…and good food.

January 8, 2010 at 11:08 PM 11 comments

It’s nearing 10:00pm, but I am just beginning to write my post for the evening. I think I’ll have no problem cranking it out or thinking of words to put on the “paper” since I just consumed the most decadent mocha fudge cake – all by myself! I am extra-sensitive to the trace amount of caffeine in chocolate, so hopefully I’ll be able to get a bit of shut-eye at some point ; )

Enough nonsense, to the good stuff…

After fighting with WordPress all morning, I ate lunch out of one my purdy bowls Santa brought me.

low fat cottage cheese, 1/4 avocado, cucumber & tomatoes + fresh peppa

…plus 1/2 of this beauty with peanut butta

***

Lunch was on the healthier side (duh!) because I knew I’d be indulging later. As I said earlier, my grandparents are visiting this weekend. They wanted a coastal weekend get-a-way, and they knew a B&B in Humboldt would do just the trick. They treated us to a mouth-watering meal at Folie Douce for dinner – a place my family goes only once in a blue moon.

I just translated Folie Douce to “soft madness”…interesting.

Unique combinations.

I had a house salad to start.

Normally I do not like to eat pasta two consecutive nights in a row, but I couldn’t resist this: dungeness crab, arugula, lemon & garlic.

My mama’s wood-fired pizza: king oyster mushrooms with caramelized onions, gruyere, garlic, thyme, and a drizzle of white truffle aioli.

The dangerous mocha fudge cake.

Note: The restaurant uses 100% organic produce, most of it being local. Also, the meats are raised on natural feed with no hormones or antibiotics, and are free range. They even serve their food on locally-made recycled glass dishes : )

I LOVE where I’m from and am proud of my roots!

Going to bed with a happy, thankful belly.

Night!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Slow As Molasses Aftershock

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lexi  |  January 9, 2010 at 2:46 AM

    Holy fudge! That cake looks amazing. So do the other restaurant goodies. That restaurant sounds super cool, all organic and recycled…count me in! Hope you got some good sleep after that caffeine-y chocolate dessert!

    Love,
    Lexi

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  January 9, 2010 at 5:26 AM

    I love your bowls! OH that food looks gooood!

    Reply
  • 3. homecookedem  |  January 9, 2010 at 7:36 AM

    That meal looks so delicious!! Especially dessert!! :)

    Thank you so much for entering my giveaway and for visiting my blog!! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa  |  January 9, 2010 at 7:41 AM

    Glad you could hang out with Grandma and Grandpa (OK – and just a little jealous about Folie Douce :)) Sounds delish!

    Reply
  • 5. kbwood  |  January 9, 2010 at 7:57 AM

    yumm!! since it was organic…it was all good for you!! hehe :) that cake looks BALLIN.

    Reply
  • 6. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 9, 2010 at 11:52 AM

    wow what a fantastic dinner! everything looks delicious :) you deserved that for sure! you are so pretty too!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 7. Peanut Butter Bliss  |  January 9, 2010 at 11:54 AM

    oh man that fudge mocha cake sounds amazing :)

    Reply
  • 8. Angelalovesfood  |  January 9, 2010 at 12:49 PM

    your mom’s pizza COULD make me drool.

    Reply
  • 9. Nelly  |  January 9, 2010 at 1:48 PM

    That pizza looked great! I am all about warm comfort food right now!

    Reply
  • 10. Michelle (Snacks and Field)  |  January 9, 2010 at 2:13 PM

    OMG. all that food looks ridiculously tasty, esp the choco cake…obvi. and that’s awesome that the food there is organic and local!

    Reply
  • 11. Jenna  |  January 9, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    Just found your blog! I love it and can’t wait to keep reading! I would love it if you could check out mine :)
    Jenna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



