Chocoholics Anonymous

January 27, 2010 at 7:39 PM 12 comments

Hi Guys (guessing most of my readers are actually women)!

Unlike yesterday, I don’t have a lot on my mind to ramble about tonight. It was a rather uneventful Wednesday. Thankfully, the sun decided to come out today, so that helped brighten my mood while I was at school from 10:00am – 5:00pm. It was even warm enough for an iced latte. Out of convention, I ordered decaf, so by 3:30pm I was dragging. A Tazo Black Iced Tea came to the rescue to hold me through my final class – Food Safety & Sanitation.

***

I had a very filling bowl of oats this morning, including a new ingredient:

  • 1 cup water
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup soymilk (added after cooking)
  • 1 T ground flaxseed
  • 2 T walnuts
  • cinnamon

It was so creamy today – love that!

Nutrition Note: Flaxseed is full of fiber, antioxidants, and omega-3!

1) Two tablespoons of ground flaxseed (flaxseed meal) delivers 4 grams of fiber, as much fiber as 1 1/2 cups of cooked oatmeal.

2) Flaxseed contains high levels of natural antioxidants called lignans. Many plant foods have some lignans, but flaxseed has at least 75x more than any other. To get the lignans that are in just 2T of ground flaxseed, you’d need to eat about 30 cups of broccoli.

3) Once serving of ground flaxseed contains 2,400mg of omega-3.

I will be adding ground flax to my oats – among other things – from here on out : )

***

Dinner

Tonight’s dinner came out of a box, a purple box. Any guesses? You got it…ANNIE’S! I had the exact dinner that I made for one of my first posts.

  • Annie’s Shells & White Cheddar with ~1T real butter & ~1/2 cup peas
  • Veggie Parfait: Avocado, Tomato, Cucumber, Seasoned Rice Vinegar & Fresh Pepper

As Caitlin would say, “nom nom nom”!

***

In regards to the title of this post, I think I need to join AA CA (Chocoholics Anonymous). I know it’s ironic since there isn’t a photograph of chocolate in this post, but that’s just it… If I photographed all the chocolate I consume and wrote about it, I would have to rename my blog to “Confessions of a Chocoholic”. Chocolate is my drug – I am addicted. I suppose there are worse addictions, but anything isn’t healthy in massive quantities. So, there it is…my confession. You all can be my club, my support group, as I battle this out.

I kid. I kid.

Hope you have an outstanding rest of your week. It’s all downhill from here…

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Random Rambling Greek ‘N’ Granola

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Court  |  January 27, 2010 at 7:56 PM

    thanks nutrition nut for the helpful tips! u can be my personal nutritionist some day…i love love ur blog! =) sooo perfect for u.

    Reply
  • 2. Donna Parker  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:49 PM

    Flax is one of those “wonder foods”. I do limit what I eat in one serving, as I rather over did my flax * seed * consumption when adding it to homemade oat cakes (similar to Ramones). Be aware that it can cause some digestion issues, and to eat it in moderation. Perhaps the flax meal is easier to digest.

    Reply
  • 3. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 27, 2010 at 10:28 PM

    i loved my food and sanitation class…sooo interesting and gross at the same time!

    Reply
  • 4. Lexi  |  January 28, 2010 at 2:26 AM

    I love flax! The benefits are outstanding, too. Your Annie’s mac looks GREAT!!! Have an amazing day, love!

    Reply
  • 5. Meg @ Be Fit Be Full  |  January 28, 2010 at 6:39 AM

    I used to have flax every morning but have sort of forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply
  • 6. fromatopink  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:22 AM

    Love the “veggie parfait” – such a cute idea!

    Reply
  • 7. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:28 AM

    i’m glad you treat yourself to chocolate – seriously :) and that breakfast looks fab…thanks for the flax info – i eat it sometimes and never really knew the point!
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  • 8. soyaetchocolat  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    I love all your different bowls! I need to find the time to go shopping and get one that isn’t white!

    Just a quick note on flaxseed. You need to grind them to get all the benefits. The body can’t absorb the omega-3 and the antioxdants of the whole seeds. They will just end up, well, you know where… I don’t know if I used the right words. This is were English gets tricky for me…

    That oatmeal looks awesome by the way. I think I’ll do the same tomorrow! Question, do you ever put cottage cheese in your oatmeal? I never have, but a lot of other food bloggers seem to like it…

    Reply
    • 9. Hillary  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:19 PM

      Thanks for the tip, but I was already aware of that nutrition note : ) I never have tried cottage cheese in my oats; it doesn’t appeal to me.

      Reply
      • 10. soyaetchocolat  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:36 AM

        I was sure you already knew but some of my friends (and maybe some of your readers) don’t… When they see flaxseeds on top of a bread, for exemple, they think it’s healthy… Marketing is a really powerful tool to make people believe in all kind of stuff and not everyone is as interested in health as we are so they just trust the ads on TV. I think you should continue posting that kind of info on your blog to make people more aware of what they eat and why! It’s great!

  • 11. Lisa @ Early Morning Run  |  January 29, 2010 at 8:07 AM

    I love putting ground flaxseed in my oatmeal. I also use them in other things too, like when I make granola or even in yogurt! They are incredibly healthy but I feel they also have a good amt of calories and fat, so I usually don’t add too much to my meals each day. Still, I agree that they’re a great addition!

    First time stopping by your blog. It’s great & I can’t wait to read more!

    Reply
  • 12. Bekah  |  February 1, 2010 at 4:49 PM

    oh my god. i’m the same way! so many of my chocolate eats go unpictured and posted during the day…’cause sometimes all i want is like a couple chocolate chips or a spoonful of dark chocolate dreams. do i take a picture? psshh no :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



