My 1st Green Monster

January 2, 2010 at 1:58 PM 8 comments

I can officially say Happy Saturday! My body clock is back on schedule and I’m no longer confused about what day of the week it is, as was the case on Thursday. However, I am telling myself that today is January 1st since I didn’t like how my year started off (food wise) yesterday. I am starting fresh today, ignoring all lazy thoughts and fueling my body with healthy, colorful eats…and LOTS of exercise.

Speaking of colorful eats, I made my first Green Monster for lunch today. For those of you not-so seasoned bloggers, a Green Monster is a smoothie made with spinach. I have only seen and heard wonderful things about these smoothies from fellow bloggers, and I’ve been wanting to give it whirl. The adorable Angela founded the Green Monster Movement in response to the positive feedback she received about her green creation.

My Virgin GM:

1 cup organic baby spinach

1 cup organic almond milk

1 frozen banana

1/3 cup frozen blueberries

My first Green Brown (due to the blueberries) Monster was 100% delicious! I am so excited to experiment with other versions, including 1) Amazing Grass, 2) yogurt, 3) flax, 4) almond butter, and more!

***

I had a great treadmill workout, inspired by Angela, before my Green Monster experience:

45 minutes walking @ 10.0 incline [15 minutes each @ 3.8, 4.0, 4.2mph]

Abs:

15 V-vups

45 Leg Raises

Planks (45 seconds each right, left, center)

Arms:

2 x 10 push-ups

15 tricep extensions @ 15lbs.

Legs:

2 x 15 squats @ 15lbs.

15 Toe Touches @ 30lbs.

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend. Off to run a couple errands…

~ Hillary


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

And the winner is… Good Morning Granola

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenna  |  January 2, 2010 at 2:05 PM

    Love reading your blog!!

    Reply
  • 2. The Fit Collegiate  |  January 2, 2010 at 3:42 PM

    Glad you enjoyed your first GM (or, rather BM). I found that raspberries didn’t make the GM as mud-looking as blueberries did. But oh well, it’s all about the taste, isn’t it?!

    Reply
  • 3. Barbara  |  January 2, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    Ahhh love those Green Monsters : ) I haven’t had one in a while and miss them. By the way… V-Ups are the DEVIL! they are on my hate list next to “Thrusters” and “Flutter Kicks”…ouch!

    B

    Reply
  • 4. monicaonthego.com  |  January 2, 2010 at 5:56 PM

    I just started with the GMs too, mine are purple. I have heard mixed reviews on the amazing grass. I picked up a bunch of single serve packets at whole foods and I’m trying them all out.

    Reply
  • 5. Angelalovesfood  |  January 2, 2010 at 9:56 PM

    Green Monsters are the best! you should try blending it with silken tofu for the added protein and such.

    Reply
  • 6. Heather @ The Joyful Kitchen  |  January 3, 2010 at 7:16 AM

    I’d love to get some Amazing Grass before trying a GM, but yours looks delish!

    Reply
  • 7. Michelle (Snacks and Field)  |  January 3, 2010 at 10:27 AM

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I definitely love reading the blogs of other college students! and hmmm I’ll definitely have to try a Green Monster! I’m kinda intrigued by the whole throwing-spinach-in-the-smoothie thing:)
    Michelle

    Reply
  • 8. Jessica @ Dairy Free Betty  |  January 7, 2010 at 8:20 PM

    great blog!!

    I was 100% inspired by Angela about green monsterss too!! :) and everything else, she’s amazing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



