A Crunchy Comeback

February 15, 2010 at 5:22 PM 3 comments

Yes, that’s right. I have a blog…almost forgot. I hope you managed without your daily Nutrition Nut news for the weekend. I needed a weekend away from the blog world…and time to enjoy the real world with real friends. Unfortunately, the chest cold that arrived Wednesday put a bit of a damper on my weekend festivities. I was so bummed that the one weekend I had guests, I didn’t feel 100% =[

Sickness aside, Tasha & I had a fun time.

***

My chest cold has now migrated to my head. However, after a ton of sleep and gallons of water and tea, I’m feeling on the mend. It’s an absolute gorgeous day here in NorCal. I would do anything to be outside in the sunshine running (or washing my car), but alas…I have my first O. Chem exam to study for. Instead, I slipped on a pair of flip-flops and studied at Starbucks with an iced latte. I hope to be able to enjoy the sunshine at some point week – 70* weather is in the forecast =] Spring is in the air!

I took a study break this afternoon and made my 2nd batch of Humboldt Honey Granola. It was a bittersweet meal eating the last of my homemade granola. I don’t know if I could have survived without it much longer. I cut the original recipe “in half” today:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup ground flax
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 T vanilla extract
  • sprinkle of salt

It came out of the oven just in time for snack hour.

2% Greek & Granola is back!

Speaking of granola, many of you asked if my mom would share her recipe for the granola bars she sent me for Valentine’s Day. I asked her where she got the recipe, and no surprise, it is one of Sarah’s @ In Praise of Leftovers. You can find the recipe here.

Alright…going to give O. Chem a couple more hours of my time and then relax with the usual Monday night trash TV.

See you again soon,

~ Hillary

***

Just a reminder: If you have any questions for me about college, cooking, exercise, food, life, etc…don’t hesitate to ask! =]

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy Heart Day! I Taste Sunshine

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. soyaetchocolat  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    Thanks for the link to the granola bar recipe! I have a question regarding college… I have a test coming up next week for my nutrition class and I have no idea how to study. How do you memorize everything?

    Reply
  • 2. Tami Frisbie  |  February 15, 2010 at 7:58 PM

    Love the energy bars from Mom, too! She is so clever. Thanks for sharing the granola recipe.
    I want to know how you budget to shop at Trader Joes so often! I am jealous!
    I had the same cold you did! Yuck! Enjoy the sun. It will help!
    Tami

    Reply
  • 3. Angelalovesfood  |  February 16, 2010 at 12:10 AM

    oh yay, recipes. I was going to ask for the granola recipe but I assumed it was a secret family recipe or something, I don’t know why that crossed my mind. thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



