Holiday Prep Day

December 23, 2009 at 11:38 AM 5 comments

Hi there. Happy (day before) Christmas Eve!

For some reason I was extremely tired last night. I must have needed sleep since I slept in until 10:00am this morning. I got some laundry going and then made myself a bowl of bran.

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup organic oat bran
  • 1/2 banana
  • nutty granola
  • splash of organic almond milk

I have been dying to try almond milk (perhaps I’ve had it before?), so yesterday I finally bought a carton at the store. It certainly added a nutty flavor. Now I’m anxious to add it to smoothies and such…

I crossed everything of my to-do list yesterday, including creating tomorrow night’s dinner menu. We are having my dad’s side of the family over for our traditional Christmas Eve dinner – there will be 10 of us total.

Christmas Eve 2009 Dinner Menu

Spirits: beer, wine & (non-alcoholic) pomegranate tonics

Appetizer: (unknown) courtesy of my aunt & uncle

Dinner:

  • mixed greens, satsuma, pomegranate arils, red onion, walnuts, gorgonzola & pomegranate vinaigrette
  • roasted butternut squash with orange, garlic & parsley
  • pomegranate molasses tri-tip

Dessert: chocolate peppermint molten cakes & decaf coffee

***

Today’s Agenda:

– conquer laundry

– finish a gift

– organize picture files  [they get crazy blogging every day]

– roll coins [$$$]

I really should exercise today –  no reason not to – so hopefully that will happen at some point…just not in the mood =/

Wishing you an extra-special holiday,

~ Hillary

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Sushi [always hits the] Spot Life’s Simple Pleasures

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)  |  December 23, 2009 at 12:53 PM

    that menu sounds amazing!! & your oats do too :)

    xo
    shelley

    Reply
  • 2. Danielle  |  December 23, 2009 at 1:28 PM

    I love almond milk! Your menu sounds great

    Reply
  • 3. Tina  |  December 23, 2009 at 6:48 PM

    Wow that menu sounds amazing! Menu planning for holidays is definitely big around my house. And maybe half as fun as actually eating the meal :) I love your blog as well! It’s so fun reading about other people my own age, especially ones trying to stay healthy in school. Can’t wait to read more!

    Reply
  • 4. Jennifer (Running With Cake)  |  December 23, 2009 at 8:16 PM

    Hmm…chocolate peppermint molten lava cakes – sounds fancy! I’m hoping to bake cookies tomorrow, but that is the extent of my cooking this year. Have a wonderful Christmas!

    Reply
  • 5. Melodie Negri  |  December 25, 2009 at 11:07 AM

    did you take pictures of anything? would have loved to see (and taste) the chocolate peppermint cakes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The journal of a college girl living a healthy life one step at a time.




 Subscribe to my posts!

Sponsored By:



Calendar of The Nut’s Posts

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates



