A Winning Wednesday

February 17, 2010 at 8:45 PM 15 comments

Well, friends…another glorious day has come and gone. Here’s what I was up to on this stellar Wednesday:

  • chem exam
  • geography
  • exercise + lunch
  • nutrition quiz
  • shower + dinner
  • blog!
  • I checked off everything =]

    It’s such a relief to have my 1st O. Chem exam behind me. Besides waking up late and almost missing the bus/missing my exam, it wasn’t a total nightmare. After class #2, I was able to come home for the afternoon since my regular 2:00pm wasn’t meeting. I was thrilled for many reasons: 1) It was absolutely gorgeous outside – 70* status, 2) I was feeling well enough to exercise, and 3) I wasn’t stuck at school from 9:00-5:00! So…I dropped my books, slipped on my shorts and headed out into the blue skies. I hadn’t exercised at all since last Tuesday (when I did an Allieinspired 60-minute elliptical workout); my body was craving physical activity. I ran for 35 minutes at a comfortable heart rate of 155. My legs were thankful =]

    ***

    For lunch, I refueled with light ‘n’ cheery eats to go along with the bright weather outside:

    I enjoyed this sunny photo shoot.

    1 Piece of Whole Wheat Toast + Hummus, Sliced Cucumber, Red Onion & Baby Lettuces

    2% Greek + Kiwi and Blueberries

    ***

    Before heading back to school for my final class, I made myself an iced latte. As tempting as it was to stop at Starbucks, I’m sticking to the challenge…plus, I’ve got Starbucks at home anyway.

    Iced Coffee + Skim Milk + Agave — mmm!

    I ate half of a granola bar, too. It was a Tropical Treat alright — so yummy, Mom! This one wins =]

    ***

    I made breakfast for dinner tonight with my leftover roasted taters and a couple of scrambled eggs. Seldom do I eat eggs (as a dish), but top ’em with avocado, salsa and chevre, and I can work with it. Anyway…since dessert is 100x better than dinner, let us fast forward…

    Celebratory [chemistry exam #1 is over] baking was in order. Chocolate Chippers, anyone?

    I made a mini batch by halving the recipe on the back of the Guittard chocolate chip bag:

    1 cup + 2 T whole wheat flour

    1/2 tsp. baking powder

    1/2 tsp. salt

    1/2 cup real butter

    1/2 cup brown sugar

    1/4 cup granulated sugar

    1 egg

    1 tsp. pure vanilla

    1/2 cup chopped walnuts

    1 cup Guittard chocolate chips

    1…2…3 chocolate chippers + a jam jar of skim milk = a perfect way to end this wonderful Wednesday.

    Good night!

    Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

    I Spy Springtime! Blogger Blues

    15 Comments Add your own

    • 1. caronae  |  February 17, 2010 at 9:02 PM

      Sounds like a pretty good week day to me! Glad your chem test went well. I would fail if I had to take chemistry. Your lunch looks absolutely gorgeous, btw!

      Reply
    • 2. laura ludwig  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:40 PM

      your photos make everything looks so yummy! – it was in the 20’s here in the midwest – but i did take a short walk in the afternoon and i have to admit it was great!

      Reply
    • 3. Allie Mak  |  February 17, 2010 at 11:08 PM

      Haha you know me and my love/hate relationship with that dang elliptical. It’s been love lately because I gotta be careful with my shinners.

      I drink Starbucks decaf too!!

      Reply
    • 4. Gabriela  |  February 18, 2010 at 6:49 AM

      It´s so good that the temperature´s better now where you live!
      It puts you in such good mood. :D
      Brazilian XOXO´s,
      Gabriela

      Reply
    • 5. Anusce @ Ciao-Chow  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:38 AM

      How did your exam go? Hopefully it was not too hard.
      I envy your warm weather. Here in DC we are having the longest and coldest winter ever!!!

      Reply
    • 6. Kelly  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:39 AM

      Oh those cookies look deeelish! Thanks for the recipe! :)

      Reply
    • 7. Lisa  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:12 PM

      My goodness – what a busy day! Love that lunch though :)

      Reply
    • 8. lowandbhold  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:28 PM

      Glad your test went well. O. Chem scares me, haha.

      Your hummus sandwich looks so pretty!

      Reply
    • 9. Julie @ Pickley Pear  |  February 18, 2010 at 5:13 PM

      What a great day! You are a busy girl. Good luck with your Chem class this semester, it just sounds hard!

      Reply
    • 10. Ashley  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:25 PM

      I really just LOL’d at the comment you left me…I know, I am a nerd!! hehehe Love your natural light photos!! Pretty! And love your fruit in a jar :)

      Reply
      • 11. Hillary  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:18 PM

        Aww, thanks. That means a lot coming from you, Photography Queen =]

        Reply
    • 12. Heather  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:49 AM

      For the weather forecast I just pulled it up on my computer and then saved a screenshot (click ‘print screen’ on your keyboard) then cropped out everything else but the weather. I’m sure there’s a better way, but that’s what I did haha. Beautiful pictures by the way!! :)

      Reply
    • 13. Kara  |  February 19, 2010 at 4:40 AM

      I just found your blog and love it! I am working on a degree in dietetics (my second degree) and have had to take Chemistry classes that give me nightmares! I can sympathize with the Chem pain! Good luck in your classes this semester.

      Reply
    • 14. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:17 AM

      Hey! You got an award on my blog this morning!! :)

      Reply
    • 15. Erica @ Fashion meets Food  |  February 19, 2010 at 2:59 PM

      Wow those cookies look so good!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




     Subscribe to my posts!

    Sponsored By:



    Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

    February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728

    Recent Posts

    Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



