Thursday Thoughts

January 28, 2010 at 10:25 PM 15 comments

I wonder why I have little blog traffic, and then I realize it’s partly due to the fact that I don’t have a regular posting schedule. What qualities to do you admire in your favorite/regular blogs? I am constantly striving to make my blog better – it’s a work in progress – so any advice would be appreciated : )

Anyway, tonight’s post is more of a personal therapy sesh for myself rather than a report about today’s eats and exercises. I constantly go back and forth deciding whether I want this to be a blog where I photograph/write everything that goes into my mouth, or whether I focus on taking higher-quality photographs when I have the time and inspiration. I’m leaning towards the later. Recently, I have been dissatisfied with my quickie photos and wimpy words. I want to be proud of what I post! Sometimes I look back on my pictures and regret ‘publishing’ them to the world wide web. This is where my unfavorable OCD tendencies come in to play =/ Anyway, enough of that.

My Thursday went as planned…

I suffered through my Elementary Food lab. When they say “elementary”, they mean it. I learned how to measure a cup of water today – no joke. I’m sorry, but I could teach this class. I am looking forward to wearing my professional chef coat for 3 hours each week though : )

I grabbed a mini snack (1/2 banana with PB&Co Bee’s Knees) after lab, and then zoomed back to campus to hit up the gym as I had promised myself. I usually visit The Resort in the morning or early afternoon, so it was fun to go at night – it’s such a different scene (good looking people everywhere!). I sprinted a mile around the indoor track and then walked into a studio to take a group exercise class, not knowing it was ZUMBA! I was stoked. I have taken years of DanceFit, but never Zumba. I had an absolute blast shaking out the stress of this long week. It was an awesome way to switch up my exercise routine and work up a sweat. I want to take advantage of the free exercise classes at The Resort more often.

Well, I better start on that O. Chem reading that’s due tomorrow. If only life were as simple as a 2-year-old eating a PB&J : )


Night,

~ Hillary


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Greek ‘N’ Granola Zen

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Court  |  January 28, 2010 at 11:20 PM

    This pic is adorable!

    Reply
  • 2. Lexi  |  January 29, 2010 at 2:22 AM

    Such a cute pic!

    Something I admire most about the blogs that are my “favorite”: good eats, a sense of humor, daily considerations, questions, and fun photos!

    Reply
  • 3. gateauxbellehelene  |  January 29, 2010 at 2:45 AM

    I love your blog! I admire your love of healthy food and exercise and your funny comments. You don’t need to have a blogging schedule, just whatever fits into your day. x

    Reply
  • 4. soyaetchocolat  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:46 AM

    I love your blog too! It doesn’t matter if you don’t show everything you eat, every blog is different. I like reading about your day as a student (as I will soon return on the school benches too, ishh) and your thoughts about nutrition and life in general. Post when you have the time and don’t worry about “traffic”. Your blog is still quite new, it will come with time!

    Reply
  • 5. Estela @ Weekly Bite  |  January 29, 2010 at 5:58 AM

    What a cute picture!!!

    Reply
  • 6. cupcakesinparis  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:29 AM

    I think your blog is pretty great too. You shouldn’t obsess about traffic. Post whatever is on your mind. I believe blogging is our own therapy. Blog for yourself, about what makes YOU happy and I am sure lots of good things will come your way.
    Also, I’ve always liked your pictures. Very cute. So don’t worry about it!
    I’ll make sure to come by more often! I’ve been a bad blog reader lately!

    Take care!

    Reply
  • 7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:30 AM

    ahh that picture is adorable! you have a great blog. honestly, i think you should not feel obligated to post a certain amount a day. do you comment on a lot of blogs? that is how a lot of people find other blogs so maybe that would help. nonetheless, you seem like an awesome girl and i love reading!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 8. Jenna @ Health and Happiness  |  January 29, 2010 at 7:55 AM

    Love the pic! Too cute! Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  • 9. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:38 AM

    i really like that I know that KERF, CnC, and HealthyTippingPoint always post morning, mid-day, and night. not that you have to post that frequently, cause it’s hard when you have a full-time job or class that gets in the way, but having set times to post (like 7am and 7pm) makes it a lot easier to know when to look for a new post :)

    Reply
  • 10. Merry  |  January 29, 2010 at 12:50 PM

    I love your blog just the way it is. Also…thanks for turning me on to Oikos…Hands down the best Greek Yogurt on the planet. I keep telling your aunt, I want to do a “Julie and Julia” with your eats for a week, at least…OK, I could try it for a year. Such good food!!!

    Thank you!

    Reply
  • 11. Lindsey  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:55 PM

    I’m new to your blog, but so far I think it’s great! :)

    Reply
  • 12. fromatopink  |  January 29, 2010 at 2:27 PM

    I love your blog! And you should post when you CAN and when you WANT to, otherwise the pressure makes it less fun. (But that’s just my opinion.) Adorable pic, by the way! :)

    Reply
  • 13. Allie Mak  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:46 PM

    I used to try and stick to a schedule but recently my posting times have been all over the map…even 3AM once! I haven’t found any traffic difference — if anything it’s been higher. Don’t fret about the little things, Hillary! I do find that 1 quality post is better than many short ones. At least for me…

    Reply
  • 14. janet czarnecki  |  January 31, 2010 at 3:37 PM

    I vote for lots of photos–like in recipe books, it is what gets me jazzed to cook the recipe. I think your blog is great!

    Reply
  • 15. Bekah  |  February 1, 2010 at 4:48 PM

    aaah it does look like you! you were so cute!

    and blog traffic? honestly… it took me a long time to finally get some traffic. but it is steadily increasing which is encouraging.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



