Bittersweet

February 8, 2010 at 7:12 PM 13 comments

Hey hey! Monday, oh Monday…what’s your opinion about the often dreaded day of the week? I don’t mind it so much, as I always think of it as a fresh start – to eat mindfully, to erase any negative thoughts, and to make the most out of another week of life : )

I got super excited last night thinking about today’s breakfast; yet, it ended up being bittersweet.

Greek + LAST of my Humboldt Honey Granola (tear) + 1/2 Banana + 1 T Raisins

I tell ya, I did not want this yogurt ecstasy to end!

***

School was school…minus 1. My last class of the day was cancelled – hooray! I hurried home for an afternoon snack.

Whole Wheat Toast with PB&Co Bee’s Knees & 1/2 Banana

***

With a couple extra hours on my hands, I had to figure out my plan of attack for the rest of the night. Since the semester began, Mondays haven’t included exercise; however, I didn’t have a good excuse not to fit in something today:

Mini Monday Moves

Treadmill

0-5 min: 3.5mph @ 5.0

5-10 min: 4.0mph @ 5.0

10-20 min: 6.0mph @ 2.5

20-25 min: 4.0mph @ 5.0

25-30 min: 3.5mph @ 5.0

***

Dinner looks familiar, doesn’t it? You’re seeing leftovers…that’s why.

1 Huge Handful of Fresh Spinach, Avocado, Tomato, Spinach Ricotta Ravioli with Marinara…drizzled with Balsamic

I know some like to keep their salad separate from the rest of their meal, but I’m clearly not one of those people. I’ll eat salad any way, any day!

Homework (a.k.a. The Bachelor – hometown dates!)…

Peace out,

~ Hillary


Question: Anyone know of excess flax causing stomach issues? It’s either that, or I’ve been hitting the fiber too hard. Ok…TMI : )

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Blue Skies & Running Highs U R Loved [GIVEAWAY]

13 Comments Add your own

    • 2. Hillary  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:40 PM

      Thank you. Going to go easy on the flax…

      Reply
  • 3. Donna Parker  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:48 PM

    You are such a conscientious and responsible eater that I am sure that you have sufficient fiber in your diet already. IMO you were raised eating more fiber than the national average. Jus’ sayin’.

    Reply
    • 4. Hillary  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:58 PM

      I am positive I eat WAY more fiber than necessary, but it just happens to taste so good.

      Reply
  • 5. Heather  |  February 8, 2010 at 8:09 PM

    i’ve never had an issue with flax before, but i’ve definitely had too much fiber before! just make sure to drink plenty of water… :)

    Reply
  • 6. mom  |  February 8, 2010 at 9:07 PM

    Check out Aunt Donna’s comment on Jan. 27… :)
    Are those TJ’s raviolis? Look yummy. I had soba and yams, courtesy of Sarah, tonight – very easy and tasty. I was gonna call you, but don’t want to interrupt your date with The Bachelor!
    xo, mom

    Reply
  • 7. Jan Ross  |  February 8, 2010 at 9:11 PM

    Something that might help… I just read this a week or so ago… take a kiwi and rub the hairs off and then eat the rest of it – supposed to help this situation!

    Reply
  • 8. soyaetchocolat  |  February 9, 2010 at 2:05 AM

    I eat 1 tablespoon of grounded flax seeds almost daily and I never had a problem but I make a point of drinking 2 L of water a day (it’s harder in winter though, I don’t feel the thirst as much).

    I don’t dread Mondays at all since I work from Saturday to Wednesday… Monday is actually hump day for me ;)

    Reply
  • 9. fromatopink  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:55 AM

    What’d you think of The Bachelor? I did my best not to give anything away. ;)

    Reply
    • 10. Hillary  |  February 9, 2010 at 8:24 AM

      Wasn’t not too impressed with the hometown dates – sort of lame. Rooting for my favorite (Tenley), but preparing for the worst (Vienna)…

      Reply
  • 11. teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:56 AM

    when I first added flax to my diet, I had stomach issues. you gotta ease into it. :) did you recently add it or something?

    Reply
  • 12. eatmovelove  |  February 9, 2010 at 8:29 AM

    Beautiful blog! Found through Jenna’s. Love the banana close-up and ravioli – finally someone who embraces carbs and pasta…and not JUST the lettuce ;)…and yes to the Bachelor – so melodramatic…I don’t think he’s going to pick anyone really.

    Reply
  • 13. Kelly  |  February 9, 2010 at 9:54 AM

    I love flax…I hope it isn’t that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



