I Taste Sunshine

February 16, 2010 at 9:01 AM 11 comments

Good Morning!

I wanted to challenge myself to write a post this morning before heading to school, so here I am. I may have gotten a head start last night (procrastinating O. Chem), but whatever works…right? =]

Breakfast

1 cup water

2/3 cup rolled oats

1/3 almond milk

1/2 banana

1 T unsweetened coconut

1 T agave

1 tsp. vanilla

***

Coffee Challenge

I seem to have totally forgotten about Goal #7 for 2010: “Visit Starbucks less frequently”. I have been so determined to reach the Gold Level by accumulating 30 stars, that my Starbucks habit has turned into a more frequent occasion than not. I want to challenge myself to not go to Starbucks this entire week. The only coffee I will allow myself to have will be made at home. Hopefully this snippet will keep me accountable…

***

Your Questions Answered

1) I want to know how you budget to shop at Trader Joe’s so often! I am jealous!

Growing up, my family did not put a strict budget on the grocery bill. Feeding my brother and I whole, natural, and usually organic foods was more important to my parents than saving a little bit of money from purchasing processed foods. Fortunately, I was raised in an area rich in fresh produce, seafood, organic dairy, and local cooperative markets to do such; however, that didn’t always mean cheap prices. I clearly obtained the same belief that quality (food) is better than quantity. There isn’t a Trader Joe’s near my hometown, so when I went away to college I thought that their prices were incredibly reasonable — $0.19 for a banana! I understand that what may be cheap to one may be pricey to another, but shopping at TJ’s works for my healthy lifestyle on a college budget.


[source]

2) I have a question regarding college… I have a test coming up next week for my nutrition class and I have no idea how to study. How do you memorize everything?

Despite the gazillion quizzes & exams I’ve taken in my lifetime, I still have not mastered a studying technique. I always do the practice exams/study guides if they are assigned, and attend any extra review sessions that are offered. Memorizing is something that does come fairly naturally, but when I have a ton of definitions to cram into my brain, I whip out the 3×5 cards. Sorry for such a generic answer. Good luck!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

A Crunchy Comeback I Spy Springtime!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    Yum! I love adding coconut to my oats…such a good flavor!! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Tami Frisbie  |  February 16, 2010 at 11:22 AM

    Thanks, Hillary! Not having one in my home town also probably explains that when I do go there, I spend a fortune! I need to look for the deals, I guess.

    Reply
  • 3. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 16, 2010 at 12:23 PM

    I had a similar problem with Starbucks until recently when I vowed to only drink coffee brewed at home as well– I just bought a couple different varieties from TJ and have stuck to it ever since! (actually tastes MUCH better than Starbucks)

    I recommend the TJ Bolivian Blend, sooo delicious!

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:30 PM

    I agree with Kelly! I LOVE your addition of coconut to the oats :) What a great idea!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Ashley  |  February 16, 2010 at 1:46 PM

    Hey girl! My bright lighting is due to a combination of things…1) taking my photos with indirect sunlight coming through 2) photo editing exposure + brightness in lightroom 3) learning how to correctly set your camera for different types of light 4) using a light bounce when needed 5) having no job so i can take more time with my photos [not by choice for the no job part, lol] 6) my Canon 50mm fixed f1.8 lens [a steal at $90] =)

    Reply
  • 6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  February 16, 2010 at 5:05 PM

    god bless flash cards! have saved my bum on so many tests, not even funny. i get a thrill out of budget grocery shopping :) i’m lucky to have had access to fresh foods the way you were as a kid too.

    re: the cookies in my last post: supposedly they’re healthier! i didn’t do a side by side look at the nut stats but it doesn’t have such wonky ingredients. i think girl scout cookies contained trans fats until really recently and they prob just replaced it with something equally icky!

    Reply
  • 7. Nutritious Foodie  |  February 16, 2010 at 5:42 PM

    I love coconut on my oats… your oats look good.

    Reply
  • 8. Sharilyn  |  February 16, 2010 at 6:51 PM

    Lent starts tomorrow. Maybe give up coffee for 40 days? Lol…very difficult.

    In terms of the Trader Joe’s thing…that confuses me. Trader Joe’s is so cheap and in most cases cheaper than Safeway and what not. Love me some Trader Joe’s!

    I have a question: How often should you switch up your workout and what do you suggest doing, in terms of cardio, weights, etc…?

    Reply
    • 9. Hillary  |  February 17, 2010 at 10:15 PM

      I wish I was an exercise expert, but since I’m not, I do not know how often you should switch up your workout. I’m guessing it’s different for various fitness goals. I switch up my workouts almost daily so I don’t get bored. I rarely get sick of running though =]

      Reply
  • 10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  February 16, 2010 at 7:54 PM

    i’ve heard o chem is so hard!! and i agree that trader joe’s isn’t outrageously expensive – love it. i heard o chem is so hard!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 11. Laura  |  February 16, 2010 at 8:37 PM

    Starbucks is like crack. It’s so damn yummy. I gave it up & had headaches but after awhile, you don’t miss it as much but I still go back to it every few months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



