All About Organic

February 2, 2010 at 8:46 PM 9 comments

Hey. It’s about time I get around to posting, don’t ya think? School is keeping me busy. Although I wish I could say blogging was my top priority at the moment, school beats it. Now, if they offered a class about blogging, I would be an A+ student : ) Tuesdays are chem lab days – right smack in the middle of the day (11:00am-2:00pm). No foodie scheduled that class. After playing with organic molecules, I hit up the g.y.m.

  • 20 minutes stationary bike [10 minutes each @ resistance 3.0 & 6.0]
  • 40 minutes treadmill [time/speed/incline]

0-5 min: 3.6mph @ 3.0

5-10 min: 4.0mph @ 3.0

10-15 min: 4.0mph @ 6.0

15-20 min: 3.6mph @ 6.0

20-30 min: 6.0mph @ 2.0

30-40 min: 6.0mph @ 0.0

+ 3 x 20 stability ball crunches & stretching

***

The rest of the afternoon passed quickly and before I knew it, it was appetizer time. I munched on (healthy) chips ‘n’ dip while working on more O. Chem.

Dinner

Organic Mixed Lettuces, Avocado, Red Onion & Tomato (with unphotographed Low-Fat Parmesan Ranch)

Organic Baked Beans + 1/2 carrot for scooping

2 Tofu Dogs + Organic Ketchup & Mustard

Dessert


Melted Ghirardelli Bittersweet Chocolate Chips & 1/2 Banana

As Ina would say, “How bad can that be?”

***

Question: How do you feel about organic food? Do you buy it, eat it, support it?

I have 3 quizzes tomorrow. No big deal : ) Hopefully the chocolate will give me a study buzz…

Until we meet again,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Simplify Your Life Blogging Booboo

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharilyn  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:04 PM

    I always notice how you walk on the treadmill on an incline. Is it better to walk on an incline then run?

    Reply
    • 2. Hillary  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:08 PM

      No, I don’t believe so. Of course, it’s more difficult (running up a “hill”). Truth be told, I really dislike running on treadmills. If you noticed, I did RUN for 20 minutes today though : )

      Reply
  • 3. Renee  |  February 2, 2010 at 9:48 PM

    I love buying organic and do so as much as possible! =)

    Reply
  • 4. mom  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:09 PM

    I almost always try to buy organic and local if possible. Not only do I feel that it is better for our bodies, but almost more importantly I feel it is better for the earth…our soil, water, atmosphere, and all the critters that live off the land. Whether directly or indirectly, our actions will have consequences – we are all so interconnected. We must all do our part to protect our planet…every small conscientious step makes a difference…in my humble opinion :)

    Reply
  • 5. mom  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:12 PM

    p.s. ~ that chocolate dipped banana looks yummy ~ brings back fond memories of when I would get chocolate dipped frozen bananas on a stick, when vacationing on Balboa Island as a kid :)

    Reply
  • 6. Tasha - The Clean Eating Mama  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:15 PM

    I buy organic as much as possible – especially fresh produce.
    PS – I am drooling over your naner and chocolate!

    Reply
  • 7. Lexi  |  February 3, 2010 at 2:29 AM

    Good luck with all of your quizzes! You’ll do great I’m sure :)

    I support all organic foods, but only purchase organic dairy and produce.

    Reply
  • 8. soyaetchocolat  |  February 3, 2010 at 3:34 AM

    I would like to buy more organic food but it’s not available a lot around here and, when you can find it, it isn’t cheap! I agree it’s better for the earth but, as far as our body is concern, I’m not sure we don’t eat the pesticides coming from the regular farm situated next to the organic farm… Can you keep bees and pollen going from field to field? They are the ones in charge of pollination and they don’t care about organic or not… I’m not an expert on the subject though.

    Reply
  • 9. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:35 AM

    i’d love to support organic more than i do…i just find that it’s usually more expensive, and i really can’t afford to spend more money on food than i already do. so sad that it can’t be more affordable and more available to the masses, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



