Semester Six

January 25, 2010 at 7:40 PM 12 comments

It was one of those days today…the kind that last forever. Excited (anxious?) about my first day of school semester #6, I was outta bed by 6:45am. Before getting into bed last night, I prepared my first bowl of Overnight Oats – it’s about time! In the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt

Before consuming, I added:

  • 1/4 apple
  • walnuts
  • agave drizzle
  • cinnamon

Let’s just say I was not a fan. I think I made it “correctly”, but it was just too rich on my empty stomach. It reminded me of rice oat pudding. I had a few bites and then resorted to a piece of whole wheat toast with apricot jam. Hot oats are more my style. Unfortunately, I’m not as experienced as Kath and was not able to eat, capture a decent photo, and blog in under 9 minutes, so I’ll let you use your imagination.

Then I was out the door to catch the bus – in the pouring rain I might add. I spent the next 8 hours on campus dodging puddles and a sea of umbrellas. After my first two (of four) classes, I had a bite to eat for lunch and then clearly hadn’t splashed through enough puddles, so I walked to Starbucks and warmed up with an extra-foamy soy latte…and an Element Bar!

When 5:00pm rolled around, I was so happy to be heading home to a dry house for the remainder of the night. I slipped off my soaking wet jeans and into a pair of cozy pajamas as soon as I walked in the front door. The Element Bars I created are extremely filling, so all my stomach craved for dinner was some fresh veggies:

– organic lettuce, 1/4 avocado, tomato, cucumber, chevre, olive oil & balsamic –

It was definitely a dark chocolate kind of a night:

Who am I kidding…every night is a dark chocolate night!

***

Alright, time to showcase my new bookshelf that I assembled last night ALL by myself…proud parents?

Supposedly I collect recipe/food books. 21 & counting…

Well, it’s almost 8:00pm. You know what that means around here…The Bachelor! All I could think about today was the 2 hours of cheesy reality TV and hot cup of tea waiting for me to unwind from yet another Monday : )

Night All,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Recess Is Over Random Rambling

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabriela  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:57 PM

    Seems like you´ve had a great day :)
    I´ve never tried overnight oats, but I´m sure they must be pretty practical when you´re on the run.
    Hehe :)
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

    Reply
  • 2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:23 PM

    yeah overnight oats can def be a hit or miss for me – the first itme i tried them i wasn’t totally crazy about them but i liked them the second time? idk! haha. your salad looks delicious!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 3. mom  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    Nice job on the bookshelf! – and nice to see sweet Phoebe watching over you :)
    Do they offer submarine service to school in Chico? Hope you enjoy tomorrow’s new classes.
    xo, mom

    Reply
  • 4. gateauxbellehelene  |  January 26, 2010 at 2:42 AM

    That bookcase is so sweet! I want it! I prefer hot oats too, it’s a great way to start the morning.

    Reply
  • 5. Lexi  |  January 26, 2010 at 3:15 AM

    I really want to try making Element Bars! Those are so cool. Love the Nutrition Nut name :)

    Reply
  • 6. fromatopink  |  January 26, 2010 at 6:53 AM

    Glad the first day went well! And congrats on putting together a piece of furniture – it’s a task I have yet to master (frustration gets the best of me). The Bachelor is definitely my guilty pleasure, and the perfect end to a Monday. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Abby (Nibble, Nourish, Run)  |  January 26, 2010 at 6:54 AM

    I’ve never tried overnight oats either…I’m just worried mine would be a total disaster…think I’ll stick with mine piping hot in the morning. Especially if you think they taste like rice pudding which I hate hate hate! Oh and yes every single day requires dark chocolate!

    Reply
  • 8. Dad  |  January 26, 2010 at 7:33 AM

    The bookcase looks great. I’m proud of you….Love, Dad

    Reply
  • 9. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:09 AM

    i totally get ya on the kath-blogging-like-a-speed-demon thing! every time i do it quickly, there’s about a million errors :)

    love the bookshelf!

    Reply
  • 10. frogsandmen  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    i looove your vegetable poster!

    a bientot!
    The Paris Food Blog

    Reply
    • 11. Hillary  |  January 26, 2010 at 9:55 AM

      Could you tell it’s in French? : )

      Reply
  • 12. Sharilyn  |  January 26, 2010 at 11:08 AM

    The bookcase looks fabulous! I’m happy that there is a pic of me :) Miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



