Dinner Duty

January 3, 2010 at 8:41 PM 15 comments

My Sunday was as quiet and relaxing as any Sunday could be. Following my GM #2, which was just as thick and delicious as the first, I headed downtown to mend a couple of my necklaces at our local bead shop. The kind lady helping me told me that I learned my lesson of patience for the day, as I had chosen the smallest beads in the store to work with. Finding the patience deep down inside of me today paid off as I went home with two beautiful pieces of jewelry : )

***

Late in the afternoon, my dad informed my that I was on dinner duty. He had been working in the yard all day, and well…since I could be found sitting in front of my computer a lot of the time (hey, I’m trying to make something out of this blog), I had no excuse not to help out by thinking up a menu, picking up a few groceries, and putting the food on the table. Here’s what my laziness came up with:

  • Gardenburger Black Bean Chipotle Veggie Burger (for me), Buffalo Burger (for mi padre)
  • Alexia Sweet Potato Fries
  • Green Goodness (lettuce, tomato, avocado, cucumber, red onion, olive oil + seasoned rice vinegar)

That’s what I call a Big Mac & fries!

Then came the milkshake dessert…the ice cream freezer at the grocery store was too tempting.

Not a fan of this pic, but I’ve been told by many to avoid the flash.

Oh coffee ice cream, how I love thee.

I have a few things on my Monday agenda, including: exercising, mailing the giveaway package, catering, and making a salad for our family friends in need.

Ta ta for now,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Good Morning Granola Living on Lemonade: The Master Cleanse

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 3, 2010 at 9:09 PM

    i heart coffee ice cream. and gardenburgers. guess you had my kind of meal tonight :)

    Reply
  • 2. Kristine  |  January 4, 2010 at 3:57 PM

    Yum! I just had the same veggie burger tonight for dinner and it was delicious!!

    Reply
  • 3. Sammi  |  January 4, 2010 at 6:06 PM

    Those sweet potato fries look so good! I really need to actually make them one of these days rather than just admire all of the pictures I see of them :)

    I try to avoid the flash but honestly, I feel like some pictures look a lot better with flash. Maybe I just have a really bad eye when it comes to photography!

    Reply
  • 4. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  January 4, 2010 at 10:06 PM

    Patience is a virtue…but I’m the most impatient person in the world so I shouldn’t talk! I just had steam coming out of my ears figuring out wordpress for ALMOST AN HOUR!!!! AHHHHH!!

    Reply
  • 5. Lexi  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:37 AM

    Delicious looking dinner! Regarding your comment on my post about The Bee’s Knees – taste it asap! You’ll love it. I eat it with a spoon from the jar, but it’s also great on toast with a little strawberry jelly! Great blog, can’t wait to keep reading!

    Reply
  • 6. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:29 AM

    showed some bloggy love for ya! thanks for all you do :)

    Reply
  • 7. ANT L  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:34 AM

    Hey Hill-have you ever thought of making your own yogurt? We use to make it ourselves and it’s very good. You can also control everything in it. And it’s easy to do.

    Reply
    • 8. Hillary  |  January 6, 2010 at 11:35 AM

      I do have a yogurt maker, so I suppose I should give it a try!

      Reply
  • 9. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle  |  January 5, 2010 at 3:19 PM

    Dinner looks delish.. now I have to go figure out what I am making for dinner.

    Reply
  • 10. Renee  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:19 PM

    I just found your blog tonight by way of KathEats! I love your style! Can’t wait to read more!

    Reply
  • 11. louisianagrown  |  January 6, 2010 at 9:20 AM

    I love to do stuff like that to my family and friends. If they want to eat food prepared by me, they better expect it to be healthy!

    Reply
  • 12. Michelle (Snacks and Field)  |  January 6, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    omg those sweet potato fries YUMMMM!

    and ahh sorry girl, I knew I recognized this layout somewhere… I just changed mine to this one the other day!
    Layout Twins!!<3 hehe

    Reply
  • 13. Julie  |  January 6, 2010 at 5:41 PM

    mm what a great dinner! Seriously wayyyy better than a big mac!

    Reply
  • 14. Katy @ These Beautiful Feet  |  January 7, 2010 at 7:41 AM

    I want to see a picture of the beautiful jewelry! :)

    Reply
  • 15. Lisa  |  January 9, 2010 at 7:49 AM

    You need to get a copy of Photoshop Elements (your mom might have it?), then next time you’re down I’ll show you a few little tricks for brightening up non-flash photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



