Aftershock

January 9, 2010 at 4:19 PM 8 comments

My Saturday started off by watching the waves of the Pacific Ocean and listening to sea lions as I ate breakfast at the bed and breakfast where my grandparents are staying (about 30 minutes north of my house). It was another dark, rainy morning, but the ocean always seems to maintain its beauty in the most dreary of weather conditions.

I was still full from my rich dinner at Folie Douce, so I kept it light with yogurt, granola, half of a banana and a cup of Earl Grey tea for brex. I was strangely tired in the afternoon, but didn’t want to break my exercise streak, so I hopped on the treadmill for a brief 30 minutes. Then I gave in and took a snooze.

Around 4:30pm, I was sitting upstairs in my house at my computer with a cup of green tea, when all of a sudden my house starting SHAKING! Things started to fall off the bookshelves and I panicked! I had no idea what to think at first, but when earthquake finally came to mind, I booked it downstairs and out our front door to find my entire neighborhood outside in the street. Supposedly my dad could see our house shake from side to side. We were hit by a magnitude 6.5 QUAKE! I have never experienced anything like that before, despite growing up in earthquake country (California). I was scared!

The quake ended up rattling the rest of my day – cell reception was down, as was the power throughout my town. Our dinner reservations with my friend Hannah had to be postponed to tomorrow night since the restaurant was without electricity as well. All in all, my night ended up being a quiet one – anticipating any aftershocks – throwing together a fiber-full dinner of veggies and just “vegging” at home.

Dr. Praeger’s burger in a lettuce “bun” + steamed broccoli & carrots

According to the U.S. Geological Survey: “At this time (immediately after the mainshock) the probability of a strong and possibly damaging aftershock IN THE NEXT 7 DAYS is approximately 78 PERCENT.”

We’ll see what tomorrow brings…

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

…and good food. Sunday Sunrise

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Parker  |  January 9, 2010 at 9:35 PM

    ahhh — your last sentence is so comforting. not.

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:04 PM

    Wow what a view! I can’t believe you experienced an earthquake!! I hope you’re safe and prepared for any aftershocks!! yikes!!

    Reply
  • 3. Nicci@NiftyEats  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:24 PM

    Glad everyone is okay. I don’t really remember quakes in Cali. I was around 4 when I lived there. Glad everyone is okay.

    Reply
  • 4. Renee  |  January 9, 2010 at 10:31 PM

    wow. I definitely thought of you when I read this on the news earlier. I’ll be praying for you and your family tonight!

    Reply
  • 5. court  |  January 9, 2010 at 11:07 PM

    I’m so glad u are ok. It was not a pleasant day, that is for sure.
    The after shock…not looking forward!…Humboldt made the news big time tonight…ugh.

    Reply
  • 6. Lexi  |  January 10, 2010 at 3:17 AM

    I’m SO glad you are okay. I’ve never experienced a quake, I can imagine they are VERY scary.

    Beautiful dr. praegers burger. I love dr. p, such good veggie burgers! and I love the way you’ve doctored yours up.

    Stay safe and calm.
    Best wishes!
    -Lexi

    Reply
  • 7. goodtastehealthyme  |  January 10, 2010 at 7:17 AM

    oh my! That’s really scary! I hope you guys don’t get an aftershock!

    Reply
  • 8. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 10, 2010 at 11:02 AM

    ah that is so scary!! i’ve never been in an earthquake. stay safe.

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



