Life’s Simple Pleasures

December 23, 2009 at 11:22 PM 6 comments

Hi All,

Who’s excited about Santa’s arrival just a day away? Me, Me, Me! Of course it isn’t as exciting as when I was a little kid, but I am certainly looking forward to it. I think one of my favorite traditions that I miss is putting out cookies and carrots for Santa and his reindeer. I placed whatever homemade cookies that hadn’t been eaten yet on the designated “Cookies for Santa” plate along with a cold glass of milk and placed them on top of the woodstove, along with my Christmas wish list of course. Ok, get this…I did this halfway through high school. No, I didn’t still believe in Old Saint Nick, but that’s how much of a stickler I am about tradition : )

Today was rather uneventful, but I did enjoy some of my favorite eats:

Around 3:30pm, I made myself a homemade egg nog latte (with Silk and hand drip decaf coffee). I even topped it off with a dusting of nutmeg. It was a beauty, if I do say so myself.

Check out that thick cloud of foam – mmm!

I may have consumed a couple of cookies with this. Ugh, does anyone else feel like Cookie Monster lately?

Then after shopping for groceries with my dad for tomorrow’s feast, we picked up sushi (yes, again) at Sushi Spot. This place is hard to resist, folks : )

Family Style

***

Tomorrow’s a busy day for me:

– run with Court & gift exchange @ Cafe Brio

– “run” to the bank

– pack for Sonoma County weekend

– cook & clean for company

– dinner @ 6:00pm!

Off to catch some zzz’s,

~ Hillary


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Holiday Prep Day Warm Holiday Wishes

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tasha - The Clean Eating Mama  |  December 24, 2009 at 12:12 AM

    your sushi looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 2. katie  |  December 24, 2009 at 5:31 AM

    I love your blog and I love sushi as well!!! I could eat it everyday!! My fiance, son, and I are actually going to our favorite sushi place tonight for xmas eve dinner!!! Happy Holidays to you and your family!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Kristine  |  December 24, 2009 at 6:17 AM

    i’m jealous you get to go to Sonoma County!! Have fun!

    Reply
  • 4. Allie (Live Laugh Eat)  |  December 24, 2009 at 9:51 AM

    That home made egg nog latte looks spectacular!! I love that photo too. I’ve been dreaming of an egg nog latte for days now :)

    Mmm Mmm sushi!

    Reply
  • 5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  December 24, 2009 at 10:02 PM

    LOVE sushi! looks amazing.
    have a great christmas

    xoxo
    shelley

    Reply
  • 6. Grandma  |  December 28, 2009 at 10:01 PM

    Hi Mama Hill, Your Christmas entries are great. Sounds like you were on a whirlwind for a few days! Did you get two copies of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking?” If so, we can make an exchange. Love you lots,
    G-ma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.



