Simplify Your Life

February 1, 2010 at 7:13 PM 8 comments

Howdy ho. Happy February, Foodie Friends! Hope you had a fabulous first day of the month. I had a case of the Mondays today. My body hasn’t adjusted to the short weekends yet. In due time…

As for school today…nothing out of the ordinary, but the workload is piling up fast! After struggling with my O. Chem homework last night I decided to buy the solutions manual for the homework problems – as the instructor recommended – come to find it was $30 more than what I paid for the actual text. Ugh, “I’ve” already spent an arm and a leg on books this semester. F*$93GJ@&%! That’s how I feel about the ridiculous cost of textbooks/school materials. Can I get an amen?

To cheer myself, I spent more $$$ (not much more):

I bought a ticket to see Colbie Caillat in concert! She is coming to campus March 4 – super excited!

***

I have a lot to do tonight, so on my 20-minute bus ride home I pictured the inside of my fridge and tried to concoct a dinner menu in my head. I needed something filling, simple, and duh… nutritious.

Whole Black Beans, Brown Rice, Broccolini, Crumbled Chevre & Fresh Black Pepper – that’s it!

As a college student, my kitchen is simply stocked – no spice drawer, few condiments, etc. Also, I keep my cabinets free of clutter by eating up what I have before opening a new can of beans or box of cereal, for example. This can result in some monotony, but it makes life simpler…and I think we could all fit more “simple” into our lives.

Speaking of simple, dessert doesn’t get any easier than a shot of (frozen) bittersweet chocolate chips. Hey, I gotta use my darling glass for something ; )


I gave myself a time limit to blog tonight, and well, that time is just about up. I have a date with homework, and then a date with The Bachelor (I wish) at 8:00pm ; )

Ta ta for now,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Eat Your Vegetables All About Organic

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  February 1, 2010 at 8:26 PM

    that looks like a great dinner! it’s so much easier to keep things simpler before you’re married…or have roommates…must be that whole “living with another person” thing that’s throwing me off :)

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel@Coconut Crumbs  |  February 1, 2010 at 10:08 PM

    *Amen* to outrageously expensive textbooks! Dinner looks great! I like how you efficiently planned it out before hand on the busride home – I do this too on the subway! Hope you had a good night Hillary : )

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  February 1, 2010 at 10:37 PM

    OMG. I didn’t even finish reading your post because I AM SO JEALOUS! Colbie is amazing, fav artist of all times! Have so much fun and know I am jealous!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lexi  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:09 AM

    Aww, I love Colbie. Such pretty music. I bet the show will be awesome. I love your dessert, so simple, so delicious :)

    Reply
  • 5. soyaetchocolat  |  February 2, 2010 at 3:28 AM

    Love the chocolate chips in the shot glass ;)

    Reply
  • 6. Naomi(onefitfoodie)  |  February 2, 2010 at 5:18 AM

    ahh yess, bachelor!! what did you think? i think i want to kick vienna!!! i can’t stand her!!! the dessert YUM!!! simplicity at its finest.

    Reply
  • 7. Merry  |  February 2, 2010 at 6:45 AM

    Amen, Sistah!

    And chocolate shots…Amen to that, too!

    Reply
  • 8. Serena  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:31 AM

    I absolutely adore Colbie! I also recently bought her new CD. She is great :)
    Your broccoli dish looks fabulous, by the way! I am now a vegan but when I still ate cheese, chevre was my absolute favorite. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



