S is for Saturday

January 30, 2010 at 9:05 PM 5 comments

Whew…what a Saturday! I’ve been going going all day. I almost bailed on my roommate this morning, who I had made plans to go to spin class with, but eventually the exercise addiction in me beat the temptation to sleep another hour under my cozy covers. I downed a bowl of Greek ‘n’ Granola and then we were out the door to The Resort. I was a bit scared about taking a spin class today, as I woke up extremely sore from yesterday’s yoga, but I managed to power thought the entire hour.

Spin. Shower. Shop. Study. That was the plan for today. However, the studying might have to wait until Sunday…priorities, right?

I gulped down another Carrots ‘N’ Cake iced latte after exercising, rummaged up a little lunch from my empty fridge, and then it was time to shop. I went to FOUR grocery stores today. I told you I was going going going all day. I didn’t even find the one thing I was searching for. I then folded my massive mound of clean laundry before putting my groceries to use in the kitchen.

I made boxed brownies. I know, I’m ashamed, but if you knew how sinfully scrumptious these were, you would make them too!

While the brownies baked in the oven, I made dinner:

Brown Rice, Stir-fried Broccoli, Carrots, Red Onion and Teryaki Tofu

Cook 1/2 cup brown rice in 1 cup water for ~35 minutes. Stir-fry firm tofu in a bit of vegetable oil and TJ’s Soyaki Sauce. Remove from wok and add broccoli, carrots and onions. Stir-fry until soft. Layer rice, veggies & tofu in a big bowl and gobble up.

After 25 minutes, the decadent brownies were ready to be removed from the furnace.

I prefer to use a muffin pan because I am able to use my magic muffin papers — easy, crumb-free eating & clean-up!

Of course I sampled one fresh from the oven. Truffles they are indeed! Well, my of-age roommates are doing of-age activities tonight, so Mama Hill is at home doing mother-like activites.

See ya’ll Sunday (sometime)…

Mwah,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Zen Breakfast for Two

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 30, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    that stir fry sounds so good and so do the muffins!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce  |  January 30, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    i have some of that “if you care” brand tin foil – whole foods, right? never tried their muffin liners though! mmm those brownies look heavenly! studying was in my plans for today too, but didn’t happen. that’s what sundays are for :)

    Reply
  • 3. Lexi  |  January 31, 2010 at 2:05 AM

    Those muffin/brownies look to die for!!

    Reply
  • 4. fitandfortysomething  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:02 AM

    Those are my favorite brownies too! I ususlly pass them off as home made – hee hee…

    Reply
  • 5. feetinmotion  |  January 31, 2010 at 9:09 AM

    Yeah I really hope I can handle both majors. I just know with two majors I’ll have better luck finding a job! ha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



