Bake Me A Cake

January 14, 2010 at 4:02 PM 16 comments

…as fast as you can. I just pulled my golden gingerbread out of the oven. I can’t think of anything else that could make the house smell any better. Now I must practice my patience before I pat the cake out of the pan and reveal my masterpiece (fingers crossed). I used a recipe from a book my mom gave me, Sweet Gratitude.

I’m taking the cake, along with a salad, to dinner tonight. My mom and I are getting together with three of our friends for Knit Nite. Baking, knitting…pretty soon I’m going to be snuggled up with three cats reading with bifocals. Geeze, how old I am? Ha…I’m actually not a knitter, but my mom’s kind of pro and she’s teaching some of my friends. I was “allowed” to join them if I contributed to the pre-stitch ‘n’ bitch meal ; )

***

Today’s eats have been more of the same. Breakfast was almost identical to yesterday’s, and lunch…no new surprises there.

– Rudi’s Wheat & Oat toasted with hummus & cucumber –

– low-fat cottage cheese with cucumber & tomato –

– refreshing lemon water –

Do you find yourself eating particular foods again & again? What are your current crazes?

Enjoy the rest of your Thursday,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Plan. Eat. Repeat. Friday Funk

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  January 14, 2010 at 5:35 PM

    All Bran Flakes. I love the stuff. I’ve tried the different Nature’s Path Multigrain Flakes, Synergy and all those and NONE of them beat All Bran (with some cinnamon and stevia). Loooove it.

    Reply
  • 2. Danielle @ ECGWCW  |  January 14, 2010 at 6:15 PM

    Greek yogurt and Almond Butter!! I can’t get enough :)

    Reply
  • 3. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 14, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    i love me some hummus, and i’ve been eating an ungodly amount of brussel sprouts…can’t stop though! i love them!

    Reply
  • 4. Donna Parker  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:00 PM

    This is what I take to work for lunch: A cup of blueberries mixed with a cup of non-fat yogurt…followed by many many baby carrots. I’m hungry when I get home, but my energy level is fine all afternoon.

    Reply
    • 5. Hillary  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:25 PM

      No wonder you’re so thin!

      Reply
  • 6. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:01 PM

    I love the gingerbread pictures in the book :) So cute. Not sure what my craze is as of yet…I just got some Ezekiel english muffins and I think I’m gonna have those a lot in the next couple of days since I’ll be busy busy with recruitment.

    Reply
  • 7. Jan R  |  January 14, 2010 at 8:55 PM

    I’m going to make the gingerbread out of Cafe Beaujolais tomorrow… I love it! (a little orange flavored whipped cream doesn’t hurt either).
    We have had lentil curry on rice the last two nights – deelish… with some tomatoes, avos, green onion, chutney and yogurt. Hard to beat that.

    Reply
    • 8. Hillary  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:24 PM

      That is so funny…my mom told me to make the Cafe Beuj gingerbread, and I ignored her suggestion – whoops. I served mine with maple whipped cream – yum.

      Reply
  • 9. kbwood  |  January 14, 2010 at 9:31 PM

    girl i have OATS EVERY AM!
    i’m on an egg kick this week…last week it was tempeh!

    Reply
  • 10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 14, 2010 at 10:38 PM

    i really want to learn how to knit – hope you have fun!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 11. Lexi  |  January 15, 2010 at 1:54 AM

    I definitely find myself eating things over and over again. Current craze: White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter!

    Reply
  • 12. Anna  |  January 15, 2010 at 6:09 AM

    lol — love those dancing gingerbread men on the recipe! In winter, I eat a LOT of soup…and I can’t get enough hot beverages!

    Reply
  • 13. Casey  |  January 15, 2010 at 6:14 AM

    Mmm…your eats look light and refreshing and so yummy! :)

    Reply
  • 14. fittoindulge  |  January 15, 2010 at 9:45 PM

    You have a knack for food photography. I can take 10 pictures of the same darn bowl of oatmeal and still be unhappy with it. LOL…food blogging, it’s getting the best of me! :)
    My forever staple is oatmeal. I LOVE it! I can eat it all day every day. Other than that I’m a habitual salad eater, and I love my apples.

    Reply
    • 15. Hillary  |  January 16, 2010 at 1:22 PM

      Thank you. I’m rarely pleased with my photography…that’s the perfectionist in me. I agree…oatmeal is the greatest!

      Reply
  • 16. Barbara  |  January 16, 2010 at 5:15 PM

    Hillary~

    Yep, I eat the same thing EVERY week but I love it :) Every Sunday I roast up pans of veggies and cook chicken/fish for the week…grab and go stuff!

    I do miss oats though :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



