’t wait to hear about your training! Have a great weekend girly!

    Reply
  • 5. Angela @ A Healthy Fit  |  February 20, 2010 at 6:14 AM

    I really like that whole wheat crust from Trader Joe’s. Super easy! Those workouts look good. I think I am going to have to give the one you wrote down a try.

    Reply
  • 6. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  February 20, 2010 at 7:17 AM

    Deeeelicious pizza! Pesto is one of my favorite things on Earth. And chocolate chips!

    Reply
  • 7. mom  |  February 20, 2010 at 7:36 AM

    blue but buff!!! hope the weekend cheers you up! xo, mom

    Reply
  • 8. Heather  |  February 20, 2010 at 8:52 AM

    still looks good to me even though it took a while! we did pizza last night too…but we bought a good frozen brand and decorated it ourselves :)

    Reply
  • 9. Kelly  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:03 AM

    Happy Birthday to your DAD! So sweet!!

    Reply
  • 10. Dad  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:42 AM

    Thank you everyone. I had a great birthday.

    Reply
  • 11. Anusce @ Ciao-Chow  |  February 20, 2010 at 4:32 PM

    Your workout inspired me today and I just wanted to let you know.
    Although I did not go to he gym, I did one of my workout DVDs by Jillian. I was not feeling up to it but then I read your workout routine and I said to myself. 20 minutes will not kill me…!
    So thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



