Hi-ho hi-ho, back to college I go…

January 23, 2010 at 8:08 PM 7 comments

Hi Hi Hi!

I’ve missed ya’ll very much these past 36 hours. Every hour in real life is like a month in blog world, wouldn’t you agree? Unfortunately, I don’t have 36 hours of material to make up for my absence (ha…school must be around the corner). I’ll admit it, I am a terrible traveling food blogger. Of course I thought about whipping out my camera and snapping a few pictures, but it just didn’t happen…except during the final stretch of my drive today when I was incredibly bored.

The pretty blue sky was just a tease. I think the storm is sticking around for a while longer.

After unloading my entire car, putting a few items away in their places, and looking through 5 weeks of mail (hello, Christmas cards), I hopped back into my car and headed to the health food sanctuary I’ve missed ever so much – Trader Joe’s! I was so excited to not have to spend a penny out of my own wallet this trip – thank you gift cards. My kitchen is now restocked with the TJ’s usuals, and ready for college “on the run” cooking.

Dinner tonight was pesto pasta:

penne rigate with pesto (locally made in HumCo), organic greens (they’re buried underneath the mound of pasta) and tomatoes, creamy chevre & fresh pepper

…and for dessert:

a homemade (by my mama) espresso cookie & piece of TJ’s Swiss 71% Cocoa Dark Chocolate

Chocolate + Coffee = A Happy Hillary

Well, tomorrow is my final day of Winter Break. I have so much I want to get done before classes start, and I have to tackle 5 new syllabi.

Sunday:

– finishing unpacking

– assemble my new bookshelf

– work up a sweat at the indoor playground

– print syllabi & organize school materials

– odds & ends shopping

– catch up with my roomies : )

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

And Away I Go… An Academic Appetite

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sophia  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:43 PM

    Haha, I usually go crazy with the pictures when I go traveling. It kinda drives my friends crazy since I have to stop and take pictures of everything.

    You make even a simple pesto pasta look so good!

    Reply
  • 2. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca)  |  January 23, 2010 at 9:10 PM

    That is a GREAT picture of the pasta – creative shot!

    I am a terrible traveling blogger – I went away for a week and didn’t blog once (but I was in the Dominican, so it wasn’t really possible to blog!)

    Reply
  • 3. Lexi  |  January 24, 2010 at 1:44 AM

    Love your photos! That pasta and the cookie looks so good!

    Good luck getting back into the groove of school :) !

    Reply
  • 4. gateauxbellehelene  |  January 24, 2010 at 2:23 AM

    I must agree with you, coffee and chocolate is an amazing combination. I am well known for eating something chocolaty and saying ‘ooo’, this would be nice with coffee! They are a match made in heaven!

    Reply
  • 5. Emily  |  January 24, 2010 at 5:27 AM

    Your mama’s cookie looks DEELICIOUS!

    I totally agree…However, back to school = more “months” away from blogging! :( Then again, it’s legit because you gotta do what you gotta do. Too bad we can’t all be professional bloggers! lol How cool would that be? :D

    Reply
  • 6. Dad  |  January 24, 2010 at 8:20 AM

    Look at that speed, no wonder your MPG wasn’t so good.
    Good luck with the bookshelf, and nice photos. Dad

    Reply
  • 7. Bekah  |  January 25, 2010 at 8:49 AM

    LOVE the pictures! Ever since I bought my new camera I can’t stop taking pictures while driving…hehe. :)

    Congrats on the new domain! That’s so exciting! (Tell me where you did it! And was it pain getting all the posts to transfer over? I researched months ago…but I was at Blogspot back then, and the whole process looked oh so confusing.) :(

    I didn’t even have to update my reader, it automatically switched which was nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



