A Golden Evening

January 17, 2010 at 9:08 PM 7 comments

I never know where the weekends go…do you? One minute I’m welcoming in the weekend with “Hallelujah, it’s Friday”, but before I know it, I’m climbing into bed on Sunday night to prepare for another week. After hitting some funky low points this week, I’m happy that it ended with a relaxing day and golden evening. My parents and I ate dinner in front of the tube while watching the Golden Globes. I can’t take any credit for this amazing meal, but I have earned rights to brag about what wonderful cooks my parents are…

My dad made a refreshing salad, including arugula from our garden, dressed simply with olive oil & lemon juice.

However, my mom’s savory pie was the star of the night. OMG…this deep dish delicacy is a mouthful:

whole wheat pastry crust filled with potatoes, leeks, apples, swiss cheese & fresh basil

I polished off my dinner with my second cup of decaf green tea for the day and a handful of frozen bittersweet chocolate chips from yesterday’s baking extravaganza.

Treadmill workout in the morning + Blogger Banana Bread for brex…

Nighty night,

~ Hillary


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Kind of Sunday Last Days At The Lodge

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 17, 2010 at 10:43 PM

    that savory pie sounds fabulous! posting the recipe soon? :)

    Reply
  • 2. Jenna @ Health and Happiness  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:46 AM

    Arugula from your own garden. That sounds so nice! I’m slightly jealous. And that pie looks incredible!

    Reply
  • 3. Lexi  |  January 18, 2010 at 2:00 AM

    Wow! That pie looks and sounds great! Glad you enjoyed!

    Reply
  • 4. Donna Parker  |  January 18, 2010 at 6:56 AM

    …and banana bread for me this morning, too. Than you very much. Durry, rather, enjoyed those delicious looking cookies. I think he may have saved one for me. What a treat.

    Reply
  • 5. fromatopink  |  January 18, 2010 at 7:39 AM

    Wow that pie looks (and sounds) incredible! Glad you had a nice weekend! (And yes, it ALWAYS ends too soon!)

    Reply
  • 6. Christy  |  January 18, 2010 at 8:12 AM

    I’m right there with you, the weekends seem to fly by! And the salad looks wonderful! I love olive oil + lemon!

    Reply
  • 7. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:23 AM

    The pie sure does sounds great… it looks yummy too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



