Recess Is Over

January 24, 2010 at 6:46 PM 11 comments

Hey there. Hope your weekend was a good one. I’m still in denial that today was my last day of freedom from homework until mid-May! My 5-week-long recess is over.

After a relaxing, quiet morning unpacking & organizing, I made myself a Green Monster for lunch before heading to campus to play at the indoor playground (also known as the g.y.m.).

1/2 banana, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 cup fresh spinach

+ 1/4 cup Humboldt Honey Granola

There was a bunch of new “jungle gym” equipment, including 10-15 more cardio machines – there is certainly plenty for all us gym monkeys to play with.

Today’s play date included:

Cardio

  • 30 minutes Elliptical (10 minutes each at incline 5, 10 & 15 @ resistance 5)
  • 1.5 miles interval running around indoor track

Conditioning

  • 20 lat pulldowns @ 40lbs.
  • 20 seated rows @ 40lbs.
  • 20 glute presses (each leg) @ 40lbs.
  • 2 x 15 squats @ 15lbs.
  • 45 bicep curls @ 15lbs.
  • 15 “pull weights to chin” @ 15lbs.
  • 15 tricep dips

Sweaty and pink-cheeked, I went to Target for my “odds & ends shopping”, and resisted stopping by Starbucks for a warm pick-me-up. Instead, I saved a few extra dollars and made myself a soy cafe au lait in my own kitchen, courtesy of my new Aerolatte milk frother. If you’re curious, a cafe au lait (or misto at Starbucks) is made with coffee, while a latte is made with espresso. Unfortunately, I do not have an espresso maker; hence the not as gourmet beverage.

***

I had an early dinner tonight of leftover pesto pasta:

I can sense there will most likely be some snacking later tonight. Not too late though…it’s a school night! ; )

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

An Academic Appetite Semester Six

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Parker  |  January 24, 2010 at 7:04 PM

    “I’m still in denial that today was my last day of freedom from homework until mid-May!” Just remember that you are in school to develop the skills that are important to you. Tomorrow will be the first day of some very exciting adventures in education and nutrition.

    Reply
    • 2. Hillary  |  January 24, 2010 at 7:13 PM

      True that!

      Reply
  • 3. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 24, 2010 at 10:02 PM

    i am so pining for the days when it was homework i wasn’t looking forward to and not actual work! hope tomorrow at school goes really well :)

    Reply
  • 4. Lexi  |  January 25, 2010 at 2:28 AM

    Your green monster looks so good!

    I really need to try doing that!

    Reply
  • 5. soyaetchocolat  |  January 25, 2010 at 5:09 AM

    Do you drink London Fogs sometimes? Your aerolatte would totally make it rocks! It’s simply earl grey tea infused in warm vanilla soy (or reguar) milk. SO good! The foam is the best part…

    Reply
    • 6. Hillary  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:03 AM

      Yes, I have – delicious!

      Reply
  • 7. fromatopink  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:25 AM

    Hope your first week back goes well!

    Reply
  • 8. Bekah  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:51 AM

    eeek love the espresso froth. and the feta. nom.

    Reply
  • 9. Michelle (Snacks and Field)  |  January 25, 2010 at 4:05 PM

    I’m back to school this week too! Super long break but I love it!… When you do pull downs, etc… do you do 20 in a row or do you do sets (like 2 sets of 10)? I think that would be more beneficial for you to do sets. Just a suggestion though :)

    That spinach smoothie you had looks delicious, btw!

    Reply
  • 10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 25, 2010 at 6:15 PM

    delicious eats!! your workout sounds fantastic! bah i am not used to school yet either.

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 11. feetinmotion  |  January 26, 2010 at 5:27 AM

    My major is Family Consumer Science Education, but with all the nutrition classes I’ve been taking I am thinking of double majoring in Dietetics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



