In Praise of Sarah

January 21, 2010 at 12:04 AM 9 comments

I can say with positivity that today was a much better day than yesterday…and I hope to say the same about tomorrow as well. Sadly, tomorrow is my last day at home. I leave Friday morning, making it exactly 5 lovely weeks of vacation – relaxing, family, a wee bit of work, rain, baking, coffee with friends, earthquakes, running, sleeping in (on occasion), and having way too much time on my hands to blog.

Tonight’s dinner was inspired by Sarah, at In Praise of Leftovers. This woman never ceases to amaze me each and every post she writes. Her written words are strung together artfully, and her rustic photographs are award-worthy…not to mention, she wears her heart on her sleeve.

This salad is in need of some praising!

local, organic mixed lettuces + herb roasted chicken + juicy mango + creamy avocado + crunchy sweet peppers + toasted almonds + spicy cilantro + honey sesame vinaigrette = orgasm in your mouth.

You want the recipe now, don’t ya? Ok…HERE.

Going to hit the hay. I have packed day tomorrow – literally – beginning with a rainy run…

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

News Flash! Cold Run, Hot Yoga

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pds  |  January 21, 2010 at 1:24 AM

    What a lovely post about a lovely woman. She’s way better in person, if I might say so myself. Hope you get to meet her someday.

    Reply
  • 2. Lexi  |  January 21, 2010 at 2:17 AM

    Seriously, orgasm in MY mouth! I am so jealous of this delicious looking salad!

    Reply
  • 3. The Leftoverist  |  January 21, 2010 at 6:19 AM

    Hi Hillary! I’m glad you had such a good vacation. I hope your re-entry into real life goes well.

    Thanks for the kind words and for being such an early supporter of my blog. Your salad looks delicious. We’ve got the winter blues up here, and this looks like just the thing. xo

    Reply
  • 4. Brandi  |  January 21, 2010 at 6:56 AM

    yum! i love cilantro.

    Reply
  • 5. Heather (Heather's Dish)  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:39 AM

    delish! thanks for the link to sarah’s blog too…you’re right, the photos are spectacular :)

    Reply
  • 6. Jan Ross  |  January 21, 2010 at 10:38 AM

    You REALLY need to go to Brio and have a cup of 1/2 muesli and 1/2 granola!

    Reply
  • 7. Laura J. @ Health & Hotness  |  January 21, 2010 at 12:07 PM

    I’m a new reader to your bloggy – just wanted to say I love it and look forward to reading more!

    That salads looks AMAZING! I’m gonna have to give it a try! :)

    Reply
  • 8. fromatopink  |  January 21, 2010 at 1:48 PM

    That DOES look delicious! And far more exciting than the boring salads I usually make. Thanks for the tip :) And now I have a new blog to check out!

    Reply
  • 9. mom  |  January 21, 2010 at 6:29 PM

    Hey Missy ~
    Thanks for making and sharing Sarah’s yummy salad with me last night!…and thanks for all the other meals and baking that we shared together over the last few weeks. I’m really gonna miss you when you head back to school tomorrow, but you can bet I’ll be checking your blog daily. I’m so proud of you and so glad that you have found this passion for food, blogging, exercise and writing in your life – and it must be so much fun having all these new internet friends who clearly admire you, as do I!!! :) I’m heating up the last piece of leek-apple-potato pie – mmm!
    xoxoxo
    Mom
    P.S. Can’t wait to hear about hot yoga!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



