Oh-M-G!

December 28, 2009 at 8:39 PM 2 comments


This afternoon I dug into my box of Element Bars that Santa brought me. I might have designed them myself in his ‘workshop’, but it was still a splendid surprise to unwrap them from under the tree. This company is genius! Although there are some pretty tasty granola/energy bars in the markets today, who wouldn’t want to create their own personalized bar?

My Creation:

  • Core: Chewy – nut (almond) butter meets hearty oats & flax
  • Fruit: Dried Apricots
  • Nut: Almonds
  • Sweet: Brown Rice Syrup – it is absorbed more slowly providing sustained energy
  • Boost: Immunity – don’t want to get sick!

I told myself I would only eat half, but there was no way I was going to leave the other half alone in a drawer – it was that good! I’m really pleased with the entire bar – the texture, flavors and appearance.

There are just a couple cons I can think of: 1) the bars are expensive, 2) each of my bars has 13 grams of fat…at least it’s healthy : )

***

Yesterday I mentioned there was one final holiday tradition left that involved food. Today was Doughnut Day! I know what you’re thinking…how exactly does fried white flour and sugar fall under the category of nutrition? Well, it doesn’t. A few years ago, my uncle started a new tradition in our family of making homemade doughnuts one morning for all the cousins that were in town for the holidays. So, once a year I indulge in the best-darn doughnuts there are: old fashioned, coffee glazed, cinnamon sugar…just to name a few.

Even though I only eat doughnuts (or sticky buns, as was the case today) once a year, they are still doughnuts…so I’ve incorporated another tradition of going for a pre-sugar feast run. Today’s happened to be a sluggish 45-minutes.

Sorry I don’t have proof of what I tell ya. Got to work on my evidence, don’t I?

Well, the house is in post-holiday stress disorder, which means I can’t think straight until everything is in it’s place.

You’ll be hearing from me soon,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

A Christmas Story Back to Basics

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  December 28, 2009 at 10:08 PM

    Mmmm I have never made any of those design-yourself bars/mixes. It sure looks good though. Don’t fret about the fat. Fat is GOOD!

    Reply
  • 2. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  December 28, 2009 at 11:22 PM

    haha love the donut day- sounds delicious!! & i made bars with that site too- they were amazing:)

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



