Live, Laugh & Eat Chocolate.

January 13, 2010 at 12:03 AM 8 comments

Warning: You are about to read another “under the influence (of chocolate)” post.

I just zoomed home with my car stereo blasting from a fabulous night with my girls. The effect chocolate has on me is quite hilarious. Anyway, it was awesome to hangout at my friend Shannon’s cozy house with all my gals, eating (too much) fantastic food, playing with her adorable 1 1/2-year-old, and laughing a lot : )

There was a spread of appetizers, including these darling dates:

Shannon made a great salad to go along with our comforting broccoli baked pasta:

The baked pasta is a Martha recipe from the February 2010 issue, I believe, but I can’t seem to find it. Hope you have better luck – it’s tasty!

Even with a pound of pasta sitting in our stomachs, we managed to find room for chocolate. I think it’s safe to say my truffles were a hit…and Laceys, enough said.

Chocolate Crack (a.k.a. Truffles)

– Recipe courtesy of Deep Dark Chocolate

7 oz. premium dark chocolate (I used Endangered Species – 72% cocoa)

1/2 cup heavy cream

3 T unsalted butter

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Heat cream in a small saucepan over medium heat. Place (chopped) chocolate in a heat-proof bowl and pour over the warm cream. Let stand 3 minutes, then mix until smooth. Add butter and vanilla. Spread ganache (chocolate mixture) into a shallow baking dish and place in fridge until chilled. Roll ganache into 3/4-inch balls, using a melon baller. Roll in desired toppings – I used cocoa powder and chopped almonds. Store truffles in an air-tight container at a cool room temperature for a few days, or in the fridge for up two 2 weeks…if they last that long!

***

DanceFit in the a.m. to burn off 1/8 of the chocolate calories I consumed today…

Sweet Dreams,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Raining Chocolate Truffles I Heart Blogging

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lexi  |  January 13, 2010 at 2:18 AM

    Those dates are precious! They look delicious! So does the chocolate crack :)

    Reply
  • 2. christie, honoring health  |  January 13, 2010 at 3:37 AM

    I love stuffed dates!

    That truffle recipe looks amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  January 13, 2010 at 6:18 AM

    Mmm looks good!!

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  January 13, 2010 at 6:57 AM

    I LOVE dates. Are those filled with cream cheese? They look awesome. Great, now I am hungry for them.

    Reply
    • 5. Hillary  |  January 13, 2010 at 2:09 PM

      Yes, they are filled with cream cheese. Another great stuffer is goat cheese & pistachios : )

      Reply
  • 6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 13, 2010 at 6:58 AM

    that looks delicious & i’m glad you had fun :)

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 7. louisianagrown  |  January 13, 2010 at 11:05 AM

    I’m always so intrigued when someone says a whole group of their friends ate something a little off the beaten path. I can just imagine what my friends would say if I plopped a plate full of dates down in front of them!

    Reply
  • 8. Shannon Simpson  |  January 13, 2010 at 11:37 AM

    Yay! My salad made it on the blog! That was such a fun night. We need to do that many more times while you are home:) Your truffles were delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



