An Academic Appetite

January 24, 2010 at 9:37 AM 6 comments

Good morning, lovelies!

Last night I went to bed with an achy body (too much driving) and a grumbling tummy. This morning I woke ache-free in my cozy bed ready for breakfast. See, I’ve been frequently waking up feeling fulling – I hate that. So, when my snack appetite started to settle in late last night, I thought of how icky I would feel in the morning and decided to go to sleep with a less than full stomach – it’s not rocket science : )

My Sunday Breakfast Plate:

2 Van’s Multigrain Waffles, 1/2 banana, a dollop of plain non-fat Greek yogurt & a drizzle of real maple syrup

Well, since tomorrow I begin yet another semester of college as a Nutrition & Food Communications student, I thought I share with you what will be absorbing my life and perhaps resulting in some spotty blogging. I have a full academic plate at 15 units:

1. Organic Chemistry + lab

2. Statistics

3. Elementary Food + lab

Course Description: An elementary study of the physical and chemical properties and reactions of foods. An emphasis on food purchasing, storage, preparation, and use as well as safety, sanitation, and nutrient preservation.

Course Objectives:

1. Relate the scientific principles of food preparation to the production of high quality standards and nutritionally enhanced standard products
2. Apply appropriate principles and techniques to enhance nutrient retention and food safety, sanitation, and work simplification
3. Select raw ingredients and finished products of high quality which contribute to optimal daily nutrient intake
4. Know food standards and factors that affect food quality
5. Evaluate sensory attributes of food

4. Food Safety & Sanitation

5. Geography: California Cultural Landscapes

***

Well, I’m off to get going on my to-do list

Take it easy,

~ Hillary


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Hi-ho hi-ho, back to college I go… Recess Is Over

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 24, 2010 at 10:49 AM

    i’ve heard organic chemistry is a difficult class! good luck :) great breakfast too
    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. oatsandchocolate  |  January 24, 2010 at 12:18 PM

    yum! that breakfast looks amazing : ) i love van’s waffles + maple syrup. good luck in all your classes. xoxo soph

    Reply
  • 3. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle  |  January 24, 2010 at 2:18 PM

    I remember the good old Orgo days… are you taking organic for chemistry or non-chem majors?

    You had asked about which cleanse I am doing… here is a link to the description of the cleanse http://www.orangetruffle.com/?p=1380.
    It is super easy and honestly not that different from how I eat normally. The only thing that I really had to give up was dairy… I rarely drink coffee and once in a blue moon have a glass of wine… so not that difficult.

    Reply
  • 4. theprocessofhealing  |  January 24, 2010 at 5:17 PM

    Delicious looking breakfast!!

    I’m taking statistics right now too… fun!! ha
    Good luck with your classes!

    Reply
  • 5. feetinmotion  |  January 24, 2010 at 7:34 PM

    Aww your blog is cute too! I like how we have the same layout :) For the signature I just made a cool design in Photoshop and I added it in like a picture. I’m pretty sure there is a place to set up a signature at the end of each post, but I’ve been too lazy to look! Ha!

    Reply
  • 6. FoodEffort  |  January 25, 2010 at 7:03 PM

    That breakfast looks awesome…gave me some inspiration to divert from my normal breakfast and give that a try.

    I remember organic chem. I can’t say they were fond memories lol…but I wish you luck this semester.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



