Random Rambling

January 26, 2010 at 7:27 PM 7 comments

I’ve realized that waiting until the end of the day to blog is a lot different than posting throughout the day. I am not sure which will work better for me with my new schedule, so let’s just go with the flow (wow…did I really just say that?).

Alright, so if we rewind to this morning, I had cold cereal for breakfast. If we’re getting exact: 3/4 cup Raisin Bran, 1/4 cup Humboldt Honey Granola, 1/2 banana, 3/4 cup soymilk – ugly pictures, sorry.

Before leaving for my 3 hour organic chemistry lab – jealous, huh? – I made myself a PB&B to take along. This was not just any ordinary PB sandwich though. Let me reveal the star ingredient:

You see…I’ve had the Peanut Butter & Co. Cookbook in my collection of recipe books for quite some time, but I have yet to actually make anything from it yet – that happens when you have over 21 beautiful books to chose from. Then, when I started blogging I kept seeing PB&Co. peanut butters everywhere – Mighty Maple, White Chocolate Wonderful, Dark Chocolate Dreams – so I told myself I had to get my hands on some. Well, this was much more difficult than I had thought. I couldn’t find it anywhere! However, my amazing relatives did a bit of searching in and around their area and it arrived on Santa’s sleigh. I can’t believe I waited an entire month before opening the jar, but it’s clearly not just any old jar of PB. It made an excellent peanut butter & banana sandwich on whole wheat toast. Now it’s time to crack open the cookbook…


***

After lab and inhaling my PB&B, I went to The Resort to workout. Here are the stats:

Strength (switched it up with conditioning first, cardio second)

  • 2 x 20 side dips (each side) @ 10lbs.
  • 4 x 10 bicep curls @ 20lbs. (total)
  • 2 x 10 overhead presses @ 20lbs. (total)
  • 2 x 10 “raise weights to chin” @ 20lbs. (total)
  • 20 lat pulldowns @ 40lbs.
  • 10 assisted pull-ups
  • 2 x 10 squats @ 20lbs.
  • 2 x 10 “toe touches” @ 20lbs.
  • 2 x 20 outer thigh presses @ 40lbs.
  • 2 x 20 inner thigh presses @ 40 lbs.

Cardio

  • 10 minutes treadmill @ 4.0 mph (incline 10.0)
  • 2 x 5-minute sets erg (rowing machine)
  • 2 x 10-minute sets running around indoor track

***

Dinner

Two things I take account of each day, are 1) making sure I consume color, and 2) watching my carbohydrate intake. Today’s eats, although perfectly healthy, lacked color – cereal, PB&B, and an unmentioned latte + piece of dark chocolate are all brown…and well, brown is not a color in my book : ) Therefore, my dinner had to be colorFULL and low in carbs:

veggie burger with hummus and cucumber, steamed broccoli & fresh tomato

Tomato + Broccoli = Cancer Fighter“Certain food pairings provide more nutritional benefits and fight disease better than those same edibles enjoyed solo. This team slowed tumor growth in rats by 52%, significantly more than tomato or broccoli individually…Scientists suspect that the lycopene in tomato works as an antioxidant that protects the body’s cells, and active agents in broccoli fight off carcinogens” (article ripped from unknown magazine).

***

Last thing…I think I’ve developed Blogger’s Elbow. I totally just made this up, but I’ve been feeling unusual pain in my right elbow lately. I have no idea what it could be from besides typing too much! I’ve only been blogging for a little over 3 months, so this is not a good sign. Luckily, I have not felt any carpal tunnel symptoms in my wrists. So, question: Have any of you blogging addicts experienced anything similar…suggestions?

Ok, that’s all of my rambling for the night.

Peace Out,

~ Hillary



Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Semester Six Chocoholics Anonymous

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Parker  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:21 PM

    I’m guessing it’s tennis elbow from the strength training you are doing. My T.E. flairs when I use the rotary cutter for a long period of time, and when I pull too many bolts of fabric from the shelf at work. Talk to some of the strength training experts at the resort…for me, I use an elastic band underneath my elbow on my lower arm…my doctor told me about that. And…it takes forever to go away, but it does…

    Reply
  • 2. Lexi  |  January 27, 2010 at 2:12 AM

    Great PB & B sammie! I want the PBCO cookbook!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  January 27, 2010 at 5:17 AM

    i want that peanut butter!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Danielle  |  January 27, 2010 at 6:00 AM

    Thats probably my favorite PB&Co flavor!

    I usually don’t lean my elbows on my desk, but I think I’m getting Blogger’s Wrists/Blogger’s Eyes.

    Reply
  • 5. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 27, 2010 at 8:06 AM

    bwahaha…blogger’s elbow is hysterical…although i tend to feel it more in my pinky finger :)

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:34 AM

    Glad you like the PB! Did your Dad like his?
    If anyone else wants some, Raley’s has several flavors.

    Reply
  • 7. Sarena (The Non-Dairy Queen)  |  January 27, 2010 at 6:40 PM

    I love colorful foods! They make eating so much fun! As for the PB&Co…I have seen them around, but have yet to buy them. They are so expensive! I really want to try the maple one…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



