I Fail

February 6, 2010 at 8:25 PM 18 comments

What I did and didn’t do today:

  1. Sleep In – ugh!
  2. Make Banana Pancakes
  3. Exercise
  4. Vacuum
  5. Fold Clean Laundry
  6. Homework
  7. Redeem V.day Gift Card @ See’s
  8. Write Valentines
  9. Make Cucumber Salad & take hideous photos

Are you one to procrastinate your most important tasks? I fail today.

***

Your Questions Answered

Teri asked:

1) What’s your go-to lunch that transports well? I have the hardest time packing a lunch for work!

I don’t usually pack complete lunches, just a thing or two to hold me over between classes. I also don’t bring anything that should be kept really cold, or that needs to be reheated. Simple, simple, simple:

  1. PB&Banana Sandwich
  2. Wrap w/ Fresh Vegetable & Hummus
  3. Apple, Cheese & Crackers
  4. Apple & PB
  5. Carrots & Hummus
  6. Dried Apricots & Raw Almonds

2) Do you like flavored lattes? If so, what’s your favorite flavor?

I’m actually not a huge fan of flavored lattes. I have slowly weened myself off of sugary espresso drinks. Back in my early espresso-drinking days, I ordered mochas, then it turned into vanilla or raw sugar lattes, and now my drink of choice is a soy, or sometimes skim, latte. I often top my hot lattes with cinnamon for warmth and flavor. I eat a fair amount of sugar as it is, so I try not to make my frequent latte habit contribute extra sugar to my diet.

3) What’s your favorite sushi roll? Have you ever made sushi at home?

One of my favorite sushi rolls is called the Dragonfly Roll: inside-out tempura prawn, avocado, cucumber, topped with shredded carrot, macadamia nuts, and a sweet chili sauce – yum! I have made sushi at home before, more than once. Of course it hasn’t been as spiffy as the roll I just mentioned, but I’ve made everything from sunomono salad to inari, and a variety of rolls.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pancakes > Pills Blue Skies & Running Highs

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  February 7, 2010 at 12:10 AM

    Woah, your very creative with your sushi. I just get a vegetarian.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenna @ Healthy. Happy. Well.  |  February 7, 2010 at 1:20 AM

    I didn’t do homework today as well! There’s always tomorrow…

    Reply
  • 3. Lexi  |  February 7, 2010 at 2:14 AM

    Don’t beat yourself up for not getting a lot done. Saturdays are supposed to be lazy days, Sundays are for work! I loved reading the answers to your questions!

    Reply
  • 4. soyaetchocolat  |  February 7, 2010 at 6:14 AM

    I have the hardest time doing homework when I’m home but I would procrastinate everything to go the the gym… My fridge has been empty for 3 days but I’m so busy that I have to choose between a trip to the gym or to the grocery store… Bah, I still have a few vegetable… ;)

    Do you have a trick when it comes to learning things by heart? I can’t memorize anything!

    Reply
  • 5. Kay's Nutty Oasis  |  February 7, 2010 at 7:00 AM

    I have been reading your blog for a while and thought I would delurk because I am just in love with it! I love the layout, your photographs, and your healthy attitude :) Makes a very enjoyable blog!

    I’ll have to give the Dragonfly Roll a try! I need to branch out of my veggie roll…haha.

    Reply
  • 6. Teri [a foodie stays fit]  |  February 7, 2010 at 10:12 AM

    Thanks for answering my questions! I’ve been finding that I think flavored lattes are too sweet; I’ll have to try soy or just topping a plain one with cinnamon to give it some flavor. Good ideas!

    And good idea to just pack snacks; I guess I don’t have to have a real meal if I have enough healthy snacks.

    That sushi sounds so good! I need to find someone to go out for sushi with me since my husband doesn’t do any seafood. :(

    Reply
  • 7. thewhatkateateblog  |  February 7, 2010 at 11:05 AM

    that sushi roll sounds so good! seems like you had a pretty productive day :)

    Reply
  • 8. caitsplate  |  February 7, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    Haha you still got a lot accomplished so I would say you pass even despite not getting to homework and exercise :)

    I love your go-to transports, mine are very similar :)

    Reply
  • 9. Kristen @ Change of Pace  |  February 7, 2010 at 12:20 PM

    Looks like you got a lot done! I definitely proscrastinate the most important tasks… I have also turned away from sugary drinks. I’d much rather just have coffee, espresso, or tea with soymilk and no sugar. :)

    Reply
  • 10. Lisa  |  February 7, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    Haha I am a BIG procrastinator when it comes to the important stuff – so frustrating. It’s lucky that I can work under pressure – but annoying at the same time :)

    Reply
  • 11. tropicaleats  |  February 7, 2010 at 2:49 PM

    oh yum yum. that sushi roll sounds delish!!! :) p.s. all of your foodie pics on here are gorg… those pancakes below look AMAZING. have a great day tmrw girly!

    Reply
  • 12. caronae  |  February 7, 2010 at 3:58 PM

    I totally failed at doing homework today too! The dragonfly sushi roll sounds really good :)

    Reply
  • 13. laura ludwig  |  February 7, 2010 at 4:33 PM

    I had the same kinda Saturday you did – couldn’t muster up the energy to do much of anything. The next day, however, I felt much better. You got a lot accomplished for a “lazy day”.

    Reply
  • 14. GIGI  |  February 7, 2010 at 4:44 PM

    HA! I did NOTHING on your to-do list today! I feel like a slacker too… Wait no, hold the phone I did exercise… the reason I forget is because it felt like AGES AGO! This day has been moving so slowly… but it will be done soon enough so you and I can start a fresh new one tomorrow and hopefully accomplish a lot more… I’m hoping to at least accomplish studying! GAH!

    Reply
  • 15. Kelly  |  February 7, 2010 at 4:56 PM

    Just found your blog and wanted to say hi.

    I think Valentines are top priority. I was going to do some today but I only did 2, gotta keep working on that this week :)

    Reply
  • 16. Michele | aka Raw Juice Girl  |  February 7, 2010 at 8:06 PM

    Awesome answers! Smoothies are another quick, nutritious, delicious “to-go” meal. ;-)

    Glad I followed over from Eat, Live, Run – saw your comment there!

    *smiles*
    Michele

    Reply
  • 17. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  February 7, 2010 at 8:13 PM

    your transport meals sound awesome! no worries – we all have days we don’t get everything we want done :)

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 18. Kelly  |  February 8, 2010 at 9:51 AM

    Everyone needs a lazy done! It is totally natural! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



