Blue Skies & Running Highs

February 7, 2010 at 8:13 PM 16 comments

Howdy! Hope you had a relaxing Sunday – it is supposed to be a day of rest, ya know. All I can say is that I am much chipper today than yesterday and I know exactly why that is…RUNNING.

Although I accidently slept in again today, a repeat of yesterday’s breakfast and a little Food Network cheered me right up. By the time the gym opened (at the inconvenient hour of noon), sunshine was seeping through my windows and I knew today was not a day to be inside a gym. Nonetheless, I drove to campus, threw my belongings into a locker, and walked right back out the gym doors into sunshine and blue skies. I was a happy girl : )

I didn’t remember to bring my running watch, but that wasn’t stopping me. I turned on my tunes and just ran…for about 30-35 minutes. It was entirely random, and extremely refreshing. You just can’t get the same running high from running around the inside of a gym. I polished off my workout with the following:

  • 5 minutes erg (rowing machine)
  • 2 x 15 lat pulldown @ 40lbs.
  • 2 x 15 seated row @ 40lbs.
  • 15 tricep dips
  • 15 side dips each side @ 10lbs.
  • 15 lunges each leg @ 10lbs.
  • 3 x 15 squats @ 10lbs.

Lunch

Low-Fat Cottage Cheese, Avocado, Cucumber, Tomato, 1/2 T Ground Flax, and remaining Multigrain Chips

It was definitely a day for an iced (low-fat) latte. I stopped at the Starbucks down the street before hitting up Target for TP — always a necessity. By the way, Target during the Super Bowl = bliss!

Look at that sky : )

I then finished putting together my giveaway for Friday. Aren’t you excited?

Dinner

TJ’s Spinach & Ricotta Ravioli with TJ’s Traditional Marinara

Spinach Salad with Avocado, Chevre, Tomato, Fresh Pepper & Balsamic Vinegar

Dessert

TJ’s 71% Cocoa Swiss Dark Chocolate

***

What I’m looking forward to this week:

  1. Watching The Bachelor with my roomies
  2. Seeing Valentine’s Day (the movie)
  3. Having a 4-day weekend
  4. …including Tasha’s visit!

***

Happy 21st Birthday, Court!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

I Fail Bittersweet

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kris | iheartwellness.com  |  February 7, 2010 at 8:46 PM

    Great blog! I heart the Starbucks :)

    I can’t wait to read more from you!

    XXOO

    Reply
  • 2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  February 7, 2010 at 10:25 PM

    you’re gorgeous! great picture. i am jealous of the blue skies :) lunch looks great and i like the font you use to highlight your meals

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • 3. Hillary  |  February 7, 2010 at 11:11 PM

      I’m glad you mentioned the font because my mom said she wasn’t able to see a difference in her web browser. Thanks!

      Reply
  • 4. Kay's Nutty Oasis  |  February 8, 2010 at 2:51 AM

    i love how running can make all the difference :) such a stress reliever and a happiness booster.

    Reply
  • 5. annecalista  |  February 8, 2010 at 4:47 AM

    Thanks for checking out my blog, and yes I can’t eat Annie’s w/out peas anymore either! Love that stuff.
    I’m a runner too and got myself outside yesterday because of the sunshine, even though it was freezing! It still felt great.
    I like your blog, I will come back to read more :-)

    Reply
  • 6. gateauxbellehelene  |  February 8, 2010 at 5:35 AM

    great picture. i love the clothes you are both wearing! running always makes me feel better too and i always feel uplifted after a good run.

    helen

    p.s. i can see the different font too!

    Reply
  • 7. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 8, 2010 at 5:56 AM

    Guess what – I’ve never had an iced latte. But that looks so good! I may have to try one once the weather gets above 40 degrees :)

    I’m excited to see Valentine’s Day too!

    Reply
  • 8. mom  |  February 8, 2010 at 6:37 AM

    I just updated to the newest version of Firefox and now I can see your new fonts – looks nice!
    Happy Monday! xo, mom

    Reply
  • 9. Cait (Cait's Plate)  |  February 8, 2010 at 8:35 AM

    Mmm that chocolate bar looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 10. Lauren  |  February 8, 2010 at 8:59 AM

    I VASTLY prefer running outside than in a gym. In fact, I was outside running on Saturday after we’d received 16″ of snow the night before. :) I love $tarbuck$ too!

    Reply
  • 11. Nutritious Foodie  |  February 8, 2010 at 9:01 AM

    The salad and the chocolate look really good.

    Reply
  • 12. tropicaleats  |  February 8, 2010 at 10:54 AM

    woowoo for giveaways! Starbucks is the best :)

    Reply
  • 13. Lisa  |  February 8, 2010 at 11:26 AM

    What a great looking lunch! And congrats on the run :) I love running outdoors – I always get too bored if I run on a treadmill at the gym.

    Reply
  • 14. Maria  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:01 PM

    Hillary, I’ve been meaning to comment for pretty much a month now. I’ve been keeping up with your blog and love it! You’ve inspired me to fall in love with oatmeal again. My dad used to make it for me every morning of elementary and I kind of got sick of it, but lately I’ve been really experimenting with what goes into it and it really makes me excited to get up in the morning. I have also been trying out cottage cheese for the first time in my life, and have discovered I really enjoy it :) Thanks for all the wonderful ideas for food to have for a kid in college!
    Glad to see you had a good visit home over Christmas!
    Maria

    Reply
    • 15. Hillary  |  February 8, 2010 at 7:16 PM

      Hi Maria! It’s always so fun to know who is actually reading what I write : ) Ah, oatmeal is the best – so many delicious combos to try and easy to whip up before an a.m. class. Take care…

      Reply
  • 16. COURT  |  February 9, 2010 at 2:45 PM

    AWW A tribute! I feel honored. Love u soo much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



