Cooking Crazy

January 7, 2010 at 8:54 PM 9 comments

It must have been the cleanse because I haven’t been able to keep myself out of the grocery store or kitchen all day! All I want to do is cook : )

My mom requested that I make her a batch of her favorite Apricot Oat Bars while I am home. No problemo! After making this recipe several times, I can basically spit it out in my sleep. Oats and apricots were destined to be together, wouldn’t you agree?

Almonds would also be equally delicious!

My friend Daisy came over for the afternoon. We put the bars together as we gabbed and drank Tazo Calm Tea.

Oaty, nutty, chewy & slightly sweet – gotta love these.

I only had a nibble – I am still staying on the “lighter side” – and then delivered the batch of warm bars to my mom at work.

Post Script. Did ya’ll notice how I made progress on Goal #10? “Bake more often and for others”.

***

I have a bunch of lemons left over from the cleanse, so I thought I’d put them to use for dinner tonight. I ended up only using one…any amazing (healthy) lemon recipes out there?

Simple Spinach Salad with Avocado & Red Onion

(Raspberries would have been ideal in this salad, but I can’t get myself to spend $6 on half a pint!)

Whole Wheat Rigatoni with Asparagus, Olive Oil, Lemon Juice & Zest, Toasted Pine Nuts & Parmesan

Light as pasta can be!

…plus a piece of toasted local bread with local chive chevre – yum!

Tomorrow’s Friday! Who’s excited? My grandparents and friend Hannah are visiting this weekend from out of town – yippee!

Peace,

~ Hillary


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Back on the Bandwagon Slow As Molasses

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  January 7, 2010 at 10:15 PM

    that pasta looks amazing! i’m really jealous. and so does the bar you made. glad you are enjoying eating again :) have fun with your visitors!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. Lexi  |  January 8, 2010 at 3:10 AM

    Glad you are back on solid food! While I don’t agree with your juice cleanse, I am very pleased with your honesty. I’m glad you did what was best for you at the given time. But I am also glad that you are back to eating regular food. All of your meals look heavenly!

    Have a great Friday!
    Love,
    Lexi

    Reply
  • 3. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 8, 2010 at 7:55 AM

    those bars look amazing :) i LOVE apricots!

    Reply
  • 4. Donna Parker  |  January 8, 2010 at 8:14 AM

    I do believe that whole wheat pasta is one of the new food wonders. Regular pasta is like eating white bread.

    Reply
  • 5. Donna Parker  |  January 8, 2010 at 8:15 AM

    That last comment was from me. I didn’t realize that Clay had left a comment to you on my computer and changed my stuff…

    Reply
  • 6. Donna Parker  |  January 8, 2010 at 8:16 AM

    and now I see that the last comment is awaiting moderation because I change my data…HA! this isn’t easy :)

    Reply
  • 7. Court  |  January 8, 2010 at 10:11 AM

    Can I request some of FAB bars for my bday…=)!!

    Reply
    • 8. Hillary  |  January 8, 2010 at 11:38 PM

      Of course, darling! Even better, let’s make ’em together : )

      Reply
  • 9. Jenn@slim-shoppin  |  January 8, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    Those bars look so good. I love stuff like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



